We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Windmill

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Windmill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Windmill
See the most recent reviews
Showing 75: English reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2016

only came for food as we know the Sambuca brand is always very good value and we weren't disappointed we all had potatoe wedges for a starter, a pasta main and ice cream for desert and we all had a coke to drink. £28.80 final bill was good value.

1Thank Dazho
Hungryman2222, General Manager at The Windmill, responded to this review

thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon thank you

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 2 January 2016

I stayed with my wife and kids in Windmill for 4 nights on Christmas time. We booked 2 double rooms including breakfast. We didn't know what to expect coming here all the way from Spain. When we arrived we were very surprised. The gentleman in reception was so friendly and nice help us with everything we asked for. The rooms...

1Thank mrivera511
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2015

I booked a 3 night stay at the Windmill Hotel in Hartlepool, through Booking.com on 04/12/2015. The first night of my stay I hardly got any sleep because my room faced the A19, and was about 75m from the busy road, with constant noisy traffic on both North and South carriageways. the window in the room was single glazing and...

7Thank keithy306
Hungryman2222, Manager at The Windmill, responded to this review

We sorry that you felt that way but unfortunately I have to say that all you wrote here is not true at all. At first you stayed first night in room 6 (where windows are closing proper and there is no problem at all) It is true that the room is on highway side but this room is very quiet....

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2015

We needed a midway point for a special surprise reunion, location ideal but wary of previous reviews. Glad we ignored them, food was very good for a 3 course special under £5. Staff so friendly and because it was quiet they got involved with the childrens' colouring in etc One of our party chose from main menu and said very...

Thank Carole H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2015

I visited hotel recently. Amazing changes. Very nice and clean rooms. Honeymoon room just brilliant .I was here last year in October . It was ok but now is fantastic. Very friendly staff in reception and restaurant. I have to say food was awesome. Lovely Sambuca restaurant . Had very good time. Definitely coming back again Christmas time.

Thank Mike R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2015

I stayed 3 nights with my wife . We had wonderful time again. Hotel room very clean and quiet. Friendly reception staff. The meal was just delicious. We ordered steak ,it was die for. All staff in restaurant so kind and helpful.

3Thank John G
Hungryman2222, General Manager at The Windmill, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit again shortly. Thank you

Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

I was originally allocated Room 4 which smelt damp and had a window that didn't close properly. I complained and after being told the hotel was full I was eventually moved to room 10. Rooms that look out onto the main road are very noisy, and with a broken window unacceptably so. I spoke to the chef and head waitress...

6Thank James S
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2015

Working in nearby Marton this week the boss booked us into The Windmill. Great idea as it was exactly what we needed after a day's graft - Warm clean rooms with comfortable beds and excellent showers. The food in the restaurant was absolutely fantastic,add in the friendly staff and extremely reasonable prices makes it hard to beat. Myself and the...

2Thank kodiakblair
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Rooms are basic but very clean and good value for money The staff here make this place, very warm, welcoming and friendly. AMAZING customer service! Food was fantastic too. Travel on my own for business a lot and made to feel very welcome here.

2Thank Elizabeth K
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night asked for adjoining rooms and got them.lovely powerfull shower i didnt use the bar area but others in our party did and said drinks were reasonably priced.everyone who worked here was polish i think but they were friendly and helpful.will stay here again next year as reasonable price and not too far for great north...

3Thank john s

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (20)
Room/Suite (3)
Bathroom (1)
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartlepool
5.9 km away
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
445 reviews
6.7 km away
Premier Inn Hartlepool Marina Hotel
8.5 km away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
981 reviews
7.2 km away
Norton Hotel
Norton Hotel
#9 of 9 in Hartlepool
39 reviews
7.3 km away
Trinity Guest House
Trinity Guest House
#1 of 1 in Seaton Carew
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about The Windmill

Address: Dalton Piercy, Hartlepool TS27 3HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Hartlepool
Price Range: $57 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windmill 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Windmill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Windmill staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Windmill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room facing the car park is quite......this Hotel is just off the A19.”
 of 5 bubbles 35kathleenb, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quite close to the A19 - try and request a room not directly on the A19 side.”
 of 5 bubbles alansK2971ZS, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great food is all we came for”
 of 5 bubbles Dazho, 30 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms large size and clean”
 of 5 bubbles mrivera511, 2 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Get a Room away from the very busy A19.”
 of 5 bubbles keithy306, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5