We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Penhelig Arms

Booking.comUS$107*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$107*
US$107*
US$107*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
Panoramas (44)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

624 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 621: English reviews
Start your review of Penhelig Arms
 Click to rate
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This lovely hotel has beautiful views over the river which can be enjoyed from most of the rooms. Our room, (classed as comfy), was large, well presented and spotless, and had a lovely view across the estuary. There is no lift and the stairs are a little narrow but did not prove a problem for us 67 and 77 year...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sylviambruce
Langport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Penhelig Arms as one of a party of (senior) golfers, all of whom are fairly particular about standards of food and accommodation. It did not disappoint. The quality of the rooms varied, from the merely good to the absolutely outstanding. Mine was compact, with shower rather than bat, but the bed was exceptionally comfortable, the linen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthony g
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to welcome you back soon!

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We popped into the Penhelig Arms recently and was impressed by the menu and the location, so we decided to book a table for the following day. When we returned the next day, the person who took our booking told us we had booked for Sunday, not Saturday. We hadn't (we were in fact returning home on the Sunday). Despite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisD2858HZ
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this review

Hello Chris, My sincere apologies for the poor customer service you experienced over the weekend. I can reassure you this is very out of character, as we thrive ourselves on a warm welcome here at the Penhelig Arms. Could you possibly call us on 01654767215 or email penhelig@sabrain.com as I would like to discuss this in more detail if possible....

Leyland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on a Travelzoo 2 night break, B&B. The hotel building began as fishermen's cottages which accounts for the steep narrow stairways. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. When we were allocated to a room 2 flights up I asked if there was an alternative on a lower level as these would have presented a real...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynndavepacker
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your fantastic feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Edgmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the second time we have stayed at the Penhelig. As the first, the room was great with a wonderful estuary view. Staff very friendly and attentive. Ate in the bar as we took our four legged friend with us. Food was lovely and definitely good value. All in all a really pleasant stay. Couldn't recommend more!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiny343
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your fantastic review. We hope to see you again soon!

Presteigne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic location overlooking the river estuary and across to the hills above Aberystwyth, with a few tables and chairs outside on the other side of a (quite busy) road. Public spaces and bedrooms are beautifully decorated in relaxing tones of blue and brown, with an understated nautical theme. It's right by the railway so you can hear trains going past...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for your constructive feedback. It's great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. I shall pass on your comments to our team and I hope that we can rectify the breakfast experience you had, so that this does not happen again. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Booked for dinner on Easter Sunday. Table not available on arrival and had to wait at the bar for 15 mins (not fun with a bad back). The service was excruciatingly slow and we had to ask 4 times for ketchup before it arrived. We almost gave up on pudding ( 2 1/2 hours after arrival) and sadly after waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennie T
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this review

Hello, I'm sorry to hear that your experience was not up to our usual standards. If you could possibly contact me via penhelig@sabrain.com with further information I would be more than happy to discuss the issues with you. I look forward in hearing from you.

Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

A great place to stay, the staff were always helpful, the room had a wonderful views across the estuary and everything was spotless, would stay there again in a heartbeat. The parking was limited but the public park 50 yds away was fine and they refunded the parking fee.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan P
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your lovely feedback. I shall pass your review onto the team. Hope to see you again soon!

manchester
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Lovely relaxed atmosphere and a beautiful location. We had a spacious and comfortable room with estuary views from our own balcony and enjoyed dinner here on both nights we stayed. Will be telling friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sazzaManchester
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your lovely feedback, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Penhelig. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 7 April 2017

Inn with beautiful views of the estuary, good food and comfortable rooms. We had a superior room and it was excellent, our sister and brother in law had a smaller standard room which was cosy with a nice view of the bay. The meals were very good and despite being on the main road the rooms were not noisy however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
penhelig, General Manager at Penhelig Arms, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for your lovely feedback, It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!

418 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (212)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (73)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
Cambrian Room (27)
Viewed
Jones Room (32)
Viewed
Lewis room (9)
Viewed
Pen-y-Bryn Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Suite (53)
Viewed
The Hotel (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberdovey
23.6 km away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
316 reviews
6.2 km away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
245 reviews
20.7 km away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
147 reviews
0.8 km away
Seabreeze Restaurant with Rooms
0.5 km away
Dovey Inn
Dovey Inn
#5 of 11 in Aberdovey
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Penhelig Arms

Address: Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park LL35 0LT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Aberdovey
Price Range: $175 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Penhelig Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Penhelig Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penhelig Arms Hotel Aberdovey / Aberdyfi
Penhelig Arms Aberdovey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Penhelig Arms staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Peterborough, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Birmingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Penhelig Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The posh rooms do have their own parking for one car”
sylviambruce, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have sea views but some are quite small so do check before booking”
ClareS331, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“1750 the year the cottages were converted to a pub.”
984bryanp, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If mobility is an issue you need to discuss at time of booking, due to internal stairs and steep external steps to superior rooms.”
N7296NPfranks, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra and get an annex room with views to die for and a car parking space.”
MallinTilton, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$107* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$107
Agoda.comUS$107
LateRooms.comUS$107
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates