We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Westberry Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$96*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$96*
US$96*
US$96*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Westberry Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
Start your review of Westberry Hotel
 Click to rate
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Westberry restaurant never disappoints; what a joy to discover such fabulous food and friendly service in Bodmin. I regularly meet with friends for an evening here where we are welcomed by Le and her team; the Chicken Penang comes highly recommended. The Sunday Thai buffet is great value; we were able to enjoy a range of tasty dishes in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyG60
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We celebrated my 30th birthday here. All my friends and family took over the restaurant and we had the oriental set menu. It was a great price and great food. The service was really good and staff really lovely. Especially considering they had another huge function in next room! My husband organised it as a surprise and he said the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vixtux
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An excellent stay at the Westberry. In our opinion the Proprietor Le was very attentive, all staff very friendly, the Hotel was very clean and the food was excellent. Currently the Council are working on the road outside the Hotel but that wasn't a problem to us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael s
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went here on Sunday for the Oriental buffet and I can honestly say it's the WORST buffet I ever had. Firstly we called to book a table and when we arrived they didn't seem to have a table for us and had to go in search for one. The blonde lady behind the bar was blunt and quite rude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charliechick221
Le-Bodmin, Owner at Westberry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charliechick, I am very sorry to learn that you were unhappy with the food and service during Sunday's Oriental buffet. As you will have seen in my earlier reply to your partner Chris, we were taken off-guard by the totally unexpected number of customers who came on that day, and as a result both the food and the service...

southampton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the worst buffet I have ever had. The staff were terrible and did not have a clue what was going on. We had to queue up for about 15 minutes to get our food as they only have one hot plate table capable of holding about 9 dishes. 2 of these included rice and noodles and 3 of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank franno8
Le-Bodmin, Owner at Westberry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris -- I am very sorry to learn that you were unhappy with the food and service at our Oriental Buffet yesterday. As you correctly identified, we were rather overwhelmed by the number of guests, which was nearly twice our normal number, and as a result both the service and the food unfortunately suffered. Needless to say we have...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed for 2 nights easter weekend rooms and service fantastic. My son got married on good friday in chester and as my relations live in cornwall we had a second reception for him at the westberry, the buffet was absolutely fantastic we had a brilliant evening nothing was to much trouble for the staff and managment .This hotel should be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank graylynn2013
Le-Bodmin, Owner at Westberry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham, Thank you very much for your review. It was our pleasure to see the reception went so well for your family and guests. We also learned that with a little effort we could make something out of nothing, and some of those red roses are still holding up well in our restaurant until now :-) Best wishes, Le....

Bodmin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We visited yesterday for the carvery lunch. We have been to the Westberry on quite a few occasions before and this visit didn't disappoint. A warm welcome upon arrival and then a nice table looking out over the garden. We were invited to go up to the carvery when we were ready. There was an excellent selection of meats and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SarahJW1
Le-Bodmin, Owner at Westberry Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much Sarah for your review. It was nice to see your family again and I'm glad that you all enjoyed the meal. The Carvery went so well that we now consider bringing it back more frequently, maybe on the first Sunday of each month. Best wishes, Le. Westberry Hotel & Restaurant

Tintagel, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Having been to the Westberry Hotel one evening with friends and enjoying a wonderful meal we were then invited to join them to celebrate their first anniversary. The evening was complimentary for their customers and they certainly went out of their way to make people feel very welcome and provided a wonderful cold and hot buffet. The owners and all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shuttapark
Le-Bodmin, Owner at Westberry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clive, Thank you very much for your review and I'm glad that you enjoyed the celebration evening. All of our staff worked very hard that week to prepare for the evening and we were happy to see it went so well. Many staff was also able to join the party afterward and all had a good time. We hope...

Reviewed 31 March 2017

This hotel was excellent, we had to come down for a funeral the night before and this hotel had late booking in as we wasn't going to get there till midnight and most hotels had a 9pm check in time. Hotel was very clean beautiful bedroom with a bath which is a must have for me. Staff extremely friendly manger...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank V70fay
Le-Bodmin, Owner at Westberry Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry that it was a sad occasion on your visit but I'm glad that we were able to provide the facilities that made your stay comfortable. I hope we will be able to see you again on a much happier trip. Best wishes, Le. Westberry Hotel & Restaurant

Bodmin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

As I walked into the hotel I saw one of the kitchen staff outside in his white coat and apron smoking, if they had good hygiene practises they would have taken their coat off! Makes you wonder what added extras maybe in the food and if their other hygiene practises were slack. The food was good but pricey

 Report
Helpful?
Thank candyfloss98

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodmin hotels
4.8 km away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
179 reviews
2.2 km away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Bodmin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
277 reviews
4.3 km away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
335 reviews
0.1 km away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#7 of 9 in Bodmin
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Westberry Hotel & Restaurant is AA 2-star rated and offers an elegant balcony restaurant with adjoining lounge and bar. The hotel also offers a premier dining room and function suite with bar, suitable for both family and business events up to around 120 persons. All of our 21 bedrooms are en-suite, offering Sky television, radio, ironing facilities, telephone, free wireless internet access and tea/coffee-making facilities. A full breakfast (English, continental or speciality) is included in cost of every room, and in the evening our elegant panoramic Terrace restaurant overlooking the town serves a carefully chosen selection of local, English, European and Oriental dishes. We are also open for Sunday lunch from 12:00 to 14:30 offering an "eat as much as you like" Oriental buffet during summer months and a filling carvery selection during the winter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Westberry Hotel

Address: Rhind Street, Bodmin PL31 2EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Price Range: $139 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westberry Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Westberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westberry Hotel Bodmin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Westberry Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Westberry Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sorry I can't really give an a opinion on this but ours was a superior room which was large had two chairs and a sofa.”
Q5702HOmichaels, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Cannot comment on the rooms as we were only visiting for the evening”
shuttapark, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“book a meal in the restaurant”
Zanzizibar, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Phone ahead and ask to put heating on.”
dawnhearn, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 9 looked over car park but quiet”
307wendyg, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$96* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$96
PricelineUS$96
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates