We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Richmond Gate Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Richmond Gate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

910 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Richmond Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 891: English reviews
PETERBOROUGH
Reviewed 27 February 2016

We had a lovely two day break, very easy stroll into the town with its many shops and restaurants. Also a short walk down to the river where we also visited a couple of pubs, and a riverside walk to Ham House. Hotel was very comfortable, the staff extremely friendly, and the two meals in the hotel were very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosr315
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I must admit we do have a great location which allows you to enjoy many of the local sites.I was delighted to read about the friendlyl team members you encountered it is always great to read comments such as yours thank you.I do take on board your comments relating to...

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Visited for champagne afternoon tea on a gift voucher. Very quiet on a Wednesday afternoon, small car park but not a problem Old building and sat in small room at front of hotel, only one other couple having tea. Not much atmosphere but comfortable. Outlook onto carpark with river in the distance but no real view. Tea served efficiently, only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 73GP
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am sure you a can appreciate we serve a number of afternoon teas on a weekly basis, and we always try and meet with all of our guest expectations I am sorry on this occasion we did not meet yours. I am very sorry that I cannot change your experience and it is...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Nice hotel, staff very friendly and helpful, particularly Daniel and other reception staff. Winter break offer excellent - included dinner in restaurant on one night, very good. Breakfast also very good. Great location next to Richmond Park and a short walk to the town centre, also walked some distance along the River Thames. Will definitely return soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueBC27
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that your stay was a success. It was fabulous to learn about the service an individual team member has provided. I will of course communicate your comments to Daniel and the rest of the team. I do hope you choose to stay with us in...

Dorset, UK
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We were not disappointed with our choice for an evening meal. The quality of the food was outstanding. Breakfast followed suit too. The staff at the hotel were brilliant. Very polite and helpful, they made the stay a memorable one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was extremely pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us. I was also delighted to read that you felt the team were helpful and polite they are one of our greatest assets.I was pleased to read that you had a great Valentines with us and how...

Edenbridge
Reviewed 22 February 2016

The Richmond Gate Hotel is positioned perfectly to explore Richmond town centre, Richmond Park and is a short drive away from Kew and Hampton Court Palace. The hotel has use of a superb swimming pool, food is great and very friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EdenbridgeGinger
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us in particular the standard of the food served in the restaurant. I must admit we do have a great location which allows you to enjoy many of the local sites and facilities. It would be our pleasure...

Mayfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel, friendly staff. Used an offer we had and was not disappointed. The evening meal was good as was the breakfast. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly and informative. Close to the park, local shopping and easy to find. Daniel was especially helpful and greeted us on arrival.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnies1968
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

I thank you for the time you have taken in writing your review on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that your stay was a success. It was fabulous to learn about the service an individual team member has provided. I will of course communicate these to Daniel and the rest of the team. I do hope you...

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Great hotel , great location right next to the amazing richmond park, superb breakfast, Excellent , friendly late night bar staff and of course the incredibly helpful , professional effervescent reception staff !!! Would highly recommend to anybody wishing to visit this interesting side of West London.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua T
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was extremely pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us . I was also delighted to read that you felt looked after by the team they are indeed one of our greatest assets. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when...

Northolt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Chose this hotel for a spa break, as a treat for my Mum. Lovely Hotel, lovely Staff. Hotel very homely, warm and welcoming. Staff very helpful and attentive, nothing is too much of a problem. Lovely breakfast, had afternoon tea after our spa treatments, taken in the old lounge, with big sofa's, open fire, food excellent. Spa treatments were perfect,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma J
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was extremely pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us again. I was also delighted to read that you felt looked after by the team they are indeed one of our greatest assets. I must admit we do have a great location which allows you to...

Reviewed 18 February 2016

The facilities are old and the room was very small. It's decent if you are only looking for a place to spend the night.The breakfast was expensive for what you actually get. The staff is helpful and the location is good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia A
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was also sorry to learn that you felt your rooms was small and I understand you had selected a standard room type at a extremely good value rate, we do of course offer a number of different room types and sizes at varying price ranges perhaps one of those...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2016

On arrival there were no robes or slippers in the room, which I would expect considering it is a spa hotel and we had a booking in the spa. Robes were brought but I had to go to reception to pick up slippers as had to wait for a long time in my room for them. The heating was making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katcheeky
GMRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I understand that you had booked a double room on a “room only” basis for the evening of the 13th; we were of course offering several romantic additions to make your evening more romantic, this included a 5 course Valentines dinner, with prosecco, candlelight, music, gifts and full of romance...

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 km away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond
1,305 reviews
0.2 km away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond
577 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Coach and Horses
0.7 km away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 12 in Richmond
383 reviews
2.9 km away
Kew Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond TW10 6RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Price Range: $147 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Richmond
#5 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Richmond Gate Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Richmond Gate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for an upgrade”
  • View from Richmond Bridge
  • View from Richmond Hill. Lovely
  • Richmond Bridge
 of 5 bubbles AnastasiG, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Four poster rooms are large and well appointed.”
 of 5 bubbles SheldonCole, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing small garden are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles marionk999, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All very good.”
 of 5 bubbles barry0ates, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in room 31 it was like a cupboard then would you believe we opened the door and the bathroom was enormous I felt like I was in a basement in a cupboard we paid for 2 nights but checked out early as a friend offered to put us up after attending a family wedding ”
 of 5 bubbles madelineh_11, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay