We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all Speciality Lodging in Tamanique

Papaya's Lodge

Save
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (2)
Dining (1)
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good52%
  • Average13%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“common areas”(6 reviews)
“private room”(6 reviews)
“el tunco”(24 reviews)
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (75)Write a Review
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
17
30
8
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
17
30
8
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areasprivate roomel tuncodeck chairsgreat place to staysmall poolenjoyed our stayrooms were cleansurf lessonsno hot watershuttledormhostelbeachbeers
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place is a classic surfer local hostel with a lively crowd, small pool and pretty comfortable double rooms. Its noisy from the surrounding clubs but you should see that comming. Staff is nice and helpfull too.

Thank phouska
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

We had a very warm welcome. Good value. We had a private room and Bano. Papaya granola excellent. As usual cold shower. Block to beach. The lodge has boards to rent and great instructors. We had David as instructor. Highly recommended.

Thank Brenda R
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Disgusting common bathroom. A party hostel. we were unlucky a guy bump into every bunk in our dorm. we paid 10 for ac dorm wanted a good night sleep, turned out no sleep... moved to somewhere nicer for same price the next day.

Thank lazycatQtraveler
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

I am a little bewildered by the comments on the below review (I actually hadn't checked TA before staying there as I went with friends who booked it) our room was extremely clean, beds were comfy also with clean sheets and the air con was...More

Thank NaomiF2901
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Ok so the place looks nice, however the place is dirty the staff are unfriendly and the pool is dirty! Also good luck paying by card as they charge 10% extra which is the highest I have ever seen. The wifi is also terrible and...More

Thank danielcar
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345612
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$87 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Details
Price range
US$87 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (2)
Dining (1)
Pool & Beach (1)
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
damo4321
19 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dennis B | Reviewed this property |
Ditto. $10 for a dorm and $25 for a private. However it was extra for A/C which may be essential depending on your visit. They were very helpful and quick to respond via email or their FB page. Safe travels!
1
Vote
Room Tips
"If you're deciding against paying extra for A/C in El Salvador's summer: might want to reconsider."
Read review
"Private rooms are upstairs & much quieter"
Read review
"Pay $2 extra a night for a/c"
Read review
"Room by the pool may be better"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite