We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Salty Dog Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Salty Dog Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 155: English reviews
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Planned a weekend getaway to snells beach and as snells beach motel was booked out Salty Dog was the next best thing. The room was tidy, clean and had everything we needed. However if we were to visit again would definitely request an upstairs room. We were woken in the morning to very loud running water while the upstairs guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katbilly
Levin, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Lovely, comfortable room. We had a disappointing meal in the bar, however, breakfast was fantastic. So, all in all, our stay was very pleasant and would certainly recommend The Salty Dog to anyone wishing to stay in this area. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear of your disappointing bar meal. If you get some time could you email me so we can address this. We hope to see you again some time soon Fiona. Warm Regards Debbie

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We tried this place again as I have had fond memories of this place in years gone by . The public lounge has changed and it was rowdy and not somewhere I would choose to have a drink now. We were in a group of six in booked in for dinner and accommodation. Now the dinner we had was LOVELY!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vinoeaves
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Everything was clean. There has been some updating. The included breakfast was very good. We had dinner in the restaurant. It was of a fairly high standard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janw0110
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback. We hope we may see you again some time. Warm Regards Debbie

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 October 2016

The service and freindly reception was ex. the accomadation was clean and up to a high stanadard. The breakfast was OK. The staff were very helpful and we would stay there again and recommend it to our friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to your return. Warm regards Debbie

New Zealand
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We had a lovely two night stay, staff and locals were friendly. Only a short walk down to the beach, which has a walkway from end to end. Bistro meals at the pub were great and reasonably priced, breakfast was included in our deal off Grabone, basic but all that was needed. We based ourselves at Snells Beach and visited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank offthefarm5
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and take in our surroundings. Hope you will join us again one day soon. Warm regards Debbie.

Edinburgh
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Came across this place by chance, was fairly quiet as it was off season, but looked like it could be great in the summer. Chef stayed on to cook us some food, which was lovely of him, and it was really good. Rooms were a bit chilly, but probably hadn't been occupied for a wee while. Lovely location, nice to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jude1436
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Hope you will join us again some time soon. Warm regards Debbie

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 September 2016

had 4 great nights once again. such relaxed atmosphere ,every member of staff so friendly and efficient. studio very clean and comfortable, bistro meals lots of choice by excellent chef. we will be back!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 4,765,625
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

You have made my day. Thanks for your lovely feedback. We look forward to you joining us again soon. Warm regards Debbie

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Great stay good clean rooms and friendly staff The pub is a comfortable friendly pub with a great feel to it. The room we had didn't have hot plates for cooking which would have been better for us but breakfast was included in on the price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank footy2016
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast. Hope to see you again soon. Warm regards Debbie

Auckland
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Three years after our last stay at the Salty Dog the unit was a little tired. The unit we had was an end one so possibly a little more room that the others. The water from the shower has obviously been causing some damage to the vanity which was missing a pane. Clean enough apart from a couple of cobwebs....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AucklandWino
debzverne, Owner at The Salty Dog Inn, responded to this review

Sorry you were disappointed. We must have been fully booked when you stayed as the end room which is room 10 had a flood and is awaiting repairs to the cabinet. I am sad to hear of the cob webs so will address that with the ladies tomorrow. Glad you hubby liked the breakfast and do hope you will stay...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (53)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snells Beach
0.3 km away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
129 reviews
6.0 km away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
63 reviews
18.2 km away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 9 in Orewa
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 8 in Matakana
174 reviews
7.3 km away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
76 reviews
24.6 km away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Salty Do Inn is an English Pub in the heart of Snells Beach, on the Matakana Coast. Known for it's friendly staff and Olde English Pub theme. Our premises are located only a short walk from Snells Beach and a short drive from Algies Bay, Scott's Landing, and Martins Bay. Within our Region we provide many attractions including stunning beaches, local Markets including the Matakana Farmers Market, many Wineries, and much more. Enjoy reasonable and affordable Accommodation in the beautiful Snells Beach - only 50 minutes from Auckland CBD. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Salty Dog Inn

Address: 242 Mahurangi East Road, Snells Beach 0920, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Snells Beach
Price Range: $152 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Salty Dog Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Salty Dog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Salty Dog Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We satyed in room 3 in was not too noisy”
 of 5 bubbles S3813NOraym, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we ask for studio 1, so private”
 of 5 bubbles 4765625, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We could hear the people in the room above moving around, but not too bad.”
 of 5 bubbles AucklandWino, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“quiet room, and located near sandspit and vineyards”
 of 5 bubbles murrayd487, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you can't climb stairs ask for a downstairs room.”
 of 5 bubbles morecambegirl60, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay