We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Queens Head

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Queens Head
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Queens Head
See the most recent reviews
Showing 237: English reviews
Berkshire
Reviewed 30 October 2016

My wife and I decided to come here for Sunday Lunch while staying nearby, and were not disappointed. We both opted for Roast Beef, and the beef was perfectly cooked and the best beef I have tasted for quite a while. The staff were friendly and attentive, the location is beautiful, and the overall experience could not really be bettered....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Turtle021
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely pub, lovely scenery, excellent food ! Stayed for the weekend and sampled the most delicious belly pork, tasty burger and perfectly cooked lamb. Theakstons XB on draught and a heritage railway line ! Wjp could ask for more!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank badlybri
Upholland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We were staying at a local B & B who recommended the Queens Head for our Eve meal. Lovely local pub, fab food and generous portions. Landlady very welcoming. We enjoyed it that much we returned every night of our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oldbean_13
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Very nice pub very friendly staff, Had one night here after my grandmother's funeral, We had the barn room, very spacious nice bed modern bathroom, but some bits didn't work in the room. The food for dinner was very reasonable priced and tasted nice. Lovely view from out the back across the fields, Breakfast was very good. I would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WorldTraveller82uk
Bedale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Went for Sunday lunch, never been before, what an eye opener it's like a tardis. We were served our drinks and taken to the lounge we were given a menu and told someone would come to take our order as soon as, which is what happened. When our food was ready we were taken to our table, the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R4833HTmichaele
Bedale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

This is our local pub restaurant with rooms The bar area is very cosy and inviting and there is a more formal restaurant behind that Always good choices including early diners menu We had the charcuterie platter to share for starters. Lovely slices of chorizo and salami plus chicken liver parfait hot smoked salmon, crayfish tails and 2 cheeses all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

having the pleasure of staying at the Queens Head two years ago i booked again for four nights, again it was first class both in accommodtion and the wonderful food, Ian the owner/chef dose a fantastic job from breakfast to dinner, also the rooms are great really well pesented right down to the home made biscuits, not forgetting Helen Ian's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thebigduke220953
Scotland
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I don't know where the three previous reviewers have been, but it doesn't sound like the same place we ate at on Friday night. We had the early bird menu, wide choice, all delicious and great value. A lovely white Viognier by the glass as well. Couldn't fault it, lovely rustic setting too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bryds
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We very recently had a six day stay at the "Queens Head" We have stayed several times before . I had been unwell and we just knew the Queens Head would be a perfect pick me up. It certainly was. We toured a little, ate lots of lovely meals at the "Queens Head", read and slept a lot...... perfect convalescence.....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katewW5818KO
Bedale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The food served for each of our party of three was at best graded as poor. I entirely support the previous review of my colleague. In contradiction of the managers reply to my friends report I personally complained to the person running the bar and acting as waiter. He stated he would pass on my remarks to his manager! How...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dunnricknjeny
Ian V, Owner at Queens Head, responded to this review

Thank you for adding you comments to the previous review. I am fully aware that you had a telephone conversation following your departure with Craig which he did indeed pass onto me. Unfortunately you didn't leave a number, nor did we have a booking with a telephone number that I could use to contact you..... I reiterate, had you brought...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finghall
5.7 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
354 reviews
5.2 km away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
388 reviews
17.2 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
2.7 km away
Countryman's Inn
Countryman's Inn
#1 of 2 in Hunton
120 reviews
10.2 km away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A quintessential English village pub with oak beams & open fires, but also featuring a modern restaurant, fantastic views and great accommodation ... more   less 

Additional Information about Queens Head

Address: High Street, Finghall DL8 5ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Finghall
Price Range: $121 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Head Hotel Finghall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Queens Head staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Dundee, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Queens Head staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Two new build rooms at the back - very quiet. Interior romm not seen.”
 of 5 bubbles wilkinsonkevan1, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are stunningly quite and peaceful, with great views of the country side .”
 of 5 bubbles 680kevn, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view across the dale”
 of 5 bubbles Rossergruffydd, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay overnight”
 of 5 bubbles lyndesue, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Just called for lunch”
 of 5 bubbles 138gregw, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay