We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
06/09/2017 07/09/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Blackaddie Country House Hotel

    Blackaddie Road, Sanquhar DG4 6JJ, Scotland
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    06/09/2017 07/09/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$176
    View Deal
    Traveller (67)
    Dining (39)
    Room & Suite (8)
    Overview
    • Excellent71%
    • Very good17%
    • Average7%
    • Poor3%
    • Terrible2%
    Travellers talk about
    “fine dining” (36 reviews)
    “ian mcandrew” (29 reviews)
    “gourmet menu” (13 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Multilingual Staff
    Pets Allowed
    Laundry Service
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from Blackaddie Country House Hotel
    Deals (10)
    6 Sep7 Sep
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Mallard
      US$176
      View Deal
    • Mallard
      US$176
      View Deal
    View all 10 deals from US$176
    Trigony House Hotel
    578 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Closeburn
     
    Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
    244 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Thornhill
     
    Nithsdale Hotel
    207 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Sanquhar
     
    Auchen Castle
    366 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Beattock
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (349)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    There are newer reviews for Blackaddie Country House Hotel
    See the most recent reviews

    91 - 95 of 349 reviews

    Reviewed 15 November 2015

    We spent one night here on a trip through the UK. The food is incredible, we couldn’t believe they don’t have a Michelin star (or two!). In fact, strangely, they only have 2 AA rosettes. We’ve been to many restaurants with stars and their food...More

    Thank Liz G
    Response from Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House HotelResponded 5 May 2016

    Thank you for your review, people that find us by chance are always extremely and pleasantly surprised, especially by the food, yes we too think we deserve that star! Lots of walks in the area especially if you have brought your dog. Next time try...More

    Reviewed 5 November 2015

    We enjoyed a very fine country house hotel weekend break at Blackaddie House. The food was excellent in choice, preparation and taste at all meals - the wine list extensive but pricey for the French. The service was stretched on the first evening by serving...More

    Thank alanatdyce
    Response from Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House HotelResponded 5 May 2016

    Thank you for you r positive review, Grouse as you say is a lovely very big room with a huge bathroom that includes a Jacuzzi. As always in the country, and more especially up here in Scotland Wi-fi can sometimes be a problem but one...More

    Reviewed 2 November 2015

    We are just back from a brilliant weekend with a large group of friends at the Blackaddie. I could not praise highly enough the quality and innovativeness of the cuisine over both the table d'hote and tasting menu options. The flavours and combinations throughout the...More

    Thank Patricia R
    Response from Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House HotelResponded 5 May 2016

    Thank you for your very positive review I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and of course the food. Ptarmigan is a super room as indeed are all of our rooms now we have refurbished them all to such a high standard....More

    Reviewed 2 November 2015

    A group of us stayed at Blackaddie for our annual 'Gourmet Hillwalking' weekend. We had the table d'hote on Friday and an eight course tasting menu with matching wines on Saturday; the food was excellent throughout. The breakfasts were also excellent, with an extensive menu....More

    Thank John R
    Response from Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House HotelResponded 5 May 2016

    Thank you for your lovely comments and for being such a great group, very easy to look after. Sorry but we do not go in for an espresso machine, we are after all only small but it seems that the lack of an espresso did...More

    Reviewed 1 November 2015

    A great evening at a fabulous hotel. We went for the gourmet menu, which allowed us to taste lots of food that we hadn't tried before. Although everything was amazing, I loved the cucumber sorbet that was beautifully served with tuna tartar, caviar and quails...More

    Thank RegularHotelUser70
    Response from Ian M, Owner at Blackaddie Country House HotelResponded 5 May 2016

    Thank you for your kind comments and we very much look forward to you returning.

    Trigony House Hotel
    578 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Closeburn
     
    Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
    244 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Thornhill
     
    Nithsdale Hotel
    207 reviews
    #2 of 2 hotels in Sanquhar
     
    Auchen Castle
    366 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Beattock
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    GreenLeadersBronze level
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Room Service
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Room Service
    • Laundry Service
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$211 - US$640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Suites
    • Number of rooms
    • 7
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blackaddie Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • Scotland >
    • Dumfries and Galloway >
    • Sanquhar
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (67)
    Dining (39)
    Room & Suite (8)
    Pool & Beach (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (44)
    Bathroom (4)
    Nearby
    Trigony House Hotel
    578 reviews
    20.16 km away
     
    Auchen Castle
    366 reviews
    29.16 km away
     
    Nithsdale Hotel
    207 reviews
    .61 km away
     
    Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
    244 reviews
    17.79 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Blackaddie Country House Restaurant
    78 reviews
    .01 km away
    The Oasis Restaurant
    37 reviews
    .61 km away
    Burnside Filling Station & Tearoom
    8 reviews
    .44 km away
    Cafe A' the Airts
    21 reviews
    .64 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Crawick Multiverse
    75 reviews
    4.26 km away
    Museum of Lead Mining
    180 reviews
    10.27 km away
    The Leadhills & Wanlockhead Railway
    39 reviews
    11.97 km away
    Colebrooke Arms
    24 reviews
    17.42 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    LondonerE6
    15 January 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Ian M | Property representative |
    We have a couple fo steps up to the front door and no ground floor rooms unfortunately so I sadly have to say no, very sorry.
    0
    Votes
    Ann W
    9 August 2014|
    Answer
    Response from Ian M | Property representative |
    Just call me when you are ready to book Kind Regards Ian
    0
    Votes
    Ann W
    9 August 2014|
    Answer
    Response from Ian M | Property representative |
    Our car park is large enough to take a pick up + trailer no problem. We do not however have CCTV but as it is overlooked by the hotel I would be confident that your trailer would be secure parked in the car park for however... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Room 2 overlooks the garden"
    Read review
    "A stay in the Minister's Pool lodge is a must"
    Read review
    "Each room is unique. Consider what view or situation suits your preferences."
    Read review
    "Ask for Pheasant or Partridge"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing