We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waveney River Centre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waveney River Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 250: English reviews
Start your review of Waveney River Centre
 Click to rate
Norwich England
Reviewed 1 week ago

We hired a day boat from here on Easter Sunday 16th April 2017 although it was bank holiday the charges were reasonable. OUr boat was called Pilot 3. This was a comfortable trim little,craft suitable for 6 adults so as there was 5 of us we had enough room the boat is equipped with-upholstered seating for all and a gas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SK1R1D
jamesknight, Owner at Waveney River Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review - we're so glad the you enjoyed your day out on the river from WRC. Please come and visit us again soon!

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

My Husband, daughter and myself stayed in one the new "pods" for 1 night at Easter. We have been here many times but normally stay on our boast but decided to use a pod on this occasion. Absolutely loved it they're so cute! Double bed and 2 singles with heating and a small television. Inc electrics too so could charge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisa w
jamesknight, Owner at Waveney River Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your fantastic review Lisa - it's very much appreciated. We're glad that you all enjoyed yourselves in the Pod and hope that you will visit us again really soon. Thanks again! James.

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our fourth time here and this time we had one of the touring pitches on Angler's Corner. It's lovely and peaceful by the river and we enjoyed seeing all the wildlife up close (the heron was the children's favourite). We ate in the pub on site one night and the food was really nice and of a high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James P
jamesknight, Owner at Waveney River Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful review James - all very much appreciated by our team. We look forward to seeing you next time. Thanks again, James.

Woodbridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in one of the new yurts. Very spacious and well equiped. The beds were really comfortable for all 4 of us. The bathroom facilities were great the shower was warm and high pressured. The kids loved the playground and swimming pool. All in was a lovely family holiday would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michaela H
jamesknight, Owner at Waveney River Centre, responded to this review

Thanks Michaela for this lovely review. You were one of our very first yurt customers as they are brand new this month. It's good to know that we got things right and I hope you'll come and visit again :-)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came for a short stay in one of the escape pods with my 8 year old daughter. They are very spacious and warm, have a power socket and TV. I would recommend booking either pods 3-6 as they have a flat piece of grass out the front of their veranda and are in the sun all day. We were in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma W
jamesknight, Owner at Waveney River Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review Gemma - much appreciated. I can confirm that there is an unbendable rule is for children to be accompanied in the pool, and we ask every guest to sign a form agreeing to this. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely love this place. Booked for this year, before we left. Hired a boat for the day. Beautiful place, clean and extremely friendly. Can't wait to go back. The penthouse is second to none. ☺☺☺☺☺

 Report
Helpful?
Thank factfactfact
jamesknight, Owner at Waveney River Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your fantastic review - it means a lot to our team. Please come and visit us again really soon!

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an amazing week here in a lodge with a hot tub. The lodge was spotless and a nice touch with toiletries and a welcome pack of fresh bread, butter, milk, marmalade, cake, tea, coffee and sugar was really thoughtful. The Waveney Inn has helpful, welcoming staff and food here is amazing and well priced. If you want a quiet,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
jamesknight, Owner at Waveney River Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your fantastic review Alison - it's really appreciated by all of our team. We're glad that you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again soon :-)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Decided on a half day boat hire with some food before in the Waveney Inn...great venue and food was great....however boat hire and handover were appalling....brief on safety equipment pretty much non existent along with the handling of the boat....guy showing us around the boat even admitted he'd never done it with a customer before...totally unsupervised....If Id been a first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
jamesknight, Owner at Waveney River Centre, responded to this review

I was very sorry to read your review Andy - it's very disappointing to read this at the start of the season. I've investigated this and can see that you were shown out by a new member of staff, who perhaps got an attack of the nerves and forgot his training. We are doing more 'mock' handovers with him so...

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time here at the WRC and we had the Aldeby lodge which was right next to the water with uninterrupted views across the marshes. The birdlife was wonderful to watch as they came right up to the feeders outside. The lodge itself was really good but a little tatty in places but this did not detract from the holiday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dutchy777
jamesknight, Owner at Waveney River Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Dutchy - we're glad that you had a good time staying with us. To answer some of your questions - firstly re the kettle, our electricity supply is limited due to our location, so we opted to use gas rather than electricity wherever possible for heating things up. I guess that you visited us in March...

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me, my girlfriend and another couple stayed in the Bungay Lodge that was immaculately presented upon arrival. This really is a lovely place to relax & the lodges were a lot bigger than we anticipated. The food was nice, staff pleasant & the shop on site was very reasonably priced. The hot tub was cleaned and inspected daily, and with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LewisGeez
jamesknight, Owner at Waveney River Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review Lewis - we're glad that you enjoyed yourself. I'm sorry that you were disappointed about not being able to hire a boat on the Sunday - I think that we were all caught out with the lovely weather in late March and everyone thought it was summer. From the end of March, everything runs 7...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burgh St Peter
1.4 km away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
28 reviews
2.4 km away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
397 reviews
3.0 km away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
485 reviews
7.7 km away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
280 reviews
30.1 km away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waveney River Centre is the Broads' multi-award winning Holiday Park & Marina, set in the beautiful surroundings of South Norfolk's Waveney Valley, with stunning south and west facing views across marshes and river. The Park is a wildlife haven, where you can spend hours watching birds, insects and other wildlife from the peace & quiet of your holiday lodge, or venture further along the river by day cruiser or canoe.For campers & caravanners, our touring and camping site occupies an idyllic south-facing location overlooking the marina and river, and is open all year thanks to our eco-friendly, heated shower rooms. The Park features a family-friendly pub, indoor heated swimming pool & café, children's play areas, Mace convenience store, launderette and information centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waveney River Centre

Address: Staithe Road, Burgh St Peter NR34 0BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Burgh St Peter
Price Range: $154 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waveney River Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waveney River Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waveney River Centre staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
kent
1 month ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Waveney River Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for ones overlooking the marshes directly.”
  • Marsh
  • Greenfinch on feeder
Dutchy777, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just ask the helpful staff your requirements, they will do the rest.”
susanpurland, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lodge right next to river”
  • Brilliant living space
  • Fantastic kitchen
  • Great space
  • One of the twin rooms
  • Family Bathroom
  • Master bed
  • So comfy
Ipkiss1066, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“These are self contained lodges with everything you could possibly require. Towels and gowns supplied.”
339carolinem, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Waterside lodge is beautiful.”
amandajaner2014, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5