We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Countryman's Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Countryman\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Countryman's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Booked a last minute room (rm 3) as wanted somewhere that we could take our dog. Tony was very accomodating and our room was lovely. Newly decorated, clean and plenty of room. Breakfast was more than adequate and set us up for the day. Unfortunately we weren't able to have an evening meal as we arrived Sunday evening when food... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lesthorn
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your subsequent review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our pet friendly rooms. We are sorry you were not able to eat on Sunday evening. That is the only evening we do not cook because we serve Sunday lunch from midday until 19.00.Cask Marque approved and Camra LocAles are... More 

Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

This is a really friendly old world country pub the staff where very nice the food was excellent as was the beer.( we also enjoyed dinner on both nights). Our room was very spacious with a very large on suite bathroom and equipped with everything you could want even a cafetiere and ground coffee It was perfect for our doggy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for staying with us in one of our pet friendly rooms. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry you feel that we had a limited menu for vegetarians. We try to cook to order for vegetarians depending on the range of fresh ingredients we have in stock on the specific day... More 

Lake District
Level Contributor
212 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed in room 1' very spacious, lovely bed and lovely and warm. plenty of tea and coffee too. the food was good and you were made to feel very welcome. tony is a great landlord , helpful and friendly too. check in is a bit odd, but you can ring him if you arrive in the afternoon and he... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helvellyn2009
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your review. With regard to check in times, it is not possible for the pub to be attended all day in order to facilitate All Day Check In. We are a country pub, not a large chain hotel. We are flexible if we know someone wants to check in in advance, but if... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome from Tony who graciously carried my bag up to the room. The room was lovely, warm and welcoming. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and plenty supply of tea, coffee and biscuits. We spent the evening there eating a well prepared meal and refreshing lager. Breakfast has cereal, fruit juice, toast and full English.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank japat29
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at our country pub. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found your stay friendly and welcoming. Than you again for choosing to stay and your review. More 

Stoke
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed in room 1 which was spacious, nicely decorated, clean and warm with good facilities. Despite speaking to Tony, the owner ,before booking, we were not advised that we could not check in until the pub opened in the evening. After arriving at 3pm and finding all in darkness and no answer at the door, we checked the pub websiteon... More 

Helpful?
Thank melancholy_baby
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our Pet Friendly country village pub. Thank you also for the opportunity to address the issue of our check in time, within the TripAdvisor community. As you are aware we are a small village country pub with good beer, good food and... More 

Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights with my girlfriend during a walking weekend in the dales. Firstly i'd like to mention how welcoming Tony & his staff were upon our arrival and straight away we were made to feel at home, along with our dog. This is truly a dog friendly pub! The room was comfy, clean and warm! The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham B
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and your review. We are glad you all enjoyed your stay in one of our pet friendly rooms and you all enjoyed your walking in the Dales. Although we are only a short drive from the A1 in Lower Wensleydale, we feel we offer a practical base for walking in the Dales and also allow reasonable... More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Booked for an early start at a racehorse trainer at Middleham, we were given a large comfortable twin bedded room with excellent facilities called the Jack Berry Room. The room and much of the inn had a horseracing theme. The evening meal was good quality (lamb chops/sirloin steak) with friendly service. We had a walk around the quiet village afterwards.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin J
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your kind review. As you are aware we are situated in Lower Wensleydale, midway between the A1 and Middleham, ideal for visiting the gallops at Middleham or our two other local trainers at Constable Burton (Anne Duffield) and Hackforth (Phil Kirby). As you are aware we are truly a village pub... More 

london, uk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a real inn with atmosphere and real locals in the bar in the evening. My room was clean and comfortable with full en-suite facilities, though it is worth noting that the rooms do vary - number 1 for instance is much better than number 3. You will get some noise till 11 pm when the bar empties(!), but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank norman s
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, the food and our real ales. With regard to our rooms, all 4 have been refurbished to the same standard in terms of fixtures and fittings, so Rooms 1 and 3 are fitted with similar facilities. They vary in terms... More 

York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I needed a place for the night at an hours notice and someone contacted The Countryman's Inn for me who said they had a room. The room was neat and had everything, the shower was excellent (I had walked over 20 miles on a warm day and needed it). I had a very good 3 course meal with really tasty... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank William R
Tony J, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your subsequent review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms comfortable and the food good! Add to that our Cask Mark beers and warm welcome and we hope we offer a good value package to our guests. Thank you again for staying and sharing your positive expirience More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the Countrymans Inn from 16/5 - 18/5/13 for my nephews passing out parade, there were 5 of us staying. the rooms were superb..However, Tony the landlord was grumpy to say the least. We had specifically stated that after the passing out ceremony a number of 11-12 family members would be coming back to celebrate. Well we arrived... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank bethany43
TonyCountrymans, Owner at Countryman's Inn, responded to this review

This review is not unexpected, but I would like to respond with a more complete version of the facts. I note from your review that several of the key elements are rated 5/5, one 3/5 & the relevant one of service 1/5 corresponding to your overall rating. You will recall, but do not state in your review, that the normal... More 

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunton
8.7 km away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
18.2 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
10.0 km away
The White Rose Hotel
The White Rose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leeming Bar
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Queens Head
Queens Head
#1 of 1 in Finghall
231 reviews
11.3 km away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
278 reviews
9.6 km away
Black Horse Inn
Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Kirkby Fleetham
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A traditional village pub at the heart of its rural community with four modern en suite rooms. AA three star rated with additional" Gold Standard" and AA Diners Award. The well stocked bar offers a full range of local cask ales and lagers. We are Cask Marque approved and included in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for 2015. The Countryman's Kitchen, now under new management provides food 18.00 to 21.00 EVERY WEEKDAY and SATURDAY EVENING AND FROM Midday to 18.00 on Sundays. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Countryman's Inn

Address: South View, Hunton DL8 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hunton
Price Range: $99 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Countryman's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Countryman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Countryman`s Inn, Hunton Hotel Bedale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Countryman's Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think there are only 4 rooms”
 of 5 bubbles travelaslongasican, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms appear to be of similar high standards.”
 of 5 bubbles 1vnlover, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't miss out they are great”
 of 5 bubbles littlee1944, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The stairs to the rooms above are very steep”
 of 5 bubbles 382francesc, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“room 1 is massive”
 of 5 bubbles rutlandwander, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay