We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Piazza Ciardi 3, 59100, Prato Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
US$54
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/23
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
TravelocityUS$54
Priceline
Orbitz.comUS$54
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (6)

About

#12 of 18 hotels in Prato
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Toscana is located opposite Prato's Nuovo Polo Universitario (P.I.L), just 3 km from the business areas of Macrolotto 1 and Macrolotto 2.The Toscana is also a short walk from Prato Railway Station, with frequent trains leaving for Florence. The hotel is also 20 minutes' drive from Florence Airport.Built at the end of the 19th century, Hotel Toscana has a characteristic Tuscan-style inn, with lounge and well-stocked wine cellar.Guests of Toscana Hotel have discounts at a partner restaurant located next door.The staff will be pleased to book city tours for you or to help you reserve a table at any of the restaurants nearby.The Monash University Centre of Prato is a 5-minute walk away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
Italian
112Reviews1Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 34
  • 30
  • 10
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
n66lam wrote a review Nov 2019
London, United Kingdom30 contributions41 helpful votes
I stayed here for three nights to attend at event at the a University. The location is good, the rooms basic in a traditional townhouse and lots of stairs. The breakfast was basic and they do not cater for coeliacs. I was directed to the supermarket. No hot or cooked food. The bed was very uncomfortable
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michael E wrote a review Jan 2018
Baden Württemberg5 contributions1 helpful vote
- Little Beds - Old fashioned - Windows don´t give isolation - Cleaning poor - Breakfast poor - Partly unfriendly staff, exception Woman at the Brakfast - Surrounding of the hotel does´t give a lot of opportunities to undertake something
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
aaronHerlev_Denmark wrote a review Aug 2017
Herlev, Denmark39 contributions13 helpful votes
I arrived at the Hotel during the evening and was honestly surprised at how primitive the Reception was. I could see from this very beginning that it was not going to be a memorable stay. The room that I was given was on the second floor and the staircase was so narrow that it was difficult to carry my luggage up to the room. The room itself was extremely primitive but the bathroom was shocking. There was so little room in the bathroom that I had to get out of the shower with the water running to be able to soap my body in, and then had to get into the shower again to remove the soap. Everything advertised about this so-called Hotel is a direct misrepresentation of the truth. I have been in Hostels that were better equipped and with far better rooms. Definitely not worth a second visit. A very disappointing visit indeed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: My very best tip is to not book this Hotel under any circumstances.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
AndrewA2Z wrote a review Sep 2016
Toronto, Canada9 contributions2 helpful votes
Dishonesty seems to be the approach of this Hotel. From how they market their hotel (more like a hostel) to how they treat you (and, apparently calling any reviewers they disagree with, liars... Seriously??) Misleading room numbers - all are listed as "1xx" implying a main floor as there is no elevator. There are only 6 rooms a floor so 115 is on the third floor with no elevator. Building is old and not well maintained. Shower door was broken in our room. Carpets are old and musty. Mattress was 3" thick, but felt more like 1" when sleeping. Room phone was broken. Staff were unfriendly and had the reception TV volume up high, so you had to talk over whatever program they were watching. On the upside, it's close to the train station and a great kebab place that's open late. Overall, AVOID this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTELTOSCANA, Direttore at Hotel Toscana
Responded 5 Sep 2016
Dear Tashi / Andrew, You are the same person using different profiles and this is a fraudulent use of Tripadvisor. However we reiterate your lies. With the second mendacious review with a fake profile you have passed all limits of decency .......... Maybe you want revenge because you have booked with a not valid credit card and then you wanted to check-out without paying, claiming to have already paid .... the only TRUTH that you have not written in many written lies. WE HOPE THAT TRIPADVISOR TAKE MEASURES FOR THIS SHAME!!!!!!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tashi_Mika wrote a review Aug 2016
Toronto, Canada32 contributions14 helpful votes
We stayed 3 nights, which we booked last minute through Bookings.com. Here's our experience at check out. We asked that our luggage to be stored while we go out for a bite to eat. Luigi (I think that was his name) obliged. At that time, we mentioned that we were heading to Florence after breakfast. We came back an hour later to get our luggage so we can catch the train. Being polite Canadians, we asked to use the bathroom which was visible about 15 feet away from where we were standing. I was shocked when Luigi said, "Come back in one hour, then you can use the toilet." You could've picked my jaw up from the floor! We reminded him that our train to Florence was in a half hour. He condescendingly repeated himself, and then said it is being cleaned, and after it has been cleaned, then we can use it. We told him that we can see the bathroom with the door wide open from where we were standing. He literally pouted, I swear to God, and said again, "Come back in one hour, after cleaning, you can use it, but not before one hour." Picture Hercule Poirot's condescending hand gestures at this point. This was quite ridiculous, considering we had stayed 3 nights. Anyway, we turned and picked up our luggage to leave. But I felt the need to speak up. So, on the way out, I told Luigi that he's not nice at all. I'd like to stress that I am not the yelling type, but I was stern. The lady who happened to be wiping down the door 3 feet from me (bear in mind, this is a tiny hotel) asked me what happened. I basically told her in a couple of sentences about Luigi telling us to come back in one hour to use the bathroom. She gently asked me not to be annoyed and told us that she had already cleaned it, but just to give it one minute to dry and we can use it. The "one minute to dry" was to give face to Luigi, because everything in the bathroom was bone dry. One could see Luigi fuming and pouty over something so minor. The lady made it a point to tell me that she's been cleaning at this hotel for over 20 years and Luigi is not a bad person. I'm sure he's not. Petty is what we'd call someone like that. The worst is that, he's the front liner of a hotel. A guest who had checked out an hour earlier still deserves some semblance of customer service. Using basic facilities shouldn't be an issue. There is just no excuse for such poor behaviour, especially in the hospitality business. Moving on.... The room was at best ok for the price we paid which included a broken shower door. Every time we tried to slide it shut, the door would come off the track. There is no shelf in the shower for soap & shampoo or even a soap dish, so be prepared to use the floor. Water pressure was adequate. The location is conveniently close to the Seraglio train station. Here's something to take with a grain of salt, our taxi driver told us that this is a very rough neighbourhood and to be extra vigilant at night. We didn't feel threatened at any given time but we also never travelled alone. Can't pay me enough to stay here again, and I don't recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTELTOSCANA, Direttore at Hotel Toscana
Responded 3 Sep 2016
Dear Tashi, You wrote so many lies and insults!!!! In our staff there is not reception operator with the name "Luigi" and there is not cleaners operator working at the hotel for 20 years. Probably you've misunderstood the ideas. Maybe you've exchanged hotels you've visited. Please do more attention when you write, because what you said does not concern us !!!!!!! The Canadian people is wonderful ......... but a good person does not write these nasty lies !!!!!! Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catherine F wrote a review May 2016
63 contributions13 helpful votes
The best part about the Hotel is the location and the easy access to the train station. The room was clean and the beds were fairly comfortable. It was little noisy but sleeping with earplugs did the trick. For the price we paid it is a very good deal. The only thing I did not care about was the selection at breakfast although the coffee was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Carl M wrote a review Jul 2015
Baldock, United Kingdom52 contributions9 helpful votes
I stayed in room 111 (non-smoking) for 5 nights costing €225 for a conference nearby. The room was basic but clean, with a comfy single bed, bedside table, writing desk with TV, wardrobe and chair. The window overlooked a terrace and included double glazing, shutters and curtains. You can block out all the light if you wish! There is an en-suite bathroom with shower, sink, toilet and bidet - everything you need. The room was serviced every day too with fresh towels. All in all a good room if you just need the basics. Staff were very friendly and sorted out any problems I had. The hotel has complimentary WiFi and is reasonably fast. The breakfast is rather basic so I didn't take it up after the first morning there. It's much nicer to take an early walk into the town and get your own breakfast - fresh coffee and pastries are much better! It's located about a 5 minute walk from the Prato Porta Al Serraglio train station (1 stop after Prato Centrale if you're travelling from Florence). A short 5 minute walk takes you to the center of Prato which is really handy. One thing I would mention is that some power adaptors may not work in this hotel! Ones with 'fat' double pins don't seem to fit into the hotel power sockets. However, they have adapters that can be lent out which is handy.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessio B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Toscana
Responded 5 Aug 2015
Dear cient, thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to the next time will be in Prato! Greetings
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shirakawa-Emma wrote a review Jul 2015
47 contributions23 helpful votes
We stayed in Prato instead of paying triple to stay in Florence. Hotel Toscana was perfect for us. It's super close to Prato PS station where regular trains run to Florence. The room was very clean and comfy. The bathroom was recently remodeled, so it's nice. Breakfast was coffee, juice, yogurt, bread, cheese and ham. The staff spoke fair English and were very helpful. There is also a pizza/kebab shop right next door for 11pm snacks when you return from sightseeing. I'd stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessio B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Toscana
Responded 5 Aug 2015
Dear cient, thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to the next time will be in Prato! Greetings
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
so3003 wrote a review May 2015
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom1347 contributions255 helpful votes
+1
I stayed a few nights with work colleagues while attending a conference at Monash University in Prato. The hotel is very basic - see photos - but staff are very friendly and try their best to make you feel welcome. It has a great location right next to the train station (Prato Seraglio, not Prato Centrale) and it's a few minutes walk to the main squares, Monash University etc. The bed was small but reasonably comfortable. Sleeping was difficult as it was warm and the airconditioning did not work. Opening the window allowed lots of insects in (as there was no insect netting) resulting in lots of bites. The walls were thin meaning there was noise whenever people walked past or were talking in a nearby room. No tea/coffee and no iron/ironing board. Despite this the rooms were clean. Free wifi worked very well throughout the building. Breakfast was really basic - prepacked bread / croissants and we preferred to eat out. This hotel was a bit too basic for my liking but it provides an inexpensive base in Prato if that's what you're looking for.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alessio B, Responsabile reception at Hotel Toscana
Responded 5 Aug 2015
Dear cient, thank you for having stayed with us and look forward to the next time will be in Prato! Greetings
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joy C wrote a review Nov 2014
Perth, Western Australia, Australia21 contributions11 helpful votes
The hotel is 3 minutes walk from the railway station which we used to go to Firenze - about 20 minutes away by train. Prato has a lively piazza with free concerts and a festival on 8 September where medieval costumes are worn. The service at the hotel was grudging, and breakfast consisted of prepackaged cakes and espresso coffee, so we found the local market (well worth a visit) and bought our own fruit. Our room had a musty smell but was clean, and was serviced each day. The cost was a winner though.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Buy your train tickets from newsagents or bars. They're pretty cheap and the trains are...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from HOTELTOSCANA, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Toscana
Responded 6 Nov 2014
Dear guest, allow me to thank you for taking the time on posting this feedback. We are constantly finding new ways to improve ourselves and we gladly accept any feedback that will allow us to do so. I'd like to extend my apology and assure you that after looking in to this personally I will contact you in order to better understand what happened. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our genuine hospitality.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$63 - US$74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of PratoPrato
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL TOSCANA: See 17 Reviews, Price Comparison and 25 Photos (Prato, Tuscany) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Toscana
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Toscana?
Nearby attractions include Duomo di Prato (0.4 km), Museo dell'Opera dell Duomo (0.4 km), and Piazza del Duomo (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Toscana?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Toscana?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Toscana?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Toscana?
Conveniently located restaurants include Osteria Aroma di Vino, Il Conto della Bistecca, and Soldano in Duomo.
Is Hotel Toscana located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Prato.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Toscana?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Toscana?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palazzo Datini (4.2 km), Chiesa di San Francesco (0.7 km), and Sant'Agostino Church (0.2 km).