We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 659: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Booked thru Citalia and everything went very smooth, particularly loved the Mercedes cars for the private transfers. The hotel is as described and is very grand, I particularly like character in a building and this had it in buckets, some people like everything to be modern and plastic and "2012", I can put up with a few cracked tiles etc...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dawn W
palmiro58, General Manager at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel We would like to thank you for your comments Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand Best Wishes

London
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We have just had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel Royal. The location is perfect with everything being perfectly positioned, such as the pool and the bar, and the feel of the hotel is one of warmth and luxury. Our suite was immaculate and the standard remained as such throughout the week, and the view was stunning. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KsCSaB
palmiro58, General Manager at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest. What a lovely review! Our aim is to please our clients and we would like to thank you for your feedback. When we receive comments such as these, we understand that we are going in the right direction. Thank you once again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Hotel Royal. Kind regards

Melbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal for 1 week from 1st-8th September and it was one of the most beautiful hotels that we have stayed in. You can appreciate the reason for it being called, 'Grand' with wonderful staircases and chandeliers on the different levels with extra wide corridors. Our Room was a 'front facing' sea view room (416),...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ColinBMelbourne
palmiro58, General Manager at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your very kind review. We always appreciate feedback as our customers’ comments are greatly valued. We continually work hard to achieve high standards to provide an individual service to each and every guest. The staff aim to help and advise clients, making recommendations and suggestions. We are pleased you had a relaxing and...

heerlen
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The tittle is saying every thing. Of course nothing is perfect but one must be extremely critical to have a remark of importance about the hotel. In case there should be a remark the friendly staff will wiped it out directly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bloksimon
palmiro58, General Manager at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Loyal Guest, thanks very much for your feed back. We are glad that you anjoy again your holidays with us. See you next year Kind Regards

Luxembourg
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We have just returned from our stay in Viareggio. Before the trip we read many reviews about the hotel and didn't really know what to expect as many people were complaining about outdated rooms /furniture or tiles around the pool that need replacing etc My conclusion is: Ok, the hotel is not cheap and for that money you could expect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ikkiLuxembourg
palmiro58, Direttore generale at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Grand Hotel Royal. All clients’ comments, either positive or negative, are important to improve the quality of our hotel. We are strongly customer orientated. We do not only take into consideration the quality but also the professionalism of the staff...

Birmingham
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Hi, visited the Grand Hotel, Viareggio, Tuscany, in July. Whilst the hotel is grand from the outside and at first glance, it needs some tender loving care to restore it back to its original glory. It is set opposite the beach and we were fortunate to have a sea view. Some people comment about noise from the road, however we...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank BNBBailey
palmiro58, General Manager at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to respond to your review by firstly thanking you for choosing the Grand Hotel Royal in Viareggio for your holiday and taking the time to write such a long review. Everyone is free to express personal opinion and please rest assured that we will endeavour to do better in the future. I'm sorry you didn't...

Lancs
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just returned from this place yesterday, it is the best place I have stayed in. Every detail was attended to (even warm milk in the morning coffee jug). Jacuzzi great, tasteful pool decs including hammocks in the gardens and even birds in a cage!! The private beach gave a feeling of class and I personally thought that the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NorthernerLancs
palmiro58, General Manager at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel We would like to thank you for your comments Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand Best Wishes P.s. I have taken good note about your suggestion to give free bike to the guest.....

leicestershire
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Our family enjoyed a great holiday in the middle of July. We were initially disappointed with the room as both rooms looked over a roof top and air conditioning unit but after a day we were ok. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, food was great. Travelled to Lucca & Pisa by the local train, the station only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kemcho123
palmiro58, General Manager at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel We would like to thank you for your comments Hope to welcome you soon at the Grand, and i promise for your next holidays here new sunbeds in to the swimming pool!! Best Wishes

Germany
Reviewed 5 September 2012

For fifteen years our familiy has been celebrating its summerholday in Grand Hotel Royal. And it is the best place ever for a truely relaxed Italian beach holiday. An amazin historical building with private park that oozes class and and history combined with a superfriendly staff. Feels like a home away from home.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sprezzaturo
palmiro58, General Manager at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind rewiew. We are glad that you and your family are loyal guest of the Grand. See you next year Kind regards

Reviewed 4 September 2012

I visited this hotel with my parents over 40 years ago and I have been a regular visitor ever since. For the past two years my wife and I have travelled from New Zealand in August to holiday for two marvellous weeks and each time the long journey has been well worth it. Signor Patruno and his staff do a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark T
palmiro58, General Manager at BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you soo much! It is lovely to receive a rewiew from a very far country like New Zeland !! Looking forward to welcome you again next year Kind regards

708 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (527)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (139)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
View from Room (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (185)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (148)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Puccini Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room with Sea View (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Viareggio hotels
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel Principe di Piemonte
0.5 km away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#2 of 53 in Viareggio
470 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Residence Esplanade
Hotel Residence Esplanade
#6 of 53 in Viareggio
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sina Astor
Sina Astor
#11 of 53 in Viareggio
445 reviews
0.3 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 53 in Viareggio
255 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Katy
Hotel Katy
#4 of 53 in Viareggio
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal
BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal

Address: Viale Giosue Carducci 44, 55049 Viareggio, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Viareggio
Price Range: $124 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Viareggio
Viareggio Best Western
Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio
BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal Viareggio, Tuscany
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Viareggio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Family Hotel in Viareggio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Viareggio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from BW Premier Collection Grand Hotel Royal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with sea view and balcony extra cost and a little noisier”
 of 5 bubbles sandrasG7385XF, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the front can be noisy on weekends due to overlooking the promenade”
 of 5 bubbles 251ruthr, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea view at the front”
 of 5 bubbles derekw983, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“This is difficult because we did not see any other rooms, none had a proper balcony. We did suffer from noise during the night but never managed to ascertain where it came from.( we were at the back of the hotel)”
 of 5 bubbles bernardc485, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a sea view and balcony on the third or fourth floor”
 of 5 bubbles JulieL1958, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay