We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Central African Wilderness Safaris; Chelinda Camp

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nyika National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Central African Wilderness Safaris; Chelinda Camp
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 15: English reviews
Start your review of Central African Wilderness Safaris; Chelinda Camp
 Click to rate
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Throughout my stay at Chelinda Camp I was continuously questioning whether it was a dream or reality. From fly fishing for rainbow trout whilst surrounded by Zebra, Eland and (swimming) Roan Antelope to sundowners amongst clouds, blue skies and lightening shows (all at the same time). If you like the Scottish Highlands, you will love Nyika. It has the same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug D
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris; Chelinda Camp, responded to this review

Dear Doug D, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Chelinda Camp. We are really pleased to hear that your time at the camp was enjoyable and we are delighted that all key aspects of our offering were to your liking. We are also happy to hear that you had a fun and exciting safari experience on the...

Shropshire
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We looked to visit the Nyika Park and sent an email to Central African Wilderness Safari's to get a quotation. They seemed to be very expensive, they even quoted $650 to collect us from Nkhata Bay so we quickly gave up on the idea (perhaps someone got their decimal point in the wrong place). I then spotted a company called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireOldfart
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris; Chelinda Camp, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here and share your feedback with us. Central African Wilderness Safaris does operate Chelinda Camp and Lodge in Nyika National Park and we try to keep our pricing as fair as possible and deliver as much value to our clients as we can. Our full board and self-catering...

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

A little taste of Scotland in the heart of Africa, the vast wilderness of the Nyika plateau is simply beautiful; Chelinda camp is the only place to stay in the middle of the park and it is superb in every way. Tucked away beside a pine plantation and a small reservoir, you'd be forgiven for thinking this was Scotland. From...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris; Chelinda Camp, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us, we are really delighted that you had a memorable stay on the plateau and would like to thank you for this beautiful review. Yes, the montane grasslands of Nyika are often reminiscent of the Scottish highlands and the plateau's unique landscapes and scenery are completely unique to the...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We loved our stay here. The drive from Rumphi was really uncomfortable (worst roads we've seen in Malawi easily) but once we arrived and saw the blazing fire 🔥 in the chalet, it was all worth it! Our chefs (who also kept the fires going) were really good. We especially enjoyed the freshly baked bread 🍞 each day. The scenery...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire-Lise H
Marketing M, Team at Central African Wilderness Safaris; Chelinda Camp, responded to this review

Dear Claire-Lise, Thank you for your review of Chelinda Camp. The road can be difficult to navigate to the plateau, which is why we always recommend travelling in a 4x4 vehicle. We're so glad that you felt the journey was worth it though and are delighted to hear that you chalet and dining options were to your liking. We try...

Antwerp
Reviewed 9 April 2016

You'll find a lot of friendliness and warm welcomes in Malawi, but the Chelinda staff puts it to a next level. The camp site is quite far from the main lodge, and you can consider this as good and bad. It's good because the camp is surrounded by beautiful and peaceful nature, it's not so good because you have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristof79
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris; Chelinda Camp, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review. I'm really pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience at Chelinda and that the staff looked after you so well. The team pride themselves on providing excellent service so I will pass on your kind words to them. Apologies the wifi was so slow, however due to the remote location of the...

South Africa
Reviewed 20 November 2015

Friendly staff and good food. Loved the fireplaces in the rooms and great morning walk. The evening game drive was too cold for me. It does feel as if you are somewhere in Europe. Wonderful sunset with antelope on the rolling hills. It is very important to realize the change in seasons at Chelinda: Jan & Feb-can rain all day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariJacobs
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris; Chelinda Camp, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review of Chelinda camp. That's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I agree that at times the landscape on the Nyika Plateau definitely feels as if you aren't in Africa! You're right about the differences in the seasons, we try to advise all our guests about the correct clothing and equipment to...

Weert, The Netherlands
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We stayed at Chelinda Camp for 3 nights during our trip in Malawi and we had a wonderful time. we had chosen the 'self-catering' option, so we brought all the stuff we needed. In the cottage we were welcomed by Dominic who took excellent care of us during the days we stayed at Chelinda. He appeared to be a wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A3ana63
Marketing M, Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris; Chelinda Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm so pleased to hear that you had a positive experience at Chelinda Camp. I will pass on your kind words to Dominic and White as they take a great deal of pride in providing excellent customer care for all of our guests. I agree that the incredible beauty of...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Positives - beautiful national park, safari with a difference, entirely unspoilt landscape, like Scotland hundreds of years ago. Staff at the camp were very accommodating, exceptionally friendly in a lovely Malawian way. The food and service after arrival were excellent and the open fire in the lodge was lovely. Negatives - we were not informed before departure about the horrendous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 983rossc
Marketing M, Managing Director at Central African Wilderness Safaris; Chelinda Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff, food and accommodation, however it is unfortunate that the condition of the road leading to Chelinda Camp, has led to the Camp itself being given such a poor rating. Regrettably we have no responsibility for the upkeep of the road as it is a national road...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015

My friends and I stayed at this lodge in stunning Nyika park. The lodge staff are extremely helpful and the facilities are great for self catering, and Moses, who was staffing our lodge, would have cooked the food we bought with us if required. We enjoyed several game drives enjoying the scenery and wildlife, lots of antelope and zebra, great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice H
Marketing M, Marketing Manager at Central African Wilderness Safaris; Chelinda Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Chelinda Lodge. Richard and the CAWS team.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Chelinda Lodge is a nice place, but for more than $200USD/night, definitely not worth the money. The camping costs $10 USD/night, but the campground is 2km away from the restaurant and reception area, and about 5km away from the lodges. Facilities at the campground area are basic, but the showers work and sometimes (when the boiler is heated) there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jon h
Marketing M, Managing Director at Central African Wilderness Safaris; Chelinda Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor, although much of what you mention seems to stand in contrast to what many previous reviewers have stated. All guests who stay at Chelinda Lodge ( note we have a lodge , a camp, and a campground) are contacted to ask how they...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyika National Park
0.0 km away
Kaya Mawa
Kaya Mawa
#1 of 1 in Likoma Island
178 reviews
0.0 km away
Ngala Beach Lodge
Ngala Beach Lodge
#2 of 7 in Nkhata Bay
82 reviews
0.0 km away
Njaya Lodge
Njaya Lodge
#2 of 2 in Nkhata Bay
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chelinda Camp overlooks a crystal-clear dam with views out onto the open grasslands of the High Nyika Plateau. Guests here take meals in the nearby main area, which has a large dining, bar and lounge area complete with comfortable furnishings and an inviting fireplace. From a game viewing perspective, a variety of animals can be seen, particularly in the famous Nyika Grasslands, which harbour important populations of roan, eland, Crawshay's zebra, southern reedbuck, bushbuck, warthog, spotted hyaena and side-striped jackal. Elephant can be seen at times and even leopard can be seen in the daytime owing to the temperate climate. Chelinda's grasslands are famed for their spectacular orchids as well as the 400 bird species that occur in the Nyika National Park - many with highly restricted distributions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Central African Wilderness Safaris; Chelinda Camp

Address: Nyika National Park, Nyika National Park, Malawi (Formerly Wilderness Safaris Chelinda Camp)
Region: Malawi > Northern Region > Nyika National Park
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Central African Wilderness Safaris; Chelinda Camp staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Windhoek
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Central African Wilderness Safaris; Chelinda Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in cottage nr. 4, which was ok, but maybe for a better view on the dam the other cottages are preferable”
 of 5 bubbles A3ana63, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All chalets at the camp are good. Chalet number 1 is best.”
 of 5 bubbles hiteshdharod, 16 Jan 2015 | Read review
2 of 2