We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chalet Giffre

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samoens
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 72: English reviews
Start your review of Chalet Giffre
 Click to rate
St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent food and service.free wine with meal and good choice of after dinner drinks all included n price.hotel transport available at any time to various ski lifts.ski shop on site with good choice of equipment

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian1906
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

I really struggled with rating this chalet as the service warrants a 5 but this does not reflect the accommodation which is at best a 3. Ollie and Sally could not do enough for us and made us very welcome but they can only really work with what they are given to manage. This place needs some upgrading and attention...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue_W437
Chalet Giffre S, Owner at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

Hi Sue, Thank you very much for your review. We do know there is a noise issue in some of the rooms by the kitchen/dinning area as you said it is an old house and this is something we can not get around very easy. The shower in your room number 4 is actually only 12 weeks old, it was...

Reviewed 12 March 2017

Just back from a great week at Chalet Giffre. Not sure what was best - the food, the company, the service, the location or the helpfulness of all the staff. We had a great time and owe a huge thanks to Olli, Sally and the team for keeping us well fed and for transferring us around the resort even at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
Chalet Giffre S, Owner at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

Hi Alan, Thank you so much for your review I will make sure I pass your comments on to the whole team. Hope to have you stay again some time. All the best Tina and all at Chalet Giffre.

Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Lovely comfortable place with great staff...easy accommodation, very good food, ski hire on site and drop-off/pickup when you need.....would recommend! We were a family of 4 that needed to be accommodated from Thursday to Tuesday- when other companies would have only looked at taking a week booking -great place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jskelding2017
Chalet Giffre S, Manager at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

Hi Jason, Was lovely having you and your family stay with us hope you visit us again soon. Oli

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Chalet Giffre is a lovely chalet in the beautiful Traditional village of Samoens. The chalet itself has a lovely dinning and lounge area on the second floor, with the bulk of the bedrooms on ground or first floors below it. The staff cannot do enough to make you feel welcome, are very friendly and will ferry you back and forth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
Chalet Giffre S, Owner at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

Hi Dave Thank you for the review. Glad you, Julie and Evan enjoyed your holiday. I was great to meet you all after Mark had told us all about you. He seemed to like his drink :) Hope to see you again soon. All the best Tina

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Third stay with the Chalet Giffre team and will be back. The chalet is very comfortable and the staff are extremely obliging. It is also great value especially with the transfer from Geneva included. The ski hire is on site and the gear is all decent and up to date. The guys drop you off at the lift of your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
Chalet Giffre S, Owner at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

Hi Chris Thank you so much for the review. So glad you all had a great time. It was lovely to meet you, Matt and Jerry. Hope to see you again soon. All the best Tina

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We have just got back from a fantastic week skiing in Samoens. Being a group of 11 ( adults and children) the holiday was made extremely easy with the service we received, from the collection at the airport, warm welcome from Ollie the manager and the fantastic food from Sally. The chalet was ideal for our needs with the comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerstine H
Chalet Giffre S, Owner at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

Hi Kerstine, So glad you had a great time and that Oli and the team looked after you making your holiday a great one. All the best Tina

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We had booked a week stay costing £1140. This was based on the reviews of the chalet and service. Unfortunately, things sometimes go wrong ..... And for us it did. After using redundancy money to pay for this holiday I lost my passport and only discovered the night before our holiday. This was clearly my fault and despite my best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
Chalet Giffre S, Owner at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Blundell , Firstly we did not take your money you paid on your own accord for a 7 night stay. Due to the fact that YOU lost your passport, advising us on the day of travel. We did offer to extend your week if you could get a replacement passport at no extra cost. As you could not...

Cheshire,
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit to Chalet Giffre and this time we treated our son and girlfriend to a ski holiday. Our 20 year old daughter suddenly found herself with a week's leave and asked to join us and there aren't many places that are happy to accommodate an adult 'child' sharing parents' room at a VERY reasonable price at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose63
Chalet Giffre S, Owner at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

Hi Mags, Thank you so much for your kind words. It was wonderful for me to actually meet you and you lovely this year. Glad you had a great time even though you couldnt ski this year but I am sure you will be zooming down those slops next year. All the best from team Giffre Hugs Tina

Devizes
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We stayed in the lovely rustic chalet giffre the week leading up to Christmas. We were 2 families with 3 teenage children. From the moment that we were collected from the airport we were provided with an extremely friendly quality service. On arrival at the chalet we were poured drinks and sat by the open fire on comfy sofa's and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Becky T
Chalet Giffre S, Manager at Chalet Giffre, responded to this review

so glad you enjoyed your stay it was lovely to meet both families and hope you will come again next year. It was a shame about the snow but good Flaine was just around the corner. All the best Team Giffre

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Samoens hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Neige Et Roc
Hotel Neige Et Roc
#1 of 6 in Samoens
208 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Les Glaciers
Hotel Les Glaciers
#5 of 6 in Samoens
102 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Residence Gai Soleil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Residence CGH La Reine Des Pres
0.4 km away
AEC Vacances - Les Becchi
0.6 km away
Villa Rose
Villa Rose
#3 of 8 in Samoens
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Chalet Giffre

Address: Les Billets, 74340 Samoens, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Grand Massif > Samoens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chalet Giffre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in proximity to the dinning and lounge area can be a little noisy”
650daves, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have better views”
996janw, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Great views”
beckybeebee, 30 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms we saw looked great!”
526zih, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
“middle rooms enjoy a great view of the surrounding mountains”
ashleywN5455GJ, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5