We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star
See the most recent reviews
Showing 41: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2015

My friend, my boyfriend and I just got back from Silver Star and stayed at the Bulldog hotel for 3 nights. The room was nice and warm and the beds were comfy. Also the TV in there was really big and they had WiFi which worked perfectly the whole time. We brought our dog, and I noticed dogs everywhere which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Josie L
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2015

Was able to book same day, great location, friendly welcoming staff, simple, clean rooms. Love the Dutch Aussi Canadian fusion food in the restaurant. Bulldog burger with peanut mushroom sauce and emantaler cheese was to die for after putting in a serious nordic ski at Silver Star -Sovereign Lakes.

Helpful?
Thank Georgina P
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2015 via mobile

I was most impressed with the digs here. It was cosy, it was comfortable, the rooms were large and I've never seen such a huuuge showerhead (and it looked new so it worked daymn fine). It's run by backpacking workers (you know the early 20's wanting overseas work) - it's a holiday place - so we were lucky enough to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicola J
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2015

PROS: 1. Great location close to restaurants, market, ticket booths, ski school, chair lift. Within walking distance of Tube Town & skating pond. 2.Excellent WiFi. Router located in room, so strong signal and bandwidth (15Mbps - yes we speed checked it!) sufficient for video chat. 3. Room slightly larger than average and accommodated 2 adults, 2 older teens, and all... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank canuck2s
Vernon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This was the only place you could book for one night at Silver Star. Rooms were clean, WiFi worked, showers hot, beds comfy. Can't wait until they get the restaurant open as it is the only place to get a decent breakfast at the star. Hot tub was hot too:)

Helpful?
1 Thank jasond_71
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived at 2pm, was aware of check in time, were allowed into our unit # 31. A big shock with repairs to hotel, were a bit shocked to find workplace in full swing. Unit very adequate for our needs. Great beds, lots of hot water, good size kitchen and lounge. Staff looked after our needs at all times. Listened to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Don R
Ferndale, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

If you're looking to stay someplace cheap at SilverStar, pay a bit more and avoid this place like the plague. We just got back and had the following issues: 1) Pubic hair in bathtub upon checkin 2) hotel under renovation, they never let us know this when we were booking reservation 3) WiFi not working for half the trip 4)... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank b0rn2run74
BCflyer13, General Manager at The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback however it is unfortunate your, well, unfortunate comments have reached this public forum rather than discussing your concerns here at the hotel with me personally, but we are in the 21st Century, and nothing can be done about that! So, here we go. I see you booked through the Silver Star Resort's Central... More 

Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Let me start off by saying this isn't a fancy hotel or ski chalet. It's quaint and cute and very functional. We had the one bedroom with alcove booked but due to flooding they put us up into two separate rooms. They bent over backwards trying to accommodate us and that was greatly appreciated. This is our second time staying... More 

Helpful?
Thank jokelta
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Awesome location, great ambiance and dedicated staff. While it is not the flashiest hotel it makes up for it with its dedication to customer service and the comfort of its customers. It's unique decor is truly original and the value is amazing, i highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Helpful?
Thank jeustache
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We arrived in Vernon on the long weekend and were just looking for a super cheap motel to lay our heads. Lady at the Visitor Information center said the Bulldog had rooms on that night for $60, and it sounded intriguing. I absolutely loved the atmosphere, like a true mountain resort, with things to do and restaurants and shops. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly D

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
2:29
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
2:29
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Star
17.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Vernon
29.8 km away
Sparkling Hill Resort
0.3 km away
The Pinnacles Suite Hotel
The Pinnacles Suite Hotel
#1 of 5 in Silver Star
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Vance Creek Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 km away
FireLight Lodge
FireLight Lodge
#4 of 5 in Silver Star
47 reviews
0.2 km away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Silver Star
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bulldog™ Hotel is a cozy slope side lodge located in the Victorian-inspired village of Silver Star. The truly unique Bulldog Hotel reflects the colorful theme of the village concept and offers a warm and inviting atmosphere perfect for every kind of mountain retreat. We have excellent chair lift access, a Shared Hot tub and Ski/bike storage facility. All hotel rooms have are equipped with: Sony LCD 26" Cable TV, Vanity Kit by “Environmentally Sensitive Amenities”, free High speed wireless internet access, Mini Fridge & Tea and Coffee facility and complimentary continental breakfast. Pets stay free! Featuring a full-service restaurant, we offer an open patio and the largest covered Patio Lounge on the mountain. The Bulldog’s Grand Cafe is an extension of The Bulldog™ Amsterdam. Many parts of the interior have been brought over from Holland to authenticate The Bulldog™ feeling. Featuring rock fireplaces and leather sofas, the Grand Cafe is open daily. A variety of menu items includes Dutch, Thai, Indonesian, and West Coast specialties. Join us at DeVine Cellar, our new and exclusive wine and tapas bar! Tucked down in the lower level of The Bulldog™ Hotel. Our guests receive a 10% discount on all The Bulldog Grand Cafe and DeVine Cellar have to offer. (This includes food, non-alcoholic beverages) ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star

Address: 142 Main Street, Silver Star, British Columbia V1B 3M1, Canada (Formerly Putnam Station Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Silver Star
Price Range: $159 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bulldog Hotel Silver Star staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No elevator, to second floor room, which was no problem for us, but maybe for others schlepping lots of ski gear.”
 of 5 bubbles GeorginaP641, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Do not select any rooms and stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles b0rn2run74, 14 Jan 2014 | Read review
“If you have kids, the room with the bunkbeds works well. It has a twin on the top and a double on the bottom plus a queen sized bed for you.”
 of 5 bubbles jokelta, 7 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Just don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles 901Diss, 2 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Try to arrange for room #31-It's the only room that is 2 bedrooms, living room and a kitchen!”
 of 5 bubbles MAUREENH47, 30 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay