We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bower Old Free Church Manse

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bower
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bower Old Free Church Manse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 19: English reviews
Bottom of a mountain Scotland
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We were greeted as if friends to this lovely warm guest house. Our room downstairs was beautiful and we loved the comfortable bed, huge tv and log burner. The bathroom is not en suite but just outside the bedroom door, it's to shared and is a good size, we did find it a little cold though. At night the curtains...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie M
Reviewed 16 August 2012

What a lovely B&B! Charming, unique accommodation and surroundings. Warm and helpful owners who were very understanding. The breakfast was great and overall couldn't be faulted. Highly recommended to all, Thanks again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
Nuneaton
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed 2 nights while touring in Scotland. The location of the house was central to Caithness and provided easy access to everything, but tucked away in a very quiet spot. The room was lovely and Chris and family very welcoming. It's a shame that evening meals are no longer available, but Chris had written to us and warned of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulaPearce
Keswick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Well worth the effort to visit this part of the UK lots of great scenery, historic houses and castles. We a lovely room with everything we needed. Our visit in the area was based around staying here and we weren't disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pandahat
Lincoln
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed one night on our way to the Orkneys. The location is certainly off the beaten track and very quiet as we expected. The house is interesting and has obviously been lovingly restored. A quick phone call to Chris soon sorted out the directions and he is a welcoming and chatty host who obviously loves this house. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeechesLincoln
Oldfcmanse, Owner at Bower Old Free Church Manse, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback, we do of course take all responses seriously. We are very sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay, however are also a little disappointed that you at no point raised any of these concerns whilst you were here with us? Had the issues been brought to our attention, we could have either...

Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed here for one night wish it could have been longer. The B and B was fantastic! We stayed in the Winter Suite which has a gorgeous little private lounge downstairs and the bedroom and bathroom upstairs. The room was clean and comfortable and decorated to a high standard. Chris the host made us feel very welcome and at home....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BooBeck
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed two nights at the Old Manse and it was faultless. The room was beautiful and the setting exquisite. Chris, our host was wonderful. He saw to our every need, served a wonderful breakfast, lent us a touring map and gave us lots of tips about places to visit. The room was cosy, and a nice touch was that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Chris and Elizabeth are great host's and Chris has legendary fire lighting skills. The B & B is spotlessly clean and has great facilities and after a long journey the evening meal was particularly welcome and fantastic value for money (don't forget to bring a bottle of wine). The cooked breakfast was great - just right for the crossing over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul3548
Uxbridge, Canada
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We only stayed one night at the Bower Old Free Church Manse, but wished we could have spent longer. Chris and Elizabeth are very friendly hosts and enthusiastic about the B&B they have created through a lot of hard work over a period of the last four years. They have every right to be proud of this place - it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jewlsbaby
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed here for one night before catching the morning ferry to Orkney from nearby Scrabster. From the start the owner, Chris, was a very welcoming and enthusiastic host and nothing was too much trouble. On arrival we were offered a cup of tea and this arrived with yummy shortbread. We chose to have an evening meal at the Manse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hillview11

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
2:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our beautiful Georgian Manse, as featured on BBC Radio Scotland, is situated in the heart of Caithness. This makes it an ideal base for exploring the county. Please google us under 'Caithness History' for more info - Look for 'Historic Highland Accommodation! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bower Old Free Church Manse

Address: Brabsterdorran | Thurso, Bower KW1 4TT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Bower
Price Range: $98 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bower Old Free Church Manse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a steep staircase to the bedroom that might be difficult for people with mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulaPearce, 20 Jul 2012 | Read review
1 of 1