We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alpenhof Murnau

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alpenhof Murnau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 110: English reviews
Start your review of Alpenhof Murnau
 Click to rate
Sao Paulo
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful stay here once again. Very relaxing in a wonderful setting. The room was large with a small balcony with a nice view. The food both breakfast and dinner was excellent as also service. The pool was very pleasant except when there were a lot of noisy children. It is a pity that some parents cannot keep...

Thank peter_glazier
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent six nights again at the Alpenhof and again, we had a wonderful time. The renovations now seem to be over. We had the same room (a suite) as the previous years where we felt very much at home. Service, cleanliness and breakfast were as good as ever so consistency remains a hallmark of this hotel. Still dreaming of...

1Thank MetooAmsterdam
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 3 February 2017

I've been tot his location numerous times and for the view and beautiful surroundings it will always be on top of any ratings. This time however we had an event there , where during the planning we has several hick-ups with a bored and distressed event staff ..which is truly not right gor the price they charge for every little...

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip but I don't know for what they got the five stars. The surroundings are oke for walking. To ski go somewhere else. Breakfast was okay but Dinner was terrible. Price / Quantity but also Quality was lost. Asking for a small breakfast package the evening before to make my airplane, was lost...

1Thank Peter201701
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Was here on business for one week. Didn't have dinner , but had daily breakfast. Talking of which, was superb, great choice of buffet or cooked, good chef on hand to prepare. Massive choice of meats, salmon, cheese, bread, serial, juice, tea and coffee. And an important ting often spoiling an establishment, plant of very friendly staff, through out the...

Thank Martinzero
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 7 January 2017

I did a site inspection for future training events - very nice location, great service, warm welcome, nicely located and in walking distance to the centre, room and breakfast was top! Perfect place for "time out" stay and also for business.

Thank Julchen1807
Hasselt, Belgium
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Used as an overnight stop on our way to the south in August, we stayed at this hotel in a “Deluxe Double room”. The room itself was really beautiful with a very nice view to the garden. The bathroom however let us down. First, there was mold near the bathtub. Second, the drain was full with hair and third, the...

Thank Gandalf62
Marc J, Sales Manager at Alpenhof Murnau, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you for your review. We have made note about your complaints and are sorry about that you did not enjoyed your stay that much. Please be sure about that we will take these complaints serious and are going to discuss all points within the team. Kind regards

washington dc
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Very spacious and comfortable room, lobby area and lounge/bar. I loved the toiletry and good water pressure. Nice swimming pool and simple gym with necessary equipments. Nothing much around so this is a place to come for relaxing time. Staff are friendly and breakfast was great. Good Espresso/coffee machine but not available before 7 am. Unless you have a car,...

Thank bubbleDC
Marc J, Verkaufsleiter at Alpenhof Murnau, responded to this review

Dear bubbleDC, thank you for your great recommendation. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! See you soon! Kind regards, Anna Brandt Convention Sales Manager

Reviewed 29 September 2016

We had driven a long way and had a lovely welcome, the room was lovely and we had room service, the Wiener schnitzel was tasty, with some lovely wine. We swan in the outside pool in the dark with a view of the Alps great!!!! Fabulous breakfast selection, still the best we've had. Thank you to Elisabeth for bring so...

Thank CornwallHunnybun
Marc J, Manager at Alpenhof Murnau, responded to this review

Dear Guests, many thanks for your wonderful feedback. :-) :-) All the best for you and goodbye. Claudia Scheidel Sales and Reservation Manager

Ankara, Turkey
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights when visiting the region on business. Breakfast buffet is very impressive and the restaurant view is the very well looked after hotel grounds. I believe there are old and new blocks. I stayed in the new one and was quite allright. Clean and spacious. Bathroom amenities are great! There are various trekking routes very...

Thank laleluli
Marc J, Verkaufsleiter at Alpenhof Murnau, responded to this review

Dear Laleluli, thank you for your good valuation. Nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us! See you next time! Regards, Anna Brandt Convention Sales Manager

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (92)
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Room/Suite (21)
Hotel & Grounds (18)
View from Room (4)
Dining (4)
Bathroom (5)
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (35)
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Room/Suite (4)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Dining (2)
Other (12)


  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Alpenhof Murnau
Alpenhof Murnau
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hotel, located directly by the Murnau Nature Reserve and not far from the impressive Murnau lakes, with a fantastic view of the nearby Alps, enjoys an incomparable natural setting. Situated between Munich and Garmisch-Partenkirchen, we will take you into a world in which body, mind and spirit find peace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alpenhof Murnau

Address: Ramsachstr. 8, 82418 Murnau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Murnau
Price Range: $241 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alpenhof Murnau 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotel.de, HRS, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpenhof Murnau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alpenhof Murnau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“my room was in the main building. I've seen some of the other rooms and all of them were nice (single with a small bed only!)”
Julchen1807, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms facing the hotel entrance. Pool facing. New Deluxe room.”
KeesE, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are big, but our favourite one are the duplex maisonette suits in the main building.”
maxdedikov, 5 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are great if you love cold, cold showers.”
christinao306, 26 Jun 2015 | Read review
“All rooms have views of the mountains”
GKTravellers, 1 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5