We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wilderness Backpackers

Show Prices
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haast
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 42: English reviews
Start your review of Wilderness Backpackers
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The manager (owner??) is not a happy man. The extremely rude and unprofessional way he dealt with us still upsets me a couple weeks later as I type this. I take a little solace in seeing reviews here that my wife and I are not the only people he's offended, but our experience at this hostel was one of my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimchi14
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

I got there pretty early afternoon and was the first guest there I guess thats why the owner let himself be really rude to me. When I arrived I asked about wifi to which the owner gave a very unfriendly tone that I should read the nearby information and not ask him. I also asked what can I do interesting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gabby12399
Wonju
Reviewed 14 January 2017

My wife and I stayed in a twin room (#1) for a night during peak season. We found the facilities to be adequate, especially the kitchen which was clean and well stocked with utensils, pots and pans etc. Upon our arrival the owner was efficient, informative and pleasant. However, the kitchen is located right beside our room and unfortunately, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AaronWonju
Reviewed 7 January 2017

The staff member on was very unwelcoming. Her attitude was arrogant and very off hand. Bathroom facilities were clean and modern, bunk rooms clean and roomy. The kitchen was lacking . No coffee plungers, no complimentary coffee or tea which is very rare. No sieves or colanders for the many clients cooking noodles! No book, magazine library .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barbara W
Adele E, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback about your experience in our place here in Wilderness Backpackers/Motel Accommodation in Haast NZ. . We are grateful to know that you appreciate the cleanliness of our place. We track you down from our guest but sorry you only paid a backpackers bed that we can only offer is the bunk...

New Zealand
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We don't normally stay in backpacker type places but we had stayed there 10 years ago and there wasn't much else available. It was still a fabulous place! We had our own shower and toilet, lovely huge room with a couch and coffee table. We were provided with a jug and tea and coffee. Lovely clean and tidy, sheets were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
Adele E, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback about your experience in our place here in Wilderness Backpackers/Motel Accommodation in Haast NZ. . We are grateful to know that you liked our amenities, we are always happy to have you again. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay on the West Coast of NZ.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2016

A great place in the middle of nowhere! Complete facilities: wi-fi, toiletries, shared kitchen, clean rooms and bathrooms, stable electricity, parking space etc. They accept cards for payment and a cafe/bar is located nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnebula
Adele E, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback about your experience in our place here in Wilderness Backpackers/Motel Accommodation in Haast NZ. . We are grateful to know that you liked our amenities, we are always happy to have you again. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay on the West Coast of NZ.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 11 November 2016

We had the family room which can sleep 6 pax. It has everuthing to have a comfortable night as we drove all the way from Te Anau. The setting was just right but rather quiet as this was a far away place for a break. The premises is well maintained by just the operator and I wonder how he can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francis Y
Adele E, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments on your recent stay at Wilderness Backpackers/Motel Accommodation. We are looking forward of having you again and will do our best to maintain the cleanliness of the place.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Wilderness Accommodation & Backpackers is a great hostel, we loved the big kitchen and the even bigger patio perfect to unwind during the rainy days. Our host Ollie was super friendly and share loads of advices on what to do and explore in the area. We really loved our stay! Thanks again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin_Laura
Adele E, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback about your recent stay with us at Wilderness Backpackers/Motel Accommodation in Haast NZ. It is fantastic to know that you guys enjoyed your time with us. Thank you also for the great feedback regarding our amenities, we are always happy to hear our guests feedback. I do hope we may...

Balmoral, Australia
Reviewed 4 September 2016

The first thing I thought when I got to Haast is, why do people stay here? There is absolutely nothin except for accomodation and some restaurants and small stores. But the truth is, it is the ony thing inbetween Fox and Wanaka where you can stay if you don't want to drive for a few more hours. Plus there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeuw605
Adele E, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback about your recent stay with us at Wilderness Backpackers/Motel Accommodation in Haast NZ. It is fantastic to know that you guys enjoyed your time with us. Thank you also for the great feedback regarding our amenities, we are always happy to hear our guests feedback. I do hope we may...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

A friend and I took a six week road trip of NZ and wanted to stay a night in haast.. This place was perfect.. Ollie the owner was brilliant in service and knowledge and we enjoyed chatting to him in regards to the locals and surrounding areas.. The room was satisfying with its twin beds and ensuite and a door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leelee009
Adele E, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback about your experience in our place here in Wilderness Backpackers/Motel Accommodation in Haast NZ. . Great that you found Ollie to be friendly and helpful, he is the wonderful owner of the place. We are greatful to know that you liked our amenities, we are always happy to have you again....

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haast hotels
2.6 km away
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
1.9 km away
Haast River TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Aspiring Court Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Bay Road Motel
Bay Road Motel
#2 of 4 in Haast
30 reviews
16.1 km away
Hannah's Homestead
Hannah's Homestead
#3 of 4 in Haast
18 reviews
0.2 km away
Heritage Park Lodge
Heritage Park Lodge
#3 of 3 in Haast
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service

Additional Information about Wilderness Backpackers

Address: Marks Road, Haast, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Haast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wilderness Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 gets a lot of dinning room and kitchen noise in the evening.”
AaronWonju, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“visit during off-peak season to avail of big discounts”
johnnebula, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Have an efficient heater during the cold months”
181francisy, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are round one floor, handy for shower/wc either side of corridor. games room in center, kitchen/diner at reception end. internet on entrance.”
707amandah, 16 Feb 2014 | Read review
4 of 4