We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
08/10/2017 09/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Macdonald Houstoun House

    West Lothian, Uphall EH52 6JS, Scotland
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    08/10/2017 09/10/2017
     3 people are viewing this hotel
    US$93
    US$83
    SAVE US$10
    US$90
    US$89
    Traveller (261)
    Room & Suite (68)
    Dining (24)
    Overview
    • Excellent40%
    • Very good27%
    • Average19%
    • Poor9%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    “houston house” (118 reviews)
    “lovely hotel” (61 reviews)
    “spa break” (22 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast Buffet
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Bar/Lounge
    Fitness centre
    Multilingual Staff
    Pets Allowed
    Spa
    Wheelchair Access
    Business Centre
    Dry Cleaning
    Tennis Court
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    8 Oct9 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$83
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$90
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$89
      View Deal
    View all 47 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (1,485)
    There are newer reviews for Macdonald Houstoun House
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    141 - 145 of 1,465 reviews

    Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

    Booked an executive room for 2 nights from 30/10/2016. The room was fine, although there was no bath and this should've been indicated in the pictures of the room. This was not the issue however. I indicated to reception that I would like my room...More

    2  Thank afzal89
    Response from Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun HouseResponded 7 November 2016

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry you had a disappointing visit and that we fell short of our usual high standards on this occasion. Rest assured I will review with my team. I hope this will not deter...More

    Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

    Well located hotel for access to Livingston or if you want a place between Glasgow and Edinburgh. The rooms where very nice for the price. The issue for me was the food. We ate in the bar rather than the restaurant and the menu was...More

    Thank Martin C
    Response from Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun HouseResponded 7 November 2016

    Dear Martin, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am please you enjoyed your bedroom but I am sorry we came short of our usually high standards in the bar with food and service and please accept my most sincere apologies....More

    Reviewed 31 October 2016

    Had a very pleasant one night stay in Houstoun Ho. it has super grounds and a really nice atmosphere, I had a room in the tower house which was very well equipt but retained its historic features. Superb Breakfast, no need for lunch.

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank daytrippergla
    Response from Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun HouseResponded 7 November 2016

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable visit and loved the charm and facilities of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

    Reviewed 31 October 2016

    Disappointed on quality of food served, venison overcooked, inedible.Breakfast service chaotic until experienced waitress appeared, cooked breakfast was good, tasty and hot. Hotel beautiful, staff welcoming

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Margaret J
    Response from Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun HouseResponded 12 November 2016

    Dear Margaret, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am please you loved the and foudn the staff very welcoming however I sorry your were disappointed with the venison dish. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards

    Reviewed 31 October 2016

    Really beautiful hotel set in stunning grounds. The rooms are beyond comfortable & the service is wonderful. Sarah who checked me in was absolutely wonderful. The bar food is a bit slow however breakfast was stellar. Would definitely recommend.More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Jennie H
    Response from Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun HouseResponded 7 November 2016

    Dear Jennie, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable visit and that you made the most of our facilities. Rest assured I will share with my team and in particular Sarah at reception.. We...More

    Similar hotels
    Premier Inn Livingston (Bathgate) Hotel
    704 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Bathgate
     
    Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
    1,718 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Kirknewton
     
    Premier Inn Livingston (M8, Jct3) Hotel
    579 reviews
    #1 of 4 hotels in Livingston
     
    Best Western Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel
    305 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Whitburn
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    GreenLeadersSilver level
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Room Service
    • Restaurant
    • Free Parking
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Room Service
    • Free Parking
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Laundry Service
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Banquet Room
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Conference Facilities
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Tennis Court
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Heated pool
    • Indoor pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$96 - US$193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 70
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Houstoun House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • Scotland >
    • West Lothian >
    • Uphall
    • Also Known As
    • Macdonald Houstoun House Hotel Livingston ,
    • Macdonald Houstoun Hotel ,
    • Macdonald Houstoun Livingston ,
    • Houston House Hotel
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (261)
    Room & Suite (68)
    Dining (24)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    Hotel & Grounds (184)
    Bathroom (10)
    Nearby
    Best Western Glasgow Livingston Hilcroft Hotel
    305 reviews
    11.59 km away
     
    Premier Inn Livingston (Bathgate) Hotel
    704 reviews
    6.26 km away
     
    Premier Inn Livingston (M8, Jct3) Hotel
    579 reviews
    1.29 km away
     
    Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
    1,718 reviews
    9.56 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Oatridge Hotel
    118 reviews
    .85 km away
    Chenzo's Restaurant
    37 reviews
    .68 km away
    Williamsons Garden Centre & Coffee Shop
    10 reviews
    .44 km away
    Deer Park Beefeater
    422 reviews
    1.28 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Volunteer Arms
    8 reviews
    1.29 km away
    Almond Valley Heritage Centre
    451 reviews
    4.95 km away
    Livingston Designer Outlet
    351 reviews
    4.77 km away
    Niddry Castle Golf Club
    10 reviews
    5.36 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    SummerAllYear9
    26 September 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from holibags2016 | Reviewed this property |
    Sorry I don't know contact hotel direct I would think.
    0
    Votes
    CMc1989
    12 April 2017|
    AnswerShow all 9 answers
    Response from steven f | Reviewed this property |
    no TV in the bar
    0
    Votes
    james w
    28 November 2016|
    Answer
    Response from susan r | Reviewed this property |
    I'm sorry I just saw this message. you'd best phone them I'm not a whiskey drinker I'm afraid.
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "This is truly a hidden gem!"
    Read review
    "Request ground floor if have health issues. No lifts"
    Read review
    "Book a room on the ground floor"
    Read review
    "We were a party of five occupying three rooms in different locations. All of the rooms were off the..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing