We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The White Horse Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The White Horse Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The White Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 177: English reviews
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed here with 2 families on a trip to Canterbury. Bedrooms are in dire need of fresh air - there are clear "do not smoke or else" signs in the rooms, but it looks like the extra fee to be paid by those who do would better be used for getting rid of the smell! For this price you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tvdv
Chester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Booked in with 12 other friends on our way to France and were delighted with the friendly service, the beer, food and location. A great little find, slightly off the beaten track but well worth a visit. If you're planning a stop-over on the way to the continent or just touring the Garden of England then give this place a... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChesterRichard
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed here early may .the staff here are really good and very efficient and friendly good food and drink .great breakfast surved by a very nice lady .but the rooms we stayed in need some T. L.C .the beds although comfortable are far to low and the decoration is old and badly done .£85 is to high for that standard... More 

Helpful?
Thank paul c
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. We are aware that some rooms require some TLC and we do have a program of working on this when time allows. The room you stayed in unfortunately requires the most work so apologies for that. And is the only room with a low bed. Thanks again for your feedback More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2015 via mobile

This is one of those little hidden gems that quite often get missed these days Great food, great beer, great old world charm full of character and great company! If you're looking for a one stop British old world charm stop then you don't need to look any further. They do it all.

Helpful?
Thank Kris H
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for kind words! More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2015

I stayed for one night as a sole female traveler. Checking in was straight forward and I stayed in room 9, a well presented double room. I headed down to have some food and ordered the 'Spicy falafal and spinach burger'. What came out was anything but spicy! Very bland, reheated frozen veggie burger in a cheap bun. Very disappointing.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Partyfairy
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. The burger is mildly spiced and we use brioche buns, not burger buns, but this was sadly not to your taste. I am very sorry he cups were dirty, there is no excuse for that and staff will be spoken to. The shower button and head is fixed. We offer an evening checkout to prevent people... More 

Kingswinford
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

Two of us stopped here again for buisness purposes. Amazing food as always. Very friendly and attentive staff and bedrooms comfotable. Breakfast is always my favourite when we stop here. Fair prices too. Couldnt ask for any more.

Helpful?
Thank JakeOrangeST
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your very kind comments! More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2015

A number of small things that could have been better, added up to an average stay. My main complaints were:- Food only served until 7.30 on a Sunday evening, although I did hear the Landlord say "We are a hotel". Otherwise the food was of a good standard. we enjoyed our dinner on the first night, even though the restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank geoff2198
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry you felt '2nd class' at breakfast. We do not normally allocate tables at breakfast, but did on this occasion as we had several groups who were sitting together so we wanted to make sure they were directed to the right table. I am not sure why your room was left out but this... More 

Billericay
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We recently had a two night stay in Room 3 at the White Horse and found the place to be clean and relatively comfortable. However, it has to said that our room looked like it had had a hard life, with various fixtures and fittings either loose or broken. The bed was also on the very soft side which certainly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. There is now a new mattress. On looking at the room we are not to sure what fixtures and fittings are loose or broken. It would have been useful if we could have been told when you checked out so we could remedy the situation. The room is next on the list to be decorated.... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Consider trying a nearby Premier Inn as your first choice before coming here. Bedroom 3; whilst the room was a good size with a desk, good sized wardrobe with draws and an acceptable bathroom the overall experience was ruined by a very small / short double bed with a mattress that Chaucer probably slept on whilst visiting Canterbury in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 3322MJS
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

thanks for your review. A new mattress has been ordered. This is a standard double bed, not a small double bed but very soon we will be upgrading this room to a kingsize double. We have never, ever served tinned mushrooms, and never, ever will serve tinned mushrooms. Our mushrooms are fresh and cooked in butter unlike many breakfasts where... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2015

We arrived at the White Horse yesterday afternoon for a one night stay with evening meal & breakfast. Immediately we were met by friendly and professional staff. The room was quaint, clean and comfortable. The atmosphere in the bar in the evening was warm and friendly. We were made very welcome in the restaurant and the 3 course meal was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter130391
RamsgateOrange, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words! More 

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boughton-under-Blean
5.8 km away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
337 reviews
7.0 km away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
6.3 km away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
650 reviews
12.7 km away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
12.6 km away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Horse in Boughton-under-Blean is a historic inn and restaurant with more than its fair share to offer guests. Not only is this ancient coaching inn mentioned in Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales, but its location in a glorious village surrounded by hop field lined walks to Mount Ephraim Gardens and the site of The Peasant’s Last Revolt recommend this excellent stop before one even ventures inside. As you may well hope, The White Horse is beautifully traditional inside, with roaring log fires, low-beamed ceilings and a cosy, intimate feel. Meanwhile, outside beautiful landscaping has turned a pleasant pub garden in to an Englishman’s dream. Our locally sourced British food has elevated The White Horse to gastropub levels with our chefs combination of creativity and talent, providing guests with the opportunity to enjoy high level food in the most comfortable of atmospheres. Sunday lunches take place weekly and jazz suppers are a regular occasion featuring award-winning vocalist Christine Tobin. Located in a village but within easy reach of the channel crossings and many local attractions such as Canterbury Cathedral, Dover and Leeds Castle, golf courses, beaches, nature reserves and zoo's, the White Horse is an ideal place to stay to explore the wonderful Kent countryside. And if walking, there are many stunning walking routes on our doorstep. We welcome walkers, cyclists, dogs and families! Our 13 bedrooms are beautiful with everything you would expect from a modern hotel, including free wi-fi, extensive parking, disabled access, restaurant and bar. The combination of the pub’s history and first-class service guarantees return visits. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: 246 The Street, Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham ME13 9AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham > Boughton-under-Blean
Price Range: $122 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Boughton-Under-Blean
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid a room with anyone over the top.”
 of 5 bubbles David8295, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Breakfast served later than usual so may be an issue for business travellers”
 of 5 bubbles 759robinh, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms I would say either back onto the car park or onto the front street. Not sure which would be quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles Pigdigger, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“go to a canterbury b & b: maybe "castle house" !!!”
 of 5 bubbles klepkens, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“No good rooms in our opinion”
 of 5 bubbles 988AnnM, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay