We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Cana Fistula Entre Tamarindo y Santa Cruz, Cañafístula, Tamarindo 50309 Costa Rica
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (326)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (33)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located in the north Pacific side of Costa Rica, in the province of Guanacaste. A 10 min drive to Tamarindo Beach Resort, 5 min from the Hacienda Pinilla golf course facilities and only 15 min from world-class surf spots such as Avellanas Beach, Playa Negra and Playa Grande. El Sabanero is perfectly located close to all exciting activities. Staying at El Sabanero, one experiences total tranquility, the pure nature, the exotic local animals such as howling monkeys, iguanas, exotic butterflies, parrots & much more, plus the fantastic view of the area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Diving
Kids pool
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Massage
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Bottled water
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German
309Reviews20Q+A42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 231
  • 45
  • 16
  • 13
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Andrew K wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I never write reviews but this place has earned every accolade and more. The resort is built like it came from a fairy tale story but it's the people that made my stay remarkable. Harold (manager) was always available and choreographed all of my transportation and excursion perfectly. He knew exactly who was picking me up and when I'll arrive. Erin and Hector (yoga instructors) guided me through a well earned savasana every morning and night. Donald and Hazel (chefs) whipped up the most sumptuous meals every day and night. The other guests that stayed should get it's own 10 starred review. I'd write their names but I don't want to abash them (hi guys!). It's no wonder why so many people return. I'm a solo male traveler and had concerns upon arriving. My agitation quickly dissipated when I was greeted by warm smiles from the people and the pets. I felt comfortable, safe and secure by their hands and hearts. No, you don't need to know Spanish or bring a 60L luggage. Just show up with your body and El Sabanero will take care of the rest. Cliche, but Pura Vida!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms have powerful A/C units and the bedding is changed daily.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Harold Schneidergruber, General Manager at El Sabanero Eco lodge
Responded 4 Sep 2022
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. it was a pleasure having you here and we hope you will come back again in the future. Thank you! Harold
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heather M wrote a review Apr 2022
8 contributions1 helpful vote
I went as a female solo traveler and had an amazing experience here. Many guests come alone and I met so many new friends in this welcoming environment. It is very relaxing and the compound feels nicely set apart up on a hill with a gorgeous view. I loved that meals are served family style at one big long table. The food was excellent - I am vegan and had no trouble getting many delicious meals. There is some repetition to the meals but overall I was very impressed with the flavors and options. It was easy to get around. The shuttles are set up for you by the owners and you can use Uber as well. Expect 1:15 drive to and from Liberia airport. There are several yoga instructors, so you will get a variety of styles during your stay. They provide yoga mats, but they are low quality ones and often dirty. Bring your own if that matters to you. Bolsters and blocks and straps are all provided. As a heads up, this IS an eco lodge in Costa Rica, not a 5 star hotel. There are bugs and natural elements. The air conditioner is small and mostly works for getting to sleep. The included toiletries are a few packs of shampoo and a bar of soap. It reminded me of a YMCA or summer camp. The cabins all have a nice porch with a hammock. I didn’t see a single mosquito, which surprised me! There are all sorts of critters around, including cats, dogs, bats, frogs, birds, scorpions, howler monkeys, and ants. That being said, I had an amazing time and I would return tomorrow!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
etsinadze wrote a review Apr 2022
Montville, New Jersey3 contributions1 helpful vote
My recent stay at this Eco lodge was actually the fourth time I've been there in the past years. I feel that a week spent in this beautiful place with incredible people is a life changing experience you don't get anywhere else. The owners Kurt and Harold created a place that feels so welcoming from the moment you step inside, you instantly become a part of the yoga family. If you think about having a wonderful yoga classes, eating delicious food and enjoying swimming in the ocean as much as I do, El- Sabanero is a perfect place!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harold Schneidergruber, General Manager at El Sabanero Eco lodge
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Thank you Elena, we always love it when you come to visit us and hope we will see you again soon. Harold
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bonnie wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
I'm so glad I stepped outside my comfort zone to book this solo retreat for myself. I couldn't be happier with all aspects of my stay. The staff was very friendly, food was delicious, my cabin was just what was needed and the yoga was fantastic. I will almost certainly be going back. The like-minded guests become more like a family, even in the short time I was there. It has a rustic charm that is exactly what I needed in order to get away from it all.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harold Schneidergruber, General Manager at El Sabanero Eco lodge
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Thank you very much Bonnie. It was a pleasure having you here and hope to see you again in the future. Harold
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
YogaPixie wrote a review Mar 2022
Chicago, Illinois, United States2 contributions2 helpful votes
El Sabeanero has the greatest potential to be something quite exquisite. The grounds, the bungalows, the pool, yoga shala, and dining room are inviting and their rustic charm made me excited to be staying for my week long yoga retreat. Unfortunately, photos misrepresent what truly existed at my particular stay the week of March 6th. My room was filthy and was never cleaned the entire week. Black curly hair all over the floor, when myself and my roommates are all blonde, gooey soap dispenser that stayed empty for four days despite requests to fill. The shower had dirt and hair on the walls. The shower all around looked like it had not been cleaned in months. Stained sinks. Bath towels were microfiber towels one would use to clean with and they had some kind of hard epoxy or putty stuck on them. Our hammock had a couple holes that made it impossible to use. My bedside lamp was broken. The mini frig had sticky stuff on top and inside. My sheets had stains so I slept on top of my bedding with a blanket I brought from home. The gorgeous pool had most of its rock fallen off. There was no daily chemical attention to it nor was it skimmed. There were many maintenance things that needed attending to. Broken locks on bathroom stalls, exposed wires, outlets that didn't work etc, Dishes were often dirty at mealtime. Regarding meals, every single day the only option for breakfast was eggs with rice and beans, fruit and wonder bread like toast. Rice and beans appeared at every lunch with some lettuce and tomatoes along with some kind of lentil or garbanzo bean dish. Same for dinner but add roasted vegetables in place of the salad option. One night we had tacos which was beans and rice with cheese and the lettuce. Chef Donald was incredibly talented with his savory creations with his lentils and garbanzo beans. What he did create was incredibly delicious but it was simply the same day after day. His talent would have shined brighter if he was given an array of creative foods to work with. Unfortunately he was limited to the rice, beans, lettuce, tomatoes, eggplant, broccoli and potatoes. Kudos to the cream of tomato soup and Tilapia one night. It is dry season so the Yoga Shala of course had a dusty floor. However, it was not just normal dusty. It was actually layered with dirt. My retreat leaders would try and sweep it but it was obviously months of grime built upon these floors. Never did any staff come to clean the shala. My feet were blacker than black after each class and I am standing mostly on a yoga mat ! Speaking of yoga mats, the yoga mats were also quite dirty. Neither wipes or any kind of cleaning supplies were not provided. I brought my own wipes to clean my mat every day and even that did not help because the floor was so incredibly filthy. Bolsters smelled offensive to me and if you slapped your hand upon one, a cloud of dirt arose. I am an outdoor nature lover. I do not mind natural dirt. At the end of the day if I am dirty I know I have enjoyed my day well. However I do mind when something is above and beyond the natural dusty or dirty. These conditions were unsanitary. I felt bad for my retreat leaders because they had no control over this situation. One had stayed at El Sabanero years ago and had a very positive experience thus the rationale for bringing 19 guests here on a retreat. With an increased staff to clean, a maintenance crew to do simple repairs and a slight attitude adjustment in the manager Harold's demeanor, Harold who smoked cigarettes 10 feet away from our dining tables as we ate our meals and he watched TikTok videos. He was also was slightly a curmudgeon when it came to any requests or transport to and from the beach each day, which was supposed to be included with our accommodations and it ended up not being included. It simply would be nice to feel welcomed instead of feeling as though I was a burden. I felt welcomed by my fellow retreat members but not so much by the staff at the lodge. I was a paying guest and I felt there was little concern for the quality of my stay. I would not recommend this place to anyone at this juncture in time. One last side note, money ended up missing from my wallet, the same happened to another retreat attendee. A good pair of binoculars also disappeared one afternoon. I am not accusing anyone at El Sabanero, however it did seem like a coincidence. El Sabanero has great potential. I hope that they will take the time and put the effort into going a little above and beyond for the sake of customer satisfaction. It is fairly basic fixes. My social media photos from my week at El Sabanero have my friends saying how beautiful, my response is the truth of what is behind those photos. Good advice is always, don't judge a book by its cover. I hope these folks at El Sabanero can turn things around! : )
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harold Schneidergruber, General Manager at El Sabanero Eco lodge
Responded 31 Mar 2022
YogaPixie, I am sorry you had a bad time with us but it would have been nice had you advised management about not having your room cleaned. As you mentioned that you requested to have soap dispenser filled could you tell us who you requested this from as it was certainly not anyone that could have done something about it? Just to clear up a few misconceptions. You where part of a group coming to the El Sabanero and although your group leader has included transport for you it was not arranged with us at all as our pricing does not include transport in group pricing only in single pricing when our guests book with us directly. We did however provide free of charge beach transfer for your group when we had empty seats in the van although that was never part of the group offering. Our Chef Donald has discretion on what to buy for Lunch and Dinner so he can buy Fish or Chicken any time but when there is a group of mostly vegetarian or vegan guests he has to stick to what was arranged for the group. I am sorry that I smoked in the reception area and did not realize that it was noticeable to guests as all is open air. I will make sure i go outside in the future. My watching TikTok videos or anything else is of course none of your business as I also have free time some time. As for money missing from your wallet. All rooms have Safes and if you do not use the safe provided then please do not complain if something is missing. Our staff has been with us a long time and time and time again when someone was missing something it turned out later that it was either found again or that money was spent without remembering. As for your Binoculars you said you left them outside the room on your patio where anyone from the street could have come and taken them so please don't try to blame others for your tardiness with your things. Regards Harold
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elisa P wrote a review Feb 2022
Cancun, Mexico12 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I contacted to have information about the Yoga Retreat they offer and they treat me awful. because I was asking information about how to go with my dog. There’s no yoga in a treatment like that. I feel attacked.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harold Schneidergruber, General Manager at El Sabanero Eco lodge
Responded 31 Mar 2022
Hello Elisa, Sorry we advised you not to come as you wanted to come with a dog to a shared room and we could not make another guest accept a roommate with a pet however that is our policy. Regards Harold
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cateo wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions
If you are looking for a safe, beautiful, peaceful and rich experience, this is it. The staff is incredible. The hosts are knowledgeable and so invested in their guests having a perfect stay. If you are a single woman or a yogi group, look no further. This is the spot. Close but not too close Tamarindo and the beach, wonderful food and a view of the hillside that will make you super smile. The private hut rooms are exactly what you see with everything you need. Yes I will be back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Harold Schneidergruber, General Manager at El Sabanero Eco lodge
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Thank you very much for your great review. Hope to see you again in the future. Harold
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mashavoo wrote a review Nov 2021
pickering409 contributions71 helpful votes
+1
I'm actually still here and I will be for quite some time. Don't even look elsewhere..As Michael Jackson said "this is it" Dead serious!!! Nothing compares to the energy and the people that embrace this magnificent lodge. I'm in room 8 and I have already committed to coming back again and I will be taking the same room...I don't wanna be selfish and not tell positive good minded people about this retreat...it's everything a human being with good values morals and respect would love to be apart of! The vibrations here are unbelievable and it's worth every penny. It's top notch in every aspect..so much to conquer here and relish every second that you have...I am truly honored to be in the presence of humble human beings. Come here with an open mind and cosmic vibrations and you won't be sorry...I am going through ban extreme traumatic situation right now..I was giving up on humanity and myself..The energy here has made me think differently...There are actually still decent genuine human beings in the world...Now I don't isolate myself.Thanks to this retreat
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Reichenberger, Owner at El Sabanero Eco lodge
Responded 13 Nov 2021
Thank you for your kind words. Love conquers everything 🙏❤️
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adhi Narto wrote a review Nov 2021
3 contributions
I called the property directly on 3 November ‘21 for booking and was advised to do it online and did just that immediately. I got confirmation via mail on 4 November stating the availability on the said room type and advised me on how to proceed. I replied the same day confirming the same. After another follow up mail, on 6 November, I was surprised that I can’t get the property I was confirmed for for the reason that some else has made the booking on some days of my booking duration. This is definitely a disappointment ! And I am left with very limited options since the other resorts I was aiming also we’re fully booked since I stopped communicating with them. Just be careful in doing on line booking with this property because you never know that everytime they can change their statement !
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kurt Reichenberger, Owner at El Sabanero Eco lodge
Responded 29 Dec 2021
Dear Adhinarto, we checked all logs and emails and had no communication with "Adhinarto". Our rooms did get sold out pretty fast and sometimes if people wait a day to confirm it might be too late. If you did get a confirmation as you stated then I ask you to display it here. Once someone received a confirmation from us (not from a booking site) than we honor that 100%. I am sorry for your troubles but something in your story just doesn't add up.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie J wrote a review Oct 2021
5 contributions
El Sabanero!!! My second time experiencing the magic, serenity, adventure and healing that this amazing yoga retreat and people provide! The amazing yoga teachers, Kurt, Harold, Fernando, Christian, Wilbur and all the staff are SUCH beautiful souls that are always in tuned with exactly what you need and when you need it. So many great experiences that were so profound and life changing! My home away from home! <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS RETREAT! You will be forever changed and rejuvenated!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
el sabanero eco hotel tamarindo, el sabanero ecolodge tamarindo, el sabanero ecolodge hotel tamarindo
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacasteTamarindoCañafístula
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EL SABANERO ECO LODGE: UPDATED 2022 B&B Reviews, Price Comparison and 394 Photos (Cañafístula, Costa Rica) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about El Sabanero Eco lodge
Which popular attractions are close to El Sabanero Eco lodge?
Nearby attractions include Black Stallion Eco Park & Estates (3.8 km), Spa Maya (7.4 km), and Canopy Vista Tamarindo (3.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at El Sabanero Eco lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at El Sabanero Eco lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at El Sabanero Eco lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at El Sabanero Eco lodge?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to El Sabanero Eco lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include HiR Fine Dining, Black Stallion Ranch Style BBQ, and Cactus Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at El Sabanero Eco lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does El Sabanero Eco lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, El Sabanero Eco lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does El Sabanero Eco lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, El Sabanero Eco lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at El Sabanero Eco lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at El Sabanero Eco lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.