We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Munden House

0.2 km from Alweston centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Mundens Lane, Alweston, Sherborne DT9 5HU, England
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Munden House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 371: English reviews
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Two adults and one dog have just returned from a most enjoyable mini holiday in Dorset staying at Munden House. The Garden Cottage was most comfortable and ideal accommodation with easy access to the beautiful garden where the resident dog and ours enjoyed playing together. Excellent breakfast choices each morning. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful especially with suggested...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dgaylard6
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Two grandparents and their ten yesr old grand child were graciously received and provided for in this lovely, well appointed b n b. The breakfast was just what you hope fior but not always find in such places; ample, varied, delicious.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter m
Gloucestershire
Reviewed 18 April 2016

A delightful establishment in a glorious part of the world, home from home for sure. Highly recommended to all. What is more a proper breakfast too and genial hosts. Thank you all for a lovely stay and look forward to returning.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpottySlippers
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Lovely location, nice rooms. But my family and I were disappointed by the service we received from Mudden house staff when we were charged full price for a nights accommodation that we were not able to stay due to a family medical emergency, even though we communicated this to Mudden house. We thought they would have acted in good faith...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiger1000400
COLINFLETCHER, Owner at Munden House, responded to this review

I do find this a very harsh and a most upsetting review. When anyone books to stay with us, we always send a personal confirmation with our cancellation terms in writing. These terms are also clear if you book via our website or through other online sites. This guest was fully aware of our cancellation terms. We undertake not to...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We were absolutely delighted by Munden House. Very comfortable and tastefully decorated, excellent breakfasts, lovely gardens and views. We highly recommend it and will definitely stay there again next time we're in Dorset.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muuum
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Fantastic stay at a wonderful property in a stunning setting. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful in suggesting places to visit and eat during our short stay. The rooms were beautifully presented and the breakfast was superb. Highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SWGriffin
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2016

Very pleasant and welcoming.A very good night's rest,and a very good breakfast.As regards the welcome the cats are very welcoming as well.Easy to locate,unfortunaely did not have time to explore the extensive garden.fully recommend and will return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fezfez2014
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 5 April 2016

This was the second time we had used Munden House as a base for one of our daughters weddings. We took all of the rooms. Colin and Annie were consummate hosts. Beautifully appointed rooms and excellent service.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sirmoor22
London
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Outstanding bed and breakfast, with a very empathic host. She sent us to a wonderful pub for supper. The room was exceptionally comfortable and the breakfast superb, all in a beautiful warm house with sweet pets. Thank you!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 971robert
United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Only stayed here 1 night but the experience was pleasant. Situated not far from Sherborne, it appears to be an old converted farmhouse and has parking available within the grounds. The owners are very friendly and helpful with advice and suggestions. The room was immaculate and well presented. Breakfast (full English) was very well prepared and presented -no scrimping on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterfromAustralia3

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alweston
4.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
3.4 km away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
641 reviews
3.5 km away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
820 reviews
3.6 km away
The Bakehouse
The Bakehouse
#7 of 24 in Sherborne
233 reviews
1.0 km away
Stoneleigh Barn
Stoneleigh Barn
#1 of 1 in North Wootton
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Munden House is a luxury award winning B&B with six individual en-suite rooms and three cottages only two and a half miles from Sherborne, Dorset. Originally a collection of old farm buildings dating back over three centuries it retains all the old period features and combines modern day comfort with tradition. All rooms are individually furnished, with comfortable beds and crisp Egyptian cotton linen, HD TVs, DAB radios and tea and coffee making facilities. The three self contained cottages offer flexible and spacious accommodation with fully equipped kitchens. In the heart of Thomas Hardy country,Munden House with 5 star rated accommodation is the perfect base from which to explore Dorset, or rest overnight on journeys to or from the West Country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Munden House

Address: Mundens Lane, Alweston, Sherborne DT9 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Alweston
Price Range: $154 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Munden House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Munden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Munden House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just relax and enjoy”
 of 5 bubbles martyndurran, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Cottages for dog owners, summer house great for special occasions and you can book the whole place for family events.”
 of 5 bubbles postiephil, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dairy Cottage is absolutely gorgeous and won't disappoint even the fussiest of guests. ”
 of 5 bubbles lucyonanread, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Garden Cottage is stunning! ”
 of 5 bubbles EllieR24, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The room was all I could have wanted.”
 of 5 bubbles Z8829APdavidc, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5