We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kims Beachside Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kims Beachside Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 297: English reviews
Start your review of Kims Beachside Retreat
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My third stay here and I was not disappointed. A quality establishment with excellence and beauty. Fabulous old-fashioned home cooked meals and foods that cater for every palate plus fresh seafood. Hospitality plus. Excellent layout of accommodation, both inside and where they are situated. Perfect idyllic setting and surrounds. The name "Hideway" is completely apt. If you want budget accommodation,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mareemcmahon
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just had a fantastic 2 night stay. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and attentive. Our Beachside bungalow was well appointed and the style suits the location (I see some previous reviews said the rooms were dated but we did not think so). The bathroom is large and had a spa bath and double shower. The meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were extremely disappointed. Having saved and kept this one for a special occasion we were expecting so much more. Dining, although praised by many, quite honestly wasn't much more up market than most pub style accommodation now serves. Prawns, Oysters etc. lovely but in Australia so common when served plain. Sushi can now be brought in many places and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tracy E
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I send the below email to Kims and after over a week i recieved no response. Hi, I have just returned from a two night stay at Kim’s and felt I needed to give you some feedback on our stay. To be honest, we were very disappointed with our stay and felt that the fee we paid was not commensurate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mahu H
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this review

We did receive the email from this guest on Tuesday 21st March 2017 and replied to him via email on Friday 24th March 2017.

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Well where to start, we booked this last minute as a belated honeymoon and we were not let down. The food is absolutly fantastic all home made and so much choice. The seafood is out of this world and all fresh. The room was quiet and had everything we needed. Private Balcony with your own Hot Tub. The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimee077
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 March 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary with a stay at Kims last night. We absolutely loved our Longbeach cabin, the location and room were great(except maybe for sticking sliding doors, which may have been caused by the wet weather). We managed a lovely long walk along the beach before the heavens opened up. We were very much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Wonderful cabin, literally on the beach-own pool, jakusi and sauna. Huge bath, double spa and shower etc. Fantastic staff, food, service. Plus a surprise gift each night. Steeped in history/tradition.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adoshea1
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

It has been over a year since I last stayed. Still the same "beachside " vibe. Room was spotless and well fitted out. Bed was very comfy. The food has improved out of sight. A big thumbs up for the Chef ! Friendly staff always with a smile. Nice and relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xcelr8
Reviewed 8 March 2017

All meals included in accommodation rates, amazing food, bread, butter and Jams made in house, vast cheese selection, local seafood. If you have a sweet tooth Desert will blow your head clean off. you'll not walk away from the dining room hungry. Toowoon bay beach at your door step or a couple of minutes walk from your room. At the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke C
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this review

We were so happy to read your comments about your recent stay at Kims. We are so pleased that you thought the food was amazing. We continually source the freshest of ingredients for our chefs to create our home made delights. Our lunch time desert selection certainly does pack a punch! The cocktail lounge overlooking Toowoon Bay, is a very...

Sydney
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Walking down from the top car park, along the boardwalks with bamboo and palms either side, you get the sense you are in for something good. Very friendly staff make you feel right at home and then we were shown to our Terrace bungalow. What a delight - a spacious room furnished with a three piece cane setting, large TV,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaryJSydney
ManagementKims, General Manager at Kims Beachside Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review on your recent visit to Kims. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us from the moment you arrived! Our staff enjoy making every guest feel right at home. Our Terrace Spa Bungalows are very popular with their indoor corner spa bath and their private decking with heated jacuzzi. Our chefs...

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:33
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toowoon Bay
11.0 km away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
957 reviews
10.7 km away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
5.9 km away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
1.1 km away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#3 of 9 in The Entrance
148 reviews
0.4 km away
Toowoon Bay Holiday Park
Toowoon Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Toowoon Bay
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kims Beach Hideaway is located right on the beach with absolute ocean views and just over an hours drive north of Kims. Accommodation is in individual timber lodges with a seperate restaurant and cocktail lounge. Meals are included in most packages and served buffet style. Kims in adults only and a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kims Beachside Retreat

Address: 16 Charlton Street | PO Box 1, Toowoon Bay, New South Wales 2261, Australia (Formerly Kims Beach Hideaway)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Toowoon Bay
Price Range: $544 - $748 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kims Beachside Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kims Beachside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kims Beach Hideaway Hotel Toowoon Bay
Kims Beach Hideaway Wyong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kims Beachside Retreat staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
7 months ago
Bateau Bay, Australia
Newcastle, Australia
3 months ago
Wahroonga, Australia
Wahroonga, Australia

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Kims Beachside Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I prefer beachside but you may prefer treetops. Outside jacuzzi rooms are optional.”
mareemcmahon, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Food is fantastic”
Aimee077, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“beachside or treetop? beachside for us!!”
adoshea1, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Closer to the ocean the better !”
xcelr8, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Your Budjet will determin your choice of room and location”
  • Pillowtop mattress so comfortable
  • All the mod cons, Flat screen TV,CD player, Tea and Coffee Machine, Bathroom - Best shower head
  • Each Bungalow has a Hot tub, larger suites offer Spa and Pool
78lukec, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5