We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Aspect Tamar Valley Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 513: English reviews
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Overall our stay was great value. The resort provided a pleasant end to our trip to Tasmania, but we would probably describe it as a relaxing escape, rather than a 'luxury escape'. The reception area is looking 'dated' but the young man on reception was welcoming and helpful. We had a room in the hotel overlooking the garden which was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 460pvn
tasmania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

We keep going back here. I just noticed a deal online again for here so it reminded me to write another review. The price on the deal makes it a cheap getaway and it includes all the activities and breakfast. The staff are chatty and friendly. Rooms are clean and comfy. Grounds are very pretty. I just bought another online... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank jamietasmania
Damien P, General Manager at Aspect Tamar Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jamie, thanks for leaving your lovely comments here. The team and I do appreciate it. I don't think anything could tell a better story about our resort, than your repeat business. So thank you! I am so pleased that you keep coming back to our resort, and that you have booked yet another trip on one of the great... More 

Victoria
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2015

We stayed here in April of this year as a family group of 7 adults. We purchased the Voucher for our stay through Luxury Escapes which had lots of inclusions. We ended up being at the front of the hotel with 4 Interconnecting rooms which were comfortable & clean. We had minor issues which were quickly attended to by the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Wardystravels
Damien P, General Manager at Aspect Tamar Valley Resort, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you for your positive review of our resort. We love to read comments like this on Trip Advisor. What a great deal you booked on Luxury Escapes! I am pleased to hear that we managed to accommodate your group in our adjoining hotel suites. I am sorry that you had a little hiccup in your stay, but... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2015

We stayed here for a couple of nights when travelling around Tassie. It was a real highlight. The whole resort was in a Swiss theme which made for something out of the ordinary. The grounds very were large with beautiful gardens and a golf course (not that we played) and it had an indoor pool, spa and sauna. Our room... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Slatvana S
Damien P, General Manager at Aspect Tamar Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Slatvana, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our property on your trip to Tasmania. I am delighted to receive your lovely comments about our resort. I will be sure to pass them on to all the team. Our hotel suites were given a revamp about 12 months ago, and included new beds, bigger tv's with 4... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

We have visted/stayed/enjoyed this property countless times. However 4 weeks prior to my 40th birthday party in early October (which involved several people travelling from interstate), one partivularly rude and arrogant/ignorant staff member phoned to inform me our dinner booking was no longer applicable. Unfortunately for Tamar Aspect Resort, negative advertising has a proven, far greater impact than positive advertising.

Helpful?
11 Thank Kylie M
Damien P, General Manager at Aspect Tamar Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Kylie, Firstly, I am very sorry about this situation. It was unfortunate that your birthday party clashed on the weekend when the resort is hosting Oktoberfest. Regrettably your dinner reservation for 20 in our bistro was permitted to be made by my staff when the bistro was already booked for Oktoberfest celebrations. I would like to mention though that... More 

Travellers are raving about these Grindelwald hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2015

I have been to Tamar Valley Resort a few times and was really happy for the price of the accommodation we purchased. Our last visit in August 2015 was dismal and was not worth the money. We decided to go for the Golf Side Spa Villa (more like a cabin than a villa). Problems: • TV remote does not work... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank Ali B
Damien P, General Manager at Aspect Tamar Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ali, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that your stay was not up to the usual standard. It seem's like we missed the mark on this occasion, however I am pleased that you agreed this is not our usual standard. I would like to say though that if you... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Someone recommended staying here as it was a great place for kids. I would say it is but what no one told us is that everything costs. The jumping pillows $6, the mini golf $9, the pedal cars, the paddle boats, everything was on top of the cost of staying. It was 90 cents off the golf if you were... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Tlh1779
Damien P, General Manager at Aspect Tamar Valley Resort, responded to this review

H Tih1779, thank you for choosing to stay with us in August. I am sorry to hear that the add on's made your stay a little too expensive. We do try and keep our accommodation rates affordable and package together offers for our activities to make it as reasonably priced holiday destination as possible. Please feel free to make reservations... More 

Greater Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2015

the two bedroom apartments are the better option.meals in dining room were very good and reasonably priced.staff very pleasant and helpful.very peaceful setting and central for touring tamar valley and close to launceston.

Helpful?
1 Thank anthony h
Damien P, General Manager at Aspect Tamar Valley Resort, responded to this review

Dear Anthony, Thank you for leaving us your feedback on Trip Advisor! It is always great to hear when a guest enjoys their stay at our property. We try very hard to ensure of service and facilities are the best they can be! We think we're in a pretty good spot for sightseeing Northern Tasmania too!! We look forward to... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Visited Tamar Valley Resort mid winter and was not expecting such a lovely stay. The weather was fresh but not unbearable. The resort was absolutely lovely in every way. Great room, great activities, great food and exceptional service. Loved the little shopping village as well. Value for money. Will definitely be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
Damien P, General Manager at Aspect Tamar Valley Resort, responded to this review

Hello there Ann, thank you for your lovely comments. It sure does make our job easier when we receive these sorts of compliments. Thanks for providing your room tip about staying the hotel suites. We refurbished them last year and we regularly receive rave reviews about the comfy beds! They now have free in-room wifi, 4 free movie channels, and... More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We had a lovely villa overlooking the golf course, with all day sun which made the room beautifully warm - being winter, this was a plus ! We used to stay here with our children 20 years ago and the facilities we enjoyed then are still just as good - the pool and gym area, the Putt It mini golf,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank magic4mum
Damien P, General Manager at Aspect Tamar Valley Resort, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your very kind review. So many guests that stay with us over winter are pleasantly surprised by the gorgeous sunny days we have here. Tassie likes to keep it a secret!! I am very happy to give you an update on a couple of the items which require attention at the resort; Our villa air... More 

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindelwald
15.0 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
14.6 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
670 reviews
17.8 km away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#6 of 30 in Launceston
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#1 of 2 in Riverside
114 reviews
15.6 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.1 km away
Grindelwald Lodge
Grindelwald Lodge
#2 of 2 in Grindelwald
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort provides great accommodation, activities, shopping, lakeside dining, golfing and Freshview Day Spa. The resort boasts World Class facilities in arguably Tasmania's most exclusive and exotic suburb.The resort is set on over 150 magnificent acres amid numerous spectacular lakes with breathtaking views and fosters an engaging timeless ambience rarely found.Aspect Tamar Valley Resort is perfectly located about 15 minutes drive north of Launceston and is a true Jewel in the crown of this breathtaking region.Aspect Tamar Valley Resort is ideally positioned to use as a base whilst exploringall that Northern Tasmania has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aspect Tamar Valley Resort

Address: 7 Waldhorn Dr, Grindelwald, Tasmania 7277, Australia (Formerly Chancellor Resort)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Grindelwald
Price Range: $100 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspect Tamar Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aspect Tamar Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspect Tamar Valley Hotel Grindelwald
Tamar Valley Hotel
Quality Inn Launceston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aspect Tamar Valley Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Resort was quiet in a beautiful garden setting”
 of 5 bubbles frankjudge, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a place by the pond.”
 of 5 bubbles macenchill, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a hotel room upstairs. The only thing was there is no lift and having to take luggage upstairs is hard for some.”
 of 5 bubbles chezza48, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Added waterfront view cost is doubtful”
 of 5 bubbles H2124XRpeterm, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Chalets have better facilities but are more expensive.”
 of 5 bubbles Ian1245, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay