We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clarion Hotel Wisby

Show Prices
#2 of 15 Hotels in Visby
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel Wisby
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

680 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 148: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I had a terrible stay in this hotel. I decided to share my experiences with the hotel manager directly on the 9th of August and have yet to recieve any reply at all, so feel compelled to share my experiences here. My husband and I arrived Friday (5th of August) night, having booked a moderate room as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Schneeflocken1
Josefine G, Chef at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Dear Mishyroo, Thank you for posting your review, our sincere apologies that your stay did not live up to your expectations, this is not the level of service we aim to provide. I am not sure what email address you sent your feedback to in August. I would therefore appreciate it if you could contact me directly so I we... More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Stayed for three nights and enjoyed our stay. We got a "superior room" which had a nice size, a group of sofas and two TVs. However, the room was not that new, the bathroom didn't feel that fresh and some parts were about to fall apart. We also heard a noise during night time (a fan?) which wasn't too loud... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wilhelm W
Josefine G, Chef at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Dear Wilhelm, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate that you shared your experience! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback regarding the room is very valuable to us, thank you for informing us of your thoughts. For next time, please ask for a room in ur modern part of the hotel, the... More 

Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Location is great, in the middle of breathtaking medieval Visby, and the building is as lovely as its surroundings. We had an enormous room with the most beautiful bathroom, all black-and-white turn of the century lovelyness with lots and lots of thick, luxurious towels. It must be recently refurbished because the feel to the room was new and fresh. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MsWithnail
Josefine G, Chef at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Withnail, Thank you for your feedback! We very much appreciate that you shared your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the room the surrondings! We agree with you, the pillows are masterpieces, we love them! We truly regret to hear that your experienced a three-star standard. We always strive to provide the best... More 

Sala, Sweden
Level Contributor
251 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Old town hotel situated in the middle of everything. Peerfect for strolls around town and visiting restaurants. Nice inside with good atmosphere in the bar area. High ceilings. Don't miss the bath. Rooms are small but contains everything you need.

Helpful?
Thank sarne
Josefine G, Chef at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Dear Sarne, Thank you for your lovely feedback! We truly appreciate that you took your time to share your experience with us! We hope to see you back with us again soon! Best Regards, Josefine Gudmundson Hotel Manager Clarion Hotel Wisby More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

This only rates a4 star because it's in Sweden, anywhere in North America and this is a 3 star. The room is cramped and dirty- there were many brown marks/stains on the walls and bed curtain in room 304. The hotel bar looked very nice, but I couldn't enjoy it as they held a "After work Friday" special where free... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony G
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Dear sir, Where to begin:-) We love our Social Fridays! Clarion Hotels in Sweden are famous for being in the heartbeat of the city and we are proud of it. The local community is very important for us and often we attract hotelguests that appreciate this pulse as well. For those who don´t, we have a more quiet bar in... More 

Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016

beautiful hotel with an extraordinary interior design. especially the bar area is amazing, so peaceful and nice. it is expensive. breakfast is wonderful. choices are so wide and the lunch and dinners are also nice as long as you have fish :)

Helpful?
Thank Ali Murat P
Sanna K, Receptionschef at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely repsons! I hope we can give you a warm welcome back soon again! Kind regards Sanna Kleven General Manager Clarion Hotel Wisby More 

Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The hotel should have informed about the number of elevators, stairs, and corridors to use before reaching the room in house A. Although the room was a Superior with a nice view overlooking the harbor and the see, the long walk and frequent waiting for elevators made it feel inferior.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank patric800
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Oh my! Did we really miss this information!?:-( The A buldning is a short walk but instead it contanis our very best rooms. Next time please note what you preferr room wise, we´ll be glad to help. We wish you a very warm welcome back soon again. Kind regards Sanna Kleven General Manager Clarion Hotel Wisby More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Beautiful Visby, in a sunny and warm September after most of the tourists were gone. This pretty, comfortable hotel is a great place to stay. Rooms are big, windows will open, and the bar is a lovely glass topped atrium with comfortable seating. Right outside is a main square, the big one is a short walk away (up hill). I... More 

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kjcolvard
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Oh what a lovely repsons! We also want to a guest at our hotel the way you put it:-) We wish you a very warm welcome back soon again. Kind regards Sanna Kleven General Manager Clarion Hotel Wisby More 

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Has everything that you like about hotels in the Nordics: friendly staff, wooden floor in rooms, large bathrooms, a lot of daylight in rooms, great a fresh breakfast. Of course you also get not so good coffee. But hey! It is so central that you can't miss a good cafe.

Helpful?
Thank obx9802
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Thank your for your repsons! Best Hotel in town! We love that and we agree:-) We love feedback and consider every detail you note. We wish you a very warm welcome back soon again. Kind regards Sanna Kleven General Manager Clarion Hotel Wisby More 

Recife, PE
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

This is a superb hotel as far as ambiance. Located within the walled ancient/medieval city of Visby, the hotel provides friendly and efficent service to its guests. We stayed there 3 nights in a quiet, nice size room, in the fourth floor. Although the windows are double pane and sealed, we found insects in our room twice, including a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ivon P
Sanna K, Hotelldirektör at Clarion Hotel Wisby, responded to this review

Thank your for your repsons! We love feedback and consider every detail you note. We wish you a very warm welcome back soon again. Kind regards Sanna Kleven General Manager Clarion Hotel Wisby More 

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Visby hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel St. Clemens
Hotel St. Clemens
#1 of 15 in Visby
419 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotell Slottsbacken
Hotell Slottsbacken
#4 of 15 in Visby
90 reviews
0.9 km away
Scandic Visby
Scandic Visby
#3 of 15 in Visby
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Strand Hotel
0.0 km away
Donners Hotell
Donners Hotell
#11 of 15 in Visby
70 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Solhem Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Wisby

Address: Strandgatan 6, Visby, Gotland 621 56, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Gotland > Visby
Price Range: $164 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Wisby 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Wisby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Visby
Clarion Hotel Visby
Visby Clarion
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Visby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel Wisby staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose left side on the corridor for better views and at least 4th floor”
 of 5 bubbles alimurat42, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The waterfront view is amazing, but the noise level can be a bit much from the parties on boats late at night.”
 of 5 bubbles BJT915, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“See comment about beds, don't count on slleping 2 adults in a double bed”
 of 5 bubbles johant705, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose a superior room!”
 of 5 bubbles imoani, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“More classic style rooms in the old part. More modern style rooms in the new part. Both really nice but different style.”
 of 5 bubbles 562JessicaL, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay