We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 248: English reviews
Busselton
Reviewed 20 September 2015

My husband and I have just spent a great weekend at The Tradewinds. This was our first stay and we loved the place from the moment we arrived. The reception staff were warm and friendly and the hotel has a resort feel to it. We stayed in a studio room on level 3 and it was excellent - no complaints...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paige E
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear Paige I enjoyed reading your positive post. When you next visit please do not hesitate to email me directly so that I can handle your booking personally. Stephen

Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Rooms are a little outdated but still nice. Very spacious. Bathrooms are old. Room service was nice food but charge $6 every time u use it. Breakfast was a buffet at $26pp with not a huge variety. Ended up going down the road to a cafe. Free parking was handy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emwilliams90
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear Emwilliams90, I appreciated reading your post and the feedback it contained for us. I am pleased to let you know we are completely refurbishing all guest rooms and bathrooms beginning in the the first 3 months of 2016. I am pleased you found them large. We will review the breakfast buffet and see if we can add additional items....

Melbourne
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

Well this is a place where you don't judge on first impressions. Check in was ok, staff polite but had to ask lots as no information volunteered. Parking good and free of charge. Wifi I couldn't log on as front desk were a bit unsure themselves of the password so gave up. Had a room overlooking the highway. Bit noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melinda R
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear Melinda, I was reading your informative post and wanted to thank you. We are scheduled to begin to upgrade all our rooms in the first quarter next year. There will be new double glazed windows to shut out any noise and we will have some rooms with baths but also many will have walk in showers that will be...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2015

The Fremantle Hotel cum pub has been around since early in the 20th C Situated on the Canning Highway, 20 minutes walk from Fremantle it is a blend of modern and epic history The rooms are comfortable and quiet, the restaurant offers a good breakfast and also lunch and dinner. I am very happy in this environment The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frasedbv
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear Frasedbv, appreciated reading your post. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thanks Stephen

Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

Just got back from the restraunt at tradewinds hotel were i am staying and didnt even get to eat .hardly anyone in there and couldn't even get a seat .wasn't told at reception about booking .ran into another couple in the lift also guests same problem.rang for roomservice which the menu was averge at best.ordered waghu burger and it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank westernozsandman
Stephen W, Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear James, Have read the post and passed onto the Chef and F&B Manager your comments to ensure it does not happen again. Burgers and chips is one of our biggest sellers so we normally get it right. If you visit us again please let me know in advance and we can catch up. Regards Stephen

Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Headed to Tradewinds to watch the AB v Aussie test with my daughter and her family. The place has a great setting and plenty of TVs to watch sport. Limited range of beers on tap but food was good. Staff were obliging and service good. The staff turned down the music so we could hear the commentary and made sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilty62
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear Hilty62, interesting reading your post being a massive Wallaby supporter. Pleased you had a good time and we look forward to a big world cup. Regards Stephen

Reviewed 13 August 2015

For business reasons, I recently spent 3 nights at Tradewinds. My initial reaction on arrival was disappointment, but that changed significantly during my stay. The hotel rooms are large and quite comfortable, but are somewhat tired. Beds are great and the working space (and even separate meeting space) is ideal for the business traveller. Wifi was fast and reliable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank robynp976
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear Robyn, appreciated reading your post. We are in the process of designing the new rooms now and will have 2 prototypes ready before the year end. We then start a complete guest rooms refurbishment in the first quarter 2016. Regards Stephen

Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed here recently for work. The room size was ok but had that carpet old carpet smell. Bed was comfy and large modern tv was good. The room had 2 hot plates and a microwave so one can cook in. There is a foodworks within easy walking distance but if you want to go into Fremantle city you are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason M
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear Jason M Thank you for your post. We now have any pint of beer for $8 on a Monday and any pizza and a pint for $20 on a Tuesday, hopefully that helps. We are planning our rooms refurbishment now and will prepare 2 prototype rooms this year and begin the full refurbishment of all our guest rooms early...

Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night as a friend had a wedding reception here. The room is clean, functional and adequate, with a bit of noise from the rooms above and below. Nothing overtly fancy but pretty much on par with the price you pay for. The staff are friendly and nice, especially the ones who worked in the breakfast buffet, who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ralph_Wiggum1981
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear Ralph, Thank you for your review. It was great to see that you enjoyed the wedding and your stay. I am pleased we found your girlfriends earring. We enjoy hosting weddings here at the Tradewinds and are always pleased when the Bride and Groom and their guests have a great time. Regards Stephen

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 14 June 2015

We stayed here recently just for a night in a 2 bedroom apartment with our 2 kids. The last time we stayed here was about 20 years ago and things haven't changed too much (except maybe the flat screen TVs!). Location is still handy to Fremantle - about 12 - 15 dollars taxi ride. The rooms are quiet and comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 495ren
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this review

Dear 495ren , Thank you for your review. It was great to see that you enjoyed your stay and will visit us again. I am pleased to let you know we will be completely refurbishing our accommodation rooms beginning in the first quarter 2016. Yours Sincerely Stephen

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Fremantle
2.2 km away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
1.0 km away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fremantle
369 reviews
2.9 km away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#1 of 7 in Fremantle
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#4 of 7 in Fremantle
174 reviews
12.7 km away
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
2.0 km away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
#1 of 22 in Fremantle
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tradewinds Hotel offers 83 fully self contained apartments, alfresco and indoor bars, a delicious seasonal menu created by Executive Chef Gary Martin in our Restaurant and is conveniently located on the beautiful Swan River in East Fremantle. The hotel offers amazing river views and is only 5 minutes to the heart of Fremantle and 20 minutes by car to Perth's CBD. All apartments are spacious and equipped with a kitchenette and private bathroom, 24 hour reception, room service, outdoor swimming pool, heated spa, new state of the art gym and complimentary undercover security parking. Located within easy 5 minute walk of an extensive range of cafes and dining options along the river, and on George Street, East Fremantle. We offer in-house buffet breakfast for hotel guests including children and have highchairs available for your convenience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle

Address: 59 Canning Highway | East Fremantle, East Fremantle, Fremantle, Western Australia 6158, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle > East Fremantle
Price Range: $154 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Third floor rooms over the car park don't have a view but are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles HTBec, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be away from the pool”
 of 5 bubbles 517sp, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms with best view 316-320”
 of 5 bubbles theresab846, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the river are good!”
 of 5 bubbles Softy2587, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in room 320 which has 2 bedrooms and has great views”
 of 5 bubbles PaigeE593, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay