We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Swinside Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Swinside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Swinside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 151: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Excellent friendly,a room with a view,huge bathroom very clean,will recommend highly food was very good a beer garden for children to enjoy the fresh air and ducks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank u2kezza
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Had a lovely weekend break at this Inn. The food was great and very good value.. Staff on the whole were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately our bedroom was over the pool room. Lots and shouting , screaming and banging on the Friday night. When I went down to complain I was told firmly by the Landlady that if I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinehodgson6
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Caroline Thank you for your honest review. I'm really sorry that you were disturbed. We are aware that there can be residual noise from the bar below the room you are in, and although we can serve drinks until midnight, we always ask people to move into the main bar by 11pm. On the night in question, we had...

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We bought the voucher from a deal website and were not disappointed at all and will definitely return. Lovely big bedrooms with great views. Food was amazing, massive portions! Good drinks choice too. Breakfast included was plentiful. Short taxi ride to Keswick. Definitely one to stay at!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura W
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting after the floods last winter - we really appreciated you coming, and it's great to hear that you had a good time. Make sure you're on our mail list to hear about our 2016 December celebration package.

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Will be back loved every Monet thank you to the owners and staff so friendly nothing is a problem always ready to help feel like you have known them for ever wish them all the best and we will see you again. Hope you are lucky in finding your family dog

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Caroline. Hope we see you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Stayed for 1 night during C2C cycle ride. First the positives: -Spectacular location and views. Quiet location a few miles outside Keswick with breathtaking views from the hotel. Really outstanding. - We had a very good meal in the hotel . Delicious fish. Good service too. -Good storage for our bikes. The negatives: - Although room/bathroom was clean, poor interior....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HJxxx2016
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm trying to work out which room you were in - it may be the one which we are actually upgrading as I type. I shall look into this further. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

A bank holiday weekend away with the hubby and what a treat! The room borrowdale was spacious and clean with some gorgeous views The breakfast lasted us all day and was very tasty Our evening meals were of equally good quality and the local ales very much appreciated after a couple of walking days! Excellent location for walking into Keswick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevin w
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Haha, yes we're used to seeing people a little weary. Thank you very much for your 5 star review. hope you return. Lucinda on behalf of Ben and Sharon

London
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We have been using the Swinside Inn for many years and the quality of service and food has been inconsistent to say the least. however things have changed and we have just had a short break when we have been treated to tasty, well priced food. The menu is interesting with a curry of the day described by one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Hi Chris Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that all our hard work is worth it

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016

We had a great time at the Swindake Inn. Good dinner, good beer, good breakfast (understatement !) friendly welcoming staff, great location with fabulous views. One day we walked Causey Pike, the next we walked High Spy and didn't need our cars (hooray !). We had the 'Causey Pike' room which was superb for our purposes (four mature, actually 'immature',...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wocky48
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Really glad you all had a good stay

tunbridge wells
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Fantastic old traditional pub with selection of draught beer and excellent food. This is just about everything that you would wish for in a country pub, it's fairly remote, but makes an ideal part of a walk. Well located, being not far away from the boat landing stage at Hawes End, so can be combined with a days walking and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter l
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you!

Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

A stay at the Swinside Inn gives you the experience of staying in an isolated spot but with the reality of being just a short walk from Keswick centre. As a base the Swinside Inn is perfect, situated in the Newlands Valley all manner of walks are easily accessible whether you are a serious hiker or a low level stroller....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boultonp
Benandsharon H, Owner at Swinside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you!

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands Valley
3.6 km away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
560 reviews
4.6 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,964 reviews
2.7 km away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
462 reviews
3.2 km away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Braithwaite
552 reviews
1.1 km away
Swinside Farmhouse
Swinside Farmhouse
#2 of 2 in Newlands Valley
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional, over 300 year old, lakeland pub,with bed and breakfast rooms. We're a short walk from Derwentwater and the iconic Catbells. Traditional bar with open fire places. The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to explore the lake district, with mountain views from some rooms and all bars. We also have a six bedroom holiday let available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swinside Inn

Address: Newlands Valley, Keswick CA12 5UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Newlands Valley
Price Range: $164 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swinside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swinside Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Coventry, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Swinside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 'Causey' has just been fixed up so all new and lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Sheila1951, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“For the view stretch a bit and stay in Catbells, plus get the cheese board!”
 of 5 bubbles Jonno1910, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All have views I think, I don't think there's a bad choice.”
 of 5 bubbles 945georgeh, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were in Barrow, and were very disappointed. I am sure there were better rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles GillianP968, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Maybe over the breakfast room but not pool room if you want less noise”
 of 5 bubbles carolinehodgson6, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay