We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

540 on Great South Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
540 on Great South Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for 540 on Great South Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 84: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Blown away with the great service provided by 540. Stayed for The Eagles concert buses were organised to take us there and pick us up. The man at the counter (sorry didn't get your name) was outstanding and went the extra mile. Nothing was a problem and he was very helpful. The family room was clean and tidy but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiana2013
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon when you are next in Auckland. We have many guests stay while attending concerts at Mt Smart stadium and we endeavour to take away the hassle of transport by having the buses all arranged for concert goers.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 March 2015

We stayed here over the weekend of the Foo Fighters concert and it was great! We had no idea on how we were going to get to the concert and the Motel had Shuttle services organised to and from Mt Smart! Great rooms and thanks to the staff for organising transport! We were able to get an early check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdwardT2155
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the Transport to and from the concert! We enjoy taking the hassle out of transport for concert goers. Hope to see you soon.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 February 2015

We recently arranged bookings for some staff members through our travel management service providers. The reservations were re-confirmed by email to the correct email address for Motel 540 reservation (re-tested within the last couple of days). On arrival at Motel 540 our staff members were advised that no bookings were held for them. After a four hour road trip to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. As explained to your travel agent there was no booking in our system, however we offered a large family room (25) to your staff which would have accommodated them, but the did not want to share the Family room offered. We than arranged rooms at Sky City but they received a call for rooms at...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Hotel is an old nursing home converted to a hotel. Area is industrial with no attractions near by. A few minutes from airport but much better options closer then this one. Room we had was terrible for the price, would not stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ross B
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Hi - I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We hope you will come again and we will be more than happy to give you the extra special VIP treatment!

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 January 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for over a month with our 2 children. The staff have been exceptional to say the least. Always accommodating to our needs and very helpful. Everyone here is so friendly and cheerful. My kids made friends with the owners and the very pleasant bubbly cleaning ladies. The room we stayed in was of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enayat101
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback! We are glad that you and your family stayed with us. We have tried to call you but the number is not connected. Could you please give us a call as we want to discuss an item of lost property with you.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2015

Be aware that early departure is NOT possible after arrival. Noisy because it is on Great South road and window are thin. Nice big bathtub room 28. But it won't be clean during your stay. Nice soft bed sheet. poor sofa from the 80s.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nachor_French
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry you had issues with your sofa, however we replaced it with a brand new sofa which is fantastic. The Housekeeping team noted the Do not disturb sign on your door and did not interupt you. We hope to see you again soon!

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 29 December 2014

The room looked very worn out and dirty. The pictures looked nothing like the room, except for maybe the bathroom. The foldout couch was terribly dirty and dusty. The sheets looked clean but they had this choking perfume smell. We definitely did not sleep very well due to the traffic outside. The receptionist wasn't too friendly either. We were only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 22Celine03
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. The room package you purchased came with 50 MB free wifi and you were offered Unlimited data for a small fee of $8. We hope you will return as we have introduce many new items to our property.

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 December 2014

Overall the unit was lovely. The only thing letting it down was the fold out couch that was hideously stained and old. Paint in the room needs a bit of a touch up as is looking worn, chipped and paint colours didn't match where touch ups had been applied. The bed was comfortable and the cooked breakfast I ordered was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TraxnDax
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Dear TraxnDax Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your feedback. We are currently replacing our fold out sofas - on your next stay we will ensure you are in a room with one of our new sofa beds (they are really comfortable!) Our spa...

Thames, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 November 2014

We stayed here 3 nights while my husband was studying in Auckland. Location was pretty handy, not far off the motorway. It's not a great area right outside, but close to places to eat and bus stop right outside which takes you into CBD. Fairly quiet at night time. Not massive rooms, but def comfortable and clean and just right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vikki06
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Dear Vikki06 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was great to read you have an enjoyable time - just a few minutes walk from the heart of Otahuhu with the convenience of Auckland CBD just a few minutes on the motorway. We have a range of rooms available and on your next visit...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 November 2014

Stayed here for one night in a basic studio room, I booked online 2 hours prior to arriving and when checking in they had all my information and it's probably the easiest check in I've experienced, done in under 5 mins. I stayed in room 16, Basic Studio. I think was a queen size bed that was really comfortable. Linen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Will75
540Motel, General Manager at 540 on Great South Motel, responded to this review

Dear Will75 Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at 540 on Great South. It was great to read your enjoyed your overnight stay in one of our studio rooms. We appreciated the feedback on the leak and this has now been fixed. Perhaps on your next stay with us you may like to try one of our One...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otahuhu
6.2 km away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.6 km away
Grange Lodge Motel
Grange Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Manukau
203 reviews
4.8 km away
Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
5.7 km away
Airport Skyway Lodge
Airport Skyway Lodge
#13 of 23 in Mangere
107 reviews
7.5 km away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
540 on Great South Motel Located in the heart of Otahuhu only a moment’s walk from cafes, restaurants, bars and shops. We are located just off the southern motorway and very close to the Grange & Auckland Golf Courses, Kings & Otahuhu Colleges, Rainbow’s End, Middlemore Hospital, Auckland International Airport, Sylvia Park shopping centre. Close proximity to Mt Smart Stadium, Manukau Telstra Events Centre and Elleslie Racecourse. Business or leisure 540 on Great South is your perfect accommodation choice. Our 4 star boutique Motel offers a range of excellent accommodation options. Free Airport Transfers; see Airport Transfer Service for conditions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 540 on Great South Motel

Address: 540 Great South Road, Otahuhu 1062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Otahuhu
Price Range: $193 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 540 on Great South Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your 540 on Great South Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
540 On Great South Hotel Otahuhu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 540 on Great South Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from 540 on Great South Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to go for a room on the back side. Less noise.”
 of 5 bubbles MatthewandBritt, 27 Mar 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room at the back, away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles Argy14, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“"Terrible Attitude, Smelly dark rooms, too far from the city"”
 of 5 bubbles Mmary81, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We chose based on price and you get what you pay for so suggest you spend a bit more to get a better room.”
 of 5 bubbles Tiraiwaka, 6 May 2015 | Read review
“We chose a one bedroom suite - lots of space, clean, and garden views”
 of 5 bubbles tootsiewellington, 17 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay