We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Bridge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Bridge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 450: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Bridge
 Click to rate
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had dinner Wednesday night 6 whole prawns and pork belly for main, what a meal and a fantastic place, looking forward to my next visit the wine list looks amazing will have to indulge in a tasting at the wine shop next time when I'm not driving.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank piratehooker81
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review

Thanks PirateHooker - hope we can see you in the wine shop soon! John Hoskins

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The restaurant felt like at lot of care had been taken in the re-furb .I had smoke duck followed by lemon sole washed done with bottle of grace Bridge, very palatable and I would recommend this establishment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richardke505
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review

Well Richard it certainly took a huge amount of planning. Delighted that you liked the results. Many thanks John Hoskins

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

One of the nicest places to go for a good cup of coffee or a good glass of wine - what a collection they have with the owner one of 400 wine masters of the world. Beautiful fireplace to sit by quietly while reading a book or spending time with loved ones. Gorgeous restaurant and menu too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hoppyfrog-b
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review

Thanks Hoppyfrog-b (great name!) Really glad you like the coffee (we use Monmouth coffee and the new Marzocco machine we bought when we did the refurb has really helped too) and thank you for your comments about everything else. Best regards John Hoskins

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

In December I booked a special meal for Valentine's Day. It was described as a very special meal and we expected a very special romantic evening. However, having just had the 'special evening' we were most disappointed. The food, it has t be said, was superb, but the 'ambiance was very poor. We were seated next to and close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review

Hello Peter V Really sorry to hear of your disappointment. I'm glad you liked the food and the service and I'm only sorry that you felt the ambience didn't match up. I must say it's unusual for a family with children to be out for dinner on Valentine's dinner, but obviously we have to seat them somewhere and we do...

Warboys, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A regular haunt of mine, mostly for business meetings with table sizes from 2 to 16 Always good but after the refurb the ambience of the restaurant and the bar are significantly improved. Staff are good, and old favourites have returned to the menu including the superb smoked salmon starter (Which is available as a main course size as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review

Thanks Jon H - really pleased you like the refurb. Best wishes John H

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The main dining room revamp has improved the dining experience. The wooden floors and panelling has been tastefully done and seriously reduces the vast din which had experienced before. The menu is a bit quirky but the food was really good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ulf M
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review

Thank you Ulf. Delighted you like the changes. Kind regards John Hoskins

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel serves food all day. Lunch has a good varied menu. Service good and food is also. Would recommend to friends and family. Clean hotel with efficient and friendly staff. Prices mid range but quality food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank May R
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed May. Regards John Hoskins

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have always loved this hotel so my friend and I decided to treat our other friend visiting from overseas to Afternoon Tea. We were really disappointed when it arrived because it certainly did not seem to be up to their usual stannard. The sandwiches were tasteless and the small pastries seemed nothing out of the ordinary and we certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mags R
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review

Mags I can only apologise that you didn't enjoy the afternoon tea. The sandwiches should of course be full of flavour and the cakes are normally delicious. We don't, it's true, try to be "inventive" with the tea menu, rather we just try to do the classic options well. But if we failed on this occasion I can only say...

colchester
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very nice room and quite large for a single, beautiful bathroom with everything you could want. A couple of touches which, on the surface, look really nice but are actually quite annoying. Fresh ground coffee is great but only enough for one cup.They only provide fresh milk - on request, how long does that take to arrive? Why not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nigel t
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review

Nigel seeing you have made several criticisms about things you find "annoying" so let me reply as personally as you have written your report. Your comments are equally "annoying" to us. We make mistakes every day but your criticisms are not about mistakes - they are strange, pernickety little comments which are either not fair or simply inaccurate. The only...

peterborough
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife booked a one night stay (Saturday) as she was taking me out for dinner, her turn. We arrived mid-afternoon and felt instantly at home: the reception staff were great. The room was very nice (if a little quirky). We had a four poster 'bridal suite'. The sleeping room was large, top quality and the little extras made it:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shubling
OBWS, Owner at The Old Bridge, responded to this review

Thanks so much Shubling you are very kind indeed. Look forward to seeing you at The Old Bridge again soon. John Hoskins

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntingdon
2.5 km away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#3 of 9 in Huntingdon
606 reviews
0.6 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
391 reviews
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Huntingdon Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sandford House Bar and Hotel
24.1 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,146 reviews
21.8 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A handsome, ivy-clad 18th century building, once a private bank, overlooking the River Ouse and yet right on the edge of the town centre. Its atmosphere balances that of a boutique townhouse hotel and a bustling, relaxed, traditional inn. 24 beautiful air-conditioned bedrooms with B&O televisons and luxurious bathrooms. Fine but informal restaurant, winner of AA award for best wine list in the UK in 2010. Also wine shop with 'enomatic' tasting machines, bar with real ales, and free wifi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Bridge

Address: 1 High Street, Huntingdon PE29 3TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon
Price Range: $258 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Old Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bridge Hotel Huntingdon
Old Bridge Huntingdon
Old Bridge Hotel Huntingdon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Bridge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
leicester
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Bridge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Depends on your budget. All the rooms are nice but vary in price.”
 of 5 bubbles shubling, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book early for the four poster rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles PaulGrr, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We thought we might be disturbed by traffic but no.”
 of 5 bubbles 31192jennya, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best Views are of the River”
 of 5 bubbles F1523XKdavidc, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Busy junction at front so go for rear or river rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Ely-Macs, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5