We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Plough Inn

TripAdvisorUS$129*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$129*
US$129*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

777 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Plough Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 775: English reviews
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Lovely Sptember stay, 2nd floor room at rear of hotel, beautiful views, spacious comfotable room. All meals nicely presented, tasty and served most importantly by friendly, humerous staff. An ideal centre for many interesting visitor attractions eg castles, gardens, beaches historic sites.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stelmo25
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear stelmo25, Thank you for taking your time to leave such a positive review. All of the team are very grateful to receive your feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough soon. Regards Andrew

Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

Nice little place to stay. Slightly disappointed that booking a table meant sitting in the bar and while food was amazing service does need a little work. Room was comfortable with nice views. Breakfast was good. Would recommend over night visit but not for an extended stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisams33
Reviewed 17 September 2015

We booked the Plough online and at fairly short notice, swayed by the pictures. We needed a base for a few days exploring West Wales, and when we double checked the location later, wondered if we had made a mistake as it appeared to be further into rural Wales that we thought. We need not have worried. The location was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tony L, Thank you for your 5 star review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we are pleased that you were able to use the hotel as a base for local attractios. being based on the A40 allows easy acccess to both local and further a field attractions. I am pleased that you were...

West Sussex UK
Reviewed 14 September 2015

What a delightful place. Really generously sized and appointed rooms with gorgeous views. My room had a lovely jacuzzi bath and extremely comfortable bed. Place is spotlessly clean and very quiet. Staff are very relaxed and helpful.Food is nice with decent fare in the evenings and lovely breakfasts. Have recommended to my colleagues to stay there when they are working...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RozzieUK
Riquewihr, France
Reviewed 9 September 2015

The Plough had apparently been recently renovated and looked it. The room was very modern and tastefully done. My only complaint was a water gurgling noise that persisted most of the night and interfered with sleeping. The staff, Sara in particular, were wonderful. We also had a delicious dinner. The menu is creative and well executed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AllyB72
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear AllyB72, Thank you for your wonderful review, i am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Plough. I am sorry to hear that you had a disturbed night sleep, to my knowledge we have not received this complaint before but I will certainly look into it and make any repairs where necessary. I will pass...

Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015

I stay in various hotels across the UK on business and this is by far the best hotel I stay in. From the moment you arrive the staff are attentive but not intrusive. Nothing is too much for them. The rooms are spotless, the views are inspiring and the food exquisite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Philip H, Thank you for your fantastic review. It is great to hear as a regular business traveller you consider us to be the best hotel. All of the dedicated team work tirelessy to provide first class service, we are all thrilled to recieve your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough soon. Regards Andrew

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

I've stayed in The Plough numerous times over the past four years or so. The accommodation remains top class, comfortable and with great views. Evening meals used to offer fixed price options for two or three courses which were good value. Now it is a-la-carte only and the prices have crept up to a level which I consider too high....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
Reviewed 31 August 2015

The room had every amenity,was well decorated modern and impeccably clean if somewhat soulless. The biggest bonus was being able to reverse our car up to the 'french windows' (we were on the ground floor) which meant that we were able to unpack from the car parking space into the bedroom without any effort at all, of course the downside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deborah H
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Deborah H, Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that you were able to make use and enjoy one of our superior ground floor rooms. I am sorry to hear that you found the rooms souless- please feel free to contact me direct should you have any feedback on how to further imporove...

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

First visit here since it has been refurbished, love the contemporary feel to the place, light and airy, Food was excellent and the service first class, will definitely return to what is becoming one of the Towy Valleys premier boutique hotels, Andrew and his staff have done an excellent job

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Van-Evans
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Van-Evans, Thank you for your fantastic review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed all of our facilities and was impressed with our new refurbishment. I will pass on your feedback to all of the hardworking team and we hope to welcome you back to The Plough soon. Regards Andrew

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

First visit since the complete refurbishment , very impressed with the new contemporary feel, light and airy , food was exceptional and service top notch Will definitely return, Andrew runs an award winning establishment and is without doubt one of the premier hotels in the Towy Valley

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cavendish-p-family
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear cavendish-p-famil, Thank you for your 5 star review. I am so pleased to hear that you approved of our new refurbishment and were able to enjoy the carefully planned wedding day. I will pass on your feedback to all of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough soon. Regards Andrew

438 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (44)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (278)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (57)
Viewed
Classic Room (44)
Viewed
Executive Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Superior Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.8 km away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
425 reviews
1.8 km away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
86 reviews
22.8 km away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.8 km away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
870 reviews
26.2 km away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
821 reviews
30.7 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A charming four star boutique hotel and award winning restaurant set in the beautiful Towy Valley at the edge of the Brecon Beacons. Surrounded by castles and country houses with the National Botanical Garden of Wales and Aberglasney House only minutes away. Enjoy beautiful views from all 23 of our well appointed en suite rooms equipped with everything you would expect for your stay - queen sized beds, free wifi, sofas and disabled facilities - all impeccably serviced with our attention to detail. Why not take advantage of our gym and sauna to unwind and relax during your stay! At the Plough you will be greeted with a traditional Welsh welcome, good food from our varied menu in our award winning restaurant, including gluten free, with excellent wines that can be enjoyed in a warm and relaxed atmosphere served to you with that all important personal touch. Afternoon tea is also available, includes a selection of scones, cakes and sandwiches. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Rhosmaen, Llandeilo SA19 6NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Price Range: $155 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Plough Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cardiff

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Plough Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor rooms at the back are great for dog owners - direct access from rooms to outside.”
, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The ground floor rooms at the back of the hotel look over the car park and countryside beyond. Really easy to load up car and unload.”
Acemumbles, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the rear have a view of the beatuful countryside behind the hotel.”
Sheepy344, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in room 301, overlooking fields and surrounding hills. With no distraction from passing traffic.”
49404020, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had room 301 which was a corner room, but I saw two other rooms which were all of the same standard.”
joycecme, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$129* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$129
LateRooms.com
Booking.comUS$129
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates