We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Glenavon House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Glenavon House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Glenavon House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 340: English reviews
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2015

I have not stayed in this hotel but I dine there regularly and also use their health suite, Riviera. It is situated in an enviable situation along the river Ballinderry. There is a large car park and a lovely walk along the river to a waterfall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JI52
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear J152 Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. We are delighted that everything at Club Riviera was up to standards expected. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Paula Wilson

Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

The entrance lobby to the hotel is newly refurbished and just has that real class and expensive feel to it. Ladies on reception all lovely, very welcoming and very helpful. Even the wee girl who took my booking over the phone had a lovely manner warm and welcoming. Our room was huge room 101 a bit far away from reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leantia G
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leantia G, Thank you very much for your very comprehensive and complimentary review of the hotel following your recent stay. You covered every area and department which is wonderful! I am delighted that everything was to your pleasing and in particular appreciate your very kind comments about the staff who do work very hard. We would be delighted to...

Dublin, Ohio
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Glenavon is a very nice hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff especially at reception. Room was a good size and beds were comfortable. Nice leisure centre with good sized pool. They provided an early breakfast for us as we had an early start..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eileen P
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eikeen777 Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to the hotel. We are delighted that everything was to your pleasing and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Paula Wilson

Coalisland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We held our wedding reception in the Glenavon hotel on 10th July and we could not have asked for a more perfect day. The food and service were excellent - I may be biased but I think it was the nicest feed i have ever had at a wedding. The staff were fantastic and could not have done enough for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristineMcGuigan
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine, Thank you very much for your very kind compliments following your recent wedding. James and all the staff are delighted that your wedding went according to plan and that everyone enjoyed their meal & service in particular. It's great that everything was hassle-free although I know you and your sisters have wedding planning down to a fine art!!...

Northern Ireland
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We ate at the Cellar last night and thought that it was an excellent meal in great surroundings. The staff were very welcoming and were very efficient in their service. Our food arrived promptly and was wholesome. We enjoyed every course especially the ice cream sundae to round it all off. We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank quill-drill
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear quill-drill, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Cellar Restaurant following your recent visit. We are delighted that both the food and the service were excellent and everyone enjoyed themselves. We look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards Paula Wilson

Reviewed 11 August 2015

Me and my husband held our wedding reception here in the Glenavon House Hotel in July and we were delighted with it. From our first consultation with James right up to the day itself it was the easiest part of the wedding to organised. James was totally professional in every aspect of our big day we couldnt have asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bernice H
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bernice H Thank you for your very compliments following your recent wedding reception. Everyone here, especially James is delighted that everything from beginning to end went according to plan - we are so glad that it was the easy part for you both! Your very kind compliments about the venue, function room, staff, food, rooms and overall presentation of...

Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

We recently had our wedding in the Glenavon and have to say we had a great experience. From the very beginning when we were looking round the hotel we were nade very welcome by all staff. On the day of the wedding we couldnt have asked for anything more. James especially looked after us and we are very grateful! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah H Thank you very much for your very kind comments following your recent wedding reception. We were delighted to learn that the venue, food, bedrooms and staff met all of your expectations - James in particular is delighted that everything went according to plan! Thank you for taking the time to write your review - we believe future...

Banbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2015

The hotel rooms were in good condition, clean and nicely decorated, however that is all that was good about our stay. We were on a hen weekend and our experience at this hotel spoiled what had been a great weekend! From the hours of 2.00 until 4.30am there were men causing commotion in the corridors, banging on doors, trying to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Lolayoung
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lolayoung, As I outlined in my email to you and your friends I cannot apologise enough for the disturbance caused by the behaviour of these men which was totally unacceptable. However as I said I understood that there had been attempts to call reception over a period of time – one of your friends has since advised that her...

Cookstown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2015

Conference food was a bit disappointing and overpriced although staff were polite and helpful Everything was clean and tidy Definitely 3 star Parking quite good but getting out onto a busy road is nearly impossible

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ariann1980
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ariann1980 We were disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction following your recent visit to the hotel. In particular we were disappointed to learn that you felt the conference food was overpriced - our snack menu available at lunch time ranges in price from £3.25 to £7.50 and with 2 courses at £10.50 and a 4 course lunch priced at...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We choose the Glenavon hotel as our venue for our wedding reception in May 2015. From the beginning we were put at ease by the professionalism & friendly approach from all the staff. James was particularly helpful & answered all our questions & made all requests a possibility without a second thought! The function room was beautifully presented & the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjmc939
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sjmc939 Thank you very much for your very kind comments following your wedding in May. Everyone, James in particular, were particularly pleased that everything went so well and you were delighted with how everything went on your special day! We are delighted that your guests are planning to return and thank you again for your endorsement of the hotel,...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
4.7 km away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
3.0 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
216 reviews
0.1 km away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 km away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
29 reviews
35.3 km away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
641 reviews
35.4 km away
The Silverbirch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
62 bedroom hotel with Leisure facilities located on the banks of the Ballinderry River. Extensive conference, dining and banqueting facilities also available. Complimentary use of Club Riviera with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room sauna and fitness suite during guest' stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glenavon House Hotel

Address: 52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8QS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Price Range: $139 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenavon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Glenavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenavon Hotel Cookstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glenavon House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Glenavon House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“just ask and the girls will help in any way they can”
 of 5 bubbles jacquelineg601, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't know”
 of 5 bubbles 462edna, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one of the new rooms”
 of 5 bubbles thetotalpackage, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“quiet area in the out skirts of the town and no noise to annoy anyone. Lovely staff”
 of 5 bubbles Moke, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent as I have previously found out”
 of 5 bubbles Moke, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5