We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chimney Corner Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Chimney Corner Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chimney Corner Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 208: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this hotel due to its close proximity to the Belfast Stenna Line port. On arrival it looked like a bad choice but proved to be a very good stay indeed! The hotel is in the process of being modernised - the reception had been completed and was nice, bright and looking good. Lovely staff at check in, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
Loughview L, Manager at Chimney Corner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen W, Thank you for your kind words of praise. The team are delighted that you have enjoyed your experience of our restaurant, accommodation and our hospitality and service. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes from all at Chimney Corner Hotel.

Clarens
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

I arrived at the hotel, shown to a very old fashioned room, the noise from the road bothered me , so went immediately to reception, the helpful receptionist very kindly gave me another room on the quiet side, very dated , very stained carpet, cold until I turned up the radiator. Loo not functioning properly. Restaurant was a disappointment, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
Loughview L, Manager at Chimney Corner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela A, Thank you for your candid feedback. You have our apology that we have failed to meet your expectations. In this light, we have sent you a private message in the hope that you may allow us the opportunity to resolve this matter. We look forward to hearing from you. Until then, best wishes from all at Chimney...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

This is a handily placed hotel. Have frequented in many times, especially the night club. Took a couple of friends from out of town for a quiet drink and were impressed by the decor. Still a work in progress so will go back and see it when it's done!! The staff are excellent and it really looks well!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BelfastFoodTravelMan
Loughview L, Manager at Chimney Corner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Belfasttravelfoodman, I am delighted that you chose to visit the Chimney Corner Hotel. It is a pleasure to have been of service. Thank you for your kind words of praise; these will be shared these with the team which will further buoy their confidence and moral as we near completion of the refurbishment program. We look forward to your...

Sheffield
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night on business. Main reception had just undergone a refurbishment. Looks great. (New tables and chairs being delivered as I checked in) Stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms. Excellently modernised and well thought out. Staff really friendly Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank milky_uk
Loughview L, Manager at Chimney Corner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear milky_uk, Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you like the work we are carrying out to reinvigorate the offering at the Chimney Corner Hotel. We look forward to your welcome return. Regards, all at Chimney Corner Hotel.

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Stayed here as we had a early flight from airport next morning. It was all a bit chaotic . When we checked in we were sent to a fire door outside to enter the building but when we got there it was locked . We eventually got to our room past lots of renovation work . Room was fine nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidayseeker
Loughview L, Manager at Chimney Corner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear holidayseeker, Thank you for your considered and fair review. We are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. We look forward to your welcome return. please contact us directly so that we might handle your reservation directly and make some amends for this experience. Yours faithfully, All at Chimney Corner

belfast
Reviewed 10 October 2016

work in progress give it 3 months until new reception is built rooms are lovely but not finished big downside is only one bedside table on double bed and one set of switches no where for my glass of wine no where for drink during the night or heartburn liquid needs attended to right away had to climb over wife...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djchunky2006
Loughview L, Manager at Chimney Corner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear djchunky2006, Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your thoughts. Indeed, thank you for choosing to stay at Chimney Corner Hotel. We have taken your comments on board and will action accordingly. We are delighted in that our reception will be completed and operational for the end of October. Please contact us at info@chimneycorner.co.uk, so that...

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

While the work is going on it did look like a building site in parts, but we were given one of the new rooms and it was lovely, beds were very comfortable and breakfast was plentiful 😉 you do need ID to check in though

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
Loughview L, Manager at Chimney Corner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hugh M, Thank you for your kind review. Our refurbishment of the hotel reception is nearing completion, with the new lounge, residents' bar and log burning stove ready to welcome all by next week. Our beds and mattresses have received much praise and we are delighted that you enjoyed your night's rest. We look forward to your return. Best...

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the chimney corner 29/9/16 for 1 night whilst visiting family for a funeral. On pulling up outside we were very worried it looked dark and dingy as if it was derelict. However we were extremely surprised and pleased to find the inside warm and welcoming. The hotel is under refurbishment and when this has been completed I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mzblaze
Loughview L, Manager at Chimney Corner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mzblaze, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chimney Corner Hotel and many thanks for taking the time to share your positive review. We are working very hard to complete the refurbishment of the hotel, restoring this nostalgic venue to it's former glory. We are progressing well with the upgrading of all 62 guestrooms. The newly refurbished reception...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here last week for 3 nights and when we first pulled up to the hotel, we were very worried as the building outside looks battered and worn. Step inside and what a great surprise. Nice warm welcome, even though we were early checking in, great choice of food and drinks in the restaurant and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peggywilson91
Loughview L, Manager at Chimney Corner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear peggywilson91, Thank you for the very positive reviews. We look forward to your return, when there will be a glass of Clonmel, waiting with your name on it! Regards, from all at the Chimney Corner Hotel.

Reviewed 26 September 2016

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 3 days last week and when we first pulled up in the car we were apprehensive as the building was battered and worn. Step inside a minute later to realise we had nothing to worry about at all, it was stunning. We arrived early but they let us check in as our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
Loughview L, Manager at Chimney Corner Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Craig W, Thank you for joining us at the Chimney Corner recently. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Gerrard and the whole team will be buoyed by your words of praise. We all look forward to welcoming you back for a Valentine's retreat. Until your return, best wishes from all at the Chimney Corner Hotel.

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtownabbey
Corrs Corner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtownabbey
327 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
1,021 reviews
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maldron Hotel Belfast
#28 of 43 in Belfast
628 reviews
Dunadry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunadry
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Chimney Corner Hotel

Address: 630 Antrim Road, Newtownabbey BT36 4RH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Newtownabbey
Price Range: $91 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chimney Corner Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Chimney Corner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Corner Newtownabbey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chimney Corner Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Chimney Corner Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely choose the superior double room as these are the newly rennovated rooms”
 of 5 bubbles LettyDub, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't no what a good room would be ours was 221 at the back an advantage”
 of 5 bubbles djchunky2006, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay for a superior, it's worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles craigw993, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go back when the refurbishment is completed”
 of 5 bubbles jeweybabe, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“wifi is very weak in the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles bash99, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay