We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bishopstrow House

Save
Traveller (374)
Room & Suite (405)
Dining (66)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good31%
  • Average16%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“outdoor pool”(76 reviews)
“oval room”(26 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveller rating
368
282
148
56
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
368
282
148
56
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmulberry restaurantoutdoor pooloval roomspa facilitiesrasul mud treatmentsteam roomroll top bathrelaxation roomafternoon teamonsoon showerdouble showerspa breakdeluxe roomtennis courtscountry house hotelsecret escapesthe main house
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 909 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We visited Bishopstrow House for Sunday tea. We have been there a few times over the years and were interested to know how it's faring. The serving staff tried very hard but the front of house had an oddly 'heavy' atmosphere - at odds with...More

Thank s1mpkin
Reviewed 1 week ago

A friend and I recently visited for afternoon tea after pre booking. The service from start to finish was appalling unfortunately. Nobody was there to great us, we had to wait for serving staff - the staff appeared disinterested. Once seated, we were provided a...More

2  Thank Kathryn R
Response from Andrew C, General Manager at Bishopstrow HouseResponded 4 days ago

Dear Kathryn R, I am so sorry that you had such a disappointing visit recently. We are currently looking into your comments to understand why things went so wrong for you. Please do contact me directly so we can discuss your feedback. Many thanks Andrew.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I decided to treat ourselves to a one night break away. We didn’t book directly with the Hotel, but via pure luxury online. We obtained a one night stay for two, a glass of champagne each upon arrival, free use of the...More

3  Thank Michelle B
Response from Andrew C, General Manager at Bishopstrow HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Michelle B, Many thanks for your great review following your recent stay with us at Bishopstrow. We welcome all feedback from our guests, and I am so glad that the team looked after you both so well. I do hope to be able to...More

Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic day we had! From the moment we arrived on the day before the wedding we were very well looked after. The staff were amazing. Professional, friendly and welcoming. In the spa, the restaurant and at the bar everyone of the staff had...More

1  Thank JennyWiltshire
Response from Andrew C, General Manager at Bishopstrow HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear JennyWiltshire, I am so glad to read that your day was such a success. We certainly enjoyed having you and your family stay with us, there was a wonderful atmosphere in the house throughout. I will certainly pass your specific thanks on to Eric...More

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful and I’m pleasantly surprised that there’s such a nice hotel In the small town of Bishopstrow. All rooms are uniquely designed and comfortable to stay in. Elemis toiletries provided with all the necessary creature comforts. There’s a good hotel spa and...More

2  Thank Mulberry79
Response from Andrew C, General Manager at Bishopstrow HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mulberry79, I am pleased that we were able to surprise you with the quality and standards of the hotel and spa. Many people find the area an ideal base when visiting the West Country as many of the regions attractions are a modest drive...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hot Tub
Tennis Court
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$209 - US$429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$209 - US$429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (374)
Room & Suite (405)
Dining (66)
Pool & Beach (22)
Amenities (33)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
catsar123
24 July 2017|
Answer
Response from MARGOT W | Reviewed this property |
No sorry. Suggest phoning. Sorry can't be of more help.
0
Votes
Suzanne S
4 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Suzanne S | Reviewed this property |
Will try again but it seems they don't answer or put phone onto voicemail throughout the day !
0
Votes
Abi_M_G
10 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Graham H | Reviewed this property |
I believe access is included, but obviously any treatment would need to be paid for (massage, facial, etc).
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Can’t seem to rate service, sleep quality or rooms. Would rate them all as 4 out of 5."
Read review
"Nothing to say - you might be lucky - you might not. We weren't"
Read review
"Ensure if you are booking a Club room that it is not overlooking the pool"
Read review
"All rooms fab!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing