We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Abbeydale Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Abbeydale Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 186: English reviews
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovey, very clean, comfortable B&B. The room we had was no2 on the ground floor, it had everything needed & more for a night/weekend stay & the bed was very comfortable. The B&B was very warm, a little too warm for our liking. The lady who booked us in was very helpful telling us short cuts into town, nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

I have been here a number of times over the years and Donna & Jo are amazing lovely people who make your stay special always. I love this place, always have always will thanks guys. The rooms are clean and lovely and nothing is ever too much trouble and Jo and Donna make you feel at home. You are a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FJDB
Abbeydalehotel, Manager at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, we are intrigued who left such a lovely review for us. Thank you so much again & we look forward to seeing the mystery reviewer again. Donna Marie Bywater Manager

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

I was greeted with a warm welcome, my room was spacious and nicely decorated. There was plenty of choice at breakfast, with a range of cooked food and a choice of cereals, pastries, yogurt and fruit. The staff are attentive and service is very quick. All in all, a great stay in a lovely area!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey R
Abbeydalehotel, Manager at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review

Wow, what anoher brilliant review. Thank you for the comments, were very happy you enjoyed your stay & hope to se you again in the future. Donna Marie Bywater Manager

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

It is hard to think of a negative-seems most of my reviews are positive, guess I'm lucky and got better at what I'm looking for. I was booked into a single room it was smaller than some but had everything there you needed. I had good wifi, decent shower & a nice breakfast too. I think this place offered the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gappygrin
Abbeydalehotel, Manager at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review, were very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon Donna Marie Bywater Manager

Alnwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

As other reviewers have said, Donna and her staff go out of their way to make guests feel well at home here. It is small hotel with 12 rooms to let and one feels welcome as soon as you step through the door. The double bedroom was small but adequate for our needs and came with a bottle of water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank profjoypc
Abbeydalehotel, Manager at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review

What another great review. Thank you for taking the time to comment. We do hope you will return to the Abbeydale if your in the area again. Donna Marie Bywater Manager

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

My colleagues and I have been using this Hotel for around 3 months now. We use this Hotel when we are working locally and after using many others in the area we settled here. It is run by two wonderful ladies Donna and Josie who are always welcoming and ready to help out whenever they can. Breakfast is outstanding, freshly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robbyb27
Abbeydalehotel, Manager at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are looking forward to many more stays from you over the next few months. Donna Marie Bywater Manager

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2016

The three of us have just spent six nights at Abbeydale Hotel as our base to explore this part of Derbyshire and it was a good choice which we would recommend to anyone. Firstly, and most importantly, it is in a quiet location yet within a few minutes’ walk of the town centre. Breakfast is excellent, the rooms are clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selwyn R
Abbeydalehotel, Manager at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a lovley review, were glad you enjoyed your stay with us & hope to see you in future. Donna Marie Bywater Manager

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Just spent a night at abbey day Hotel,for a meet up with friends..I cannot speak too highly of the place..We received a warm welcome,nothing was too much trouble..Lovely staff..spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms.Nice touch with bottles of water,biscuits and chocolate,along with tea/coffee making facilities.. Very comfortable rooms,tastefully decorated..a little gem of a place.. Breakfast is the best I have had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
Abbeydalehotel, Manager at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for such a lovley review, Hope to see you soon. Donna Marie Bywater Manager Abbeydale Hotel

perthshire
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Although the people who run this hotel were very friendly, the overall impression is of a fairly run down place. There were some unidentifiable stains on the bedding and the painted, wooden toilet seat was badly chipped ( a health hazard in my opinion). The shower head was black. The rail for hanging some of the towels was right next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajenkinsPerthshire
Abbeydalehotel, General Manager at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay at the Abbeydale, & thank you for commenting on the staff friendliness, it is most appreciated. We do try to make all our guest feel welcome & if the issues had been mentioned then I would have gladly moved you to another of our rooms. Room 17 is a...

Reviewed 8 July 2016

My work booked me into this hotel for one night because the reviews looked good and the usual place was fully booked. The staff were very polite and welcoming and the breakfast was absolutely fine. I was booked into one of the single rooms (no 12) and it was horrible! I spent a few years in the military and i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
Abbeydalehotel, General Manager at Abbeydale Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Abbeydale. Unfortunately as your work company requested the cheapest single room available for just 1 night, this is what we had, although room 12 & its bathroom are quaint, it does offer everything that at overnight stay requires, with a few extras. I would have gladly moved you to...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesterfield hotels
1.5 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,224 reviews
0.5 km away
The Portland Hotel
The Portland Hotel
#4 of 15 in Chesterfield
531 reviews
1.1 km away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
#10 of 15 in Chesterfield
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Buckingham's Hotel
Buckingham's Hotel
#12 of 15 in Chesterfield
242 reviews
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Chesterfield North Hotel
8.9 km away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quality homely accommodation and restaurant five minutes from Chesterfield Town Centre with free private parking and free WiFi. The Abbeydale Hotel is located in a quiet part of the town, but still only 5 minutes walk away from the bustling town centre, with its famous market and Crooked Spire. Evening meals available but must be booked in advance. served from 6pm-8pm, Mon, Tues, weds, Thurs & Sat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Abbeydale Hotel

Address: Cross Street, Chesterfield S40 4TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield
Price Range: $97 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbeydale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Abbeydale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chesterfield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Abbeydale Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Abbeydale Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room No 2 on the ground floor is very pleasant, tastefully decorated, clean & comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles DonnaC887, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A lovely place to stay,comfortable rooms”
 of 5 bubbles susanwY8604OI, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I would choose a room in a different hotel personally.”
 of 5 bubbles ajenkinsPerthshire, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Not no 12!”
 of 5 bubbles jeffcC969HQ, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We had a room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles yvonnew246, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay