We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Peacock Bakewell

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Peacock Bakewell
See the most recent reviews
Showing 458: English reviews
Stoke on Trent
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited the Peacock with a view to booking a long weekend in a few weeks time. It is a beautiful place, the menu looked fantastic and the food smelt and looked delicious. However at this time we just wanted a drink and some information. However we were not able to ask as the 'pub' was full and I went in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Carol A
thepeacockbakewell, The highest form of ignorance is when you reject something you don't know anything about, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Quite frankly Carol A I feel it it you that has an identity crisis and a slightly bitter attitude, because Guy the waiter was not rude in any shape or form. He was simply very stressed, as you rightly say the Peacock was full to the brim and he was working his butt off dealing with taking out food, clearing...

Northeast Kingdom, Vermont
Reviewed 31 October 2016

After visiting Haddon Hall we were walking around Bakewell looking were to have a sandwich and coffee. Found the Peacock ,very friendly greeting served with the drinks,food arrived nice and fresh ,bags of taste. Thanks for the service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sdmmmtc2016
thepeacockbakewell, It isn't so much what's on the table that matters, as what's on the chairs, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Simply said, simply acknowledged sdmmmtc2016, so thanks for saying it as we are simple folk you know, but whether it's a sandwich and coffee or a meal fit for a King - we always promise to deliver! I 've got a simple rule about everybody - we treat everybody on equal terms, if they treat us the same! ….and Haddon...

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We popped in for a pint and drinks with the kids as it looked the best pub in the town after a quick scouting mission. Really warm and cosy pub . We ordered food as the menu looked good and from what we saw coming out of the kitchen we thought 'why not'. We were really impressed with the food...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Graham J
thepeacockbakewell, Success is the sum of small efforts, repeated day in and day out... at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Your post is honest and respectful Graham J, so a Big Thank you on that level. Sometimes it is due to how busy we are, it really is difficult to be personal to each and every individual, it really is, as we have to deal with the proverbial kitchen sink that is thrown at us, but I can promise you...

Reviewed 20 October 2016

A new visitor to Bakewell, I went to The Peacock on recommendation by a family member. It couldn't have been a better experience! The food is second to none, albeit a bit pricey at first inspection of the menue. Having had such a brilliant experience though, I don't mind spending the extra £s as they are well worth spent. I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dani U
thepeacockbakewell, If I have seen further... it is by standing upon the shoulders of giants, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Dani U - thank you for the kind words as your recommendation was fully qualified and what's a few extra quid when you get exactly what you command! On the subject of Thornbridge, trust me you will not find a better cask ale than what is supplied from the local brewery on Chatsworth Estate of Peak Ales, and the Chatsworth...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

We called in for a drink while we visited the lovely bakewell. I wanted 2 soft drinks and I am disabled on my walking stick. Never known anything like it. Everyone else was served in front of me when it wasn't there turn. I waited over 15 mins to get served. Finally I was served and when was given my...

 Report
Helpful?
15Thank ThePea1971
thepeacockbakewell, You must look into people, as well as at them, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

What a quite amazing review from ThePea1971, who if I didn't know better is taking the proverbial Pea with an eye! If we are busy ThePea1971, then surely everybody in front of you somehow I feel has the right to be served before you, or am I getting something wrong here, but trust me we are not and didn't notice...

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Nice pub food with a lovely beer garden! Inside is warm and comfortable. The peacock burger is a must and the homemade chips really make the meal! Worth stopping in for a bite sometime. Not cheap but worth the few extra pounds.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adam L
thepeacockbakewell, It's faith in something and enthusiasm for something that makes life worth living, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Thanks Adam L, as what more can you ask for than nice pub food, with the added incentive of a lovely beer garden in summer. Having food you describe as a must with homemade chips - hey not cheap, but when the right boxes are ticked I'd say worth every hard earned penny. Thanks again for taking time to post...

Yeovil
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Had a cracking meal here whilst on holiday with the family. The portion size was huge. We both had beef and ale pies and oh my gosh, they were delicious! Wish we had stayed in Bakewell longer as we would have definitely eaten here again. Would definitely visit if I was in the area again

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NicholsYeovil
thepeacockbakewell, Victories that are easy are cheap. Those only are worth having which come as the result of hard fighting, (with Honesty) at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Oh my gosh - an amazing review..... Thank you NicholsYeovil, but you are correct in every notion, be it brief, but that's what we like in reality - Honesty 'cos them there pies are amazing!!!

London
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the peacock for 2 nights over the August bank holiday weekend. From the desciption and photos on the website we were expecting a much higher standard of service and quality of food. One of the biggest disappointments was the level of customer service. The owner was rude and when we mentioned that we were...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank JustineChris
thepeacockbakewell, Have patience. All things are difficult before they become easy, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

So no wi-fi JustinChris and we are deemed to give poor customer service..... One thing in life you possess Justin or is it Chris is a lack of a sense of humour, because I was not in the slightest rude to you when you mentioned you couldn't obtain wi-fi in your room, I was simply trying to make light of...

Perth
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Went here with a group of friends and a baby. Serving food all day, which is a total bonus when large groups get together. Good selection of beers and food. Large portions of very good food, we had a number of different dishes and all were really good, a challenge to finish everything we were given, but too good to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cici C
thepeacockbakewell, To forget one's purpose is the commonest form of stupidity, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

What more could be added Cici C, other than Thank you for saying it, and saying it loud, clear and simple! Thanks again!

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Third night in Bakewell. Third best meal of the three to date. Session bitter is excellent. Wife's prossecco good as well. I ordered southern fried chicken which is prepared chicken breast strips with a really nasty barbecue sauce, an OK salad and bought in coleslaw. My wife had the Yorkshire with sausage and gravy. She had asked for the sausages...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Davebwiseman
thepeacockbakewell, The greatest act of faith is when a man understands he is not God, at The Peacock Bakewell, responded to this review

Not quite sure to start with this one but there is a famous quote 'wisemen say it looks like rain today', and Davebwiseman certainly has a rain affected approach when it comes to posting reviews...... I guarantee you will not find a nicer SFC than what we serve, it may not be the traditional Colonel Saunders recipe, (grease, bones and...

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (113)
Viewed
Double En Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Superior Double (17)
Viewed
Superior Four Poster (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.3 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
346 reviews
0.2 km away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.1 km away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#9 of 46 in Bakewell
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
4.6 km away
The Farmyard Inn
The Farmyard Inn
#1 of 4 in Youlgreave
214 reviews
0.3 km away
The Manners
The Manners
#15 of 46 in Bakewell
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Peacocok is a 200 year old, and very typical English pub set in the Centre of Bakewell Town. We offer accommodation varying from lovely traditional type rooms in the old stables fully converted with en-suite bathrooms (showers only) inc full English breakfast if booked direct with the Peacock as opposed to third party web sites - Book direct with the Peacock to achieve a better deal. The Pub has a very varied menu that is all prepared and cooked on the premises by very skilled competant chefs with many fantastic specials. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Peacock Bakewell

Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Price Range: $153 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Peacock Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Bakewell Hotel Bakewell
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Peacock Bakewell staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Torquay, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Peacock Bakewell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in an annex which only had one other room so it was lovely and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles C4618MQchristinec, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Can't comment. Ours overlooked the car park. Not great.”
 of 5 bubbles Classylady61, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We did not stay in the hotel, we only ate at the Peacock.”
 of 5 bubbles elke0604, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“great location”
 of 5 bubbles gaz-cope, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
“If you want en suite bathroom, make sure you state this when booking”
 of 5 bubbles UKTraveller1934, 22 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay