We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Unicorn

Show Prices
#3 of 5 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Unicorn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

725 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Unicorn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 720: English reviews
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We have stopped at this hotel before. Wonderful location and a beautiful building. Clean room but slightly disappointed we didn't have a room that overlooked the square. Fantastic evening spent drinking and eating. I love wetherspoons hotels.

Helpful?
Thank christine209940
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms so it's wonderful to hear that you happy with the standard we provide. Unfortunately due to the layout of the building we do only have a small number of rooms which have a view over the... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2016

The hotel is well located, the staff were polite and the pub is nice, but that's about as far as it goes. Otherwise, there's not a lot of good things to say. The rooms are alright and the bathrooms are spacious but they were a bit dark even with all the lights on. Also, they use the same cards to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jewel10012016
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear about some of the issues you faced while staying with us. Unfortunately, we had been waiting on a delivery of new key cards which had resulted in us limiting the amount of cards we provided as we were running extremely low. I'm glad the reception team were able to help with... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Stated at this hotel in early June for one night and I have to say we got excellent value for money as did not pay a huge amount. Rooms were very comfortable and had good facilities and the bathroom consisted of a shower as well as a bath. Excellently located hotel situated right in the centre. Would definetely stay at... More 

Helpful?
Thank JF7785
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We take great pride in the features and facilities in our bedrooms and it's wonderful to hear such positive comments from yourselves. Value for money is an important part of our establishment. We want our customers to be happy with the price the pay in both... More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2016

This was my first time using a Wetherspoon's Hotel and I was pleasantly surprised, the rooms are good well maintained clean and comfortable. Although they do not do a Breakfast with your booking you can get a reasonably priced selection from 7.00am in the main bar

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank glyn_a_clarke
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We take great pride in the features and facilities in our rooms so it's wonderful to hear positive comments from yourself about the standard we provide. Customer service and atmosphere are very important aspects of our establishment so for you to say we are nice, friendly... More 

Carlisle
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Friendly &I helpful staff , brilliant location . Car park is in Sainsburys car park at rear of building ,we have always parked here & never any problems only need to remember to have change with you for ticket machine .

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank Ian G
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us here at The Unicorn. Customer service is a vital part of our establishment and our staff work extremely hard to provide the best service they can. Hearing positive comments about staff being friendly and helpful is wonderful as it means we are achieveing our goals. We... More 

Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
198 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

We had a three night stay at the Unicorn, everyone was super friendly and helpful. We arrived late on a Sunday night to no spaces left in the car park so we parked in the Sainsbury's short stay (as the long stay car park in Ripon was otherwise occupied) but upon telling the reception, they said to move it to... More 

Helpful?
Thank LL_Apple
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us here at The Unicorn. We take great pride in the features and facilities in our bedrooms so it's great to hear that you were happy with the standard we provide. Customer service is an important part of our establishment so to hear positive comments from yourselves... More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2016

This is our second stay at The Unicorn. The hotel is perfectly located on the main square in Ripon. Just outside the door at 9 pm you can see the Horn Blower and he will tell you the history of Ripon as well as the story behind the tradition. The hotel is also near The Royal Oak pub and Cafe... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank Hia741
Bill J, Hotel Manger at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us here at The Unicorn. We take great pride in the features and facilities in our bedrooms so to hear positive comments from yourself is wonderful. Unfortunately, due to policy changes we now unable to charge food and drink to rooms which is why room service is... More 

Lancs
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Been here before and ok for the money, rooms clean and tidy, but on this occasion breakfast was poor, not hot enough probably pre cooked so tip is order something that needs cooking fresh like poached or scrambled eggs on toast otherwise ok

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank stevee682015
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our bedrooms so I'm glad to hear that you were happy with the standard we aim to achieve. Value for money is also important to us so it's great to hear you were happy with the price you paid for your stay. I'm sorry for the issues... More 

Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Second visit to the Unicorn Ripon, the staff were very helpful and friendly as always, the room was spotlessly clean with plenty tea,coffee milk and delicious biscuits. Will be returning soon as Ripon is an ideal location to see the surrounding places of interest.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank Rosie9MO
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We take great pride in the features and facilities in our bedrooms so to hear positive comments from yourself is wonderful. Customer service is an important part of our establishment and our staff work extremely hard to provide the best possible service. Seeing comments saying staff... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Excellent halfway hotel for cyclists doing the Way of the Roses. Great value, very friendly ,helpful staff, secure lock up for bikes. Good food ,especially good early breakfast for early depart. I would recommend the Unicorn to anyone doing this trip .

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank T7982VKtomh
Bill J, Hotel Manager at The Unicorn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us here at The Unicorn. Customer service and providing a good value for money are both vital parts of our establishment so to hear comments about our staff being friendly and helpful and the stay being good value is wonderful. It's great to hear you were happy... More 

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ripon
0.4 km away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ripon
692 reviews
0.3 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
417 reviews
16.0 km away
The Three Tuns Thirsk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
345 reviews
13.1 km away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,129 reviews
9.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The historic Unicorn Hotel has been at the heart of hospitality in Ripon, one of Britain's smallest cities, since medieval times. This former coaching inn has 32 en-suite rooms, a bar and dining facilities. Close to Fountains Abbey, a world heritage site, and the beautiful Yorkshire Dales National Park, Ripon is one of the North's best kept secrets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Unicorn

Address: Market Place East, Ripon HG4 1BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Price Range: $70 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Unicorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicorn Hotel Ripon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Unicorn staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Derby, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Guisborough, United Kingdom

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from The Unicorn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 209 lovely room with dressing room”
 of 5 bubbles NIC471968, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the hotel overlooking the town square are, I think, the best.”
 of 5 bubbles 920barryr, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is not a lift, and rooms start on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles thesilverfox20, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Away from the main road at the front or a higher floor room”
  • Unicorn Hotel Ripon Bathroom
  • Unicorn Hotel Ripon Bedroom
  • Unicorn Hotel Ripon Bedroom
  • Unicorn Hotel Ripon Bedroom
  • Unicorn Hotel Ripon Bedroom
  • Unicorn Hotel Ripon Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles 2014Jandy, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“At the back on the 2nd or 3rd floors”
 of 5 bubbles global-traveller48, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay