We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bosch Luys Kloof Private Nature Reserve

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ladismith
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Bosch Luys Kloof Private Nature Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 125: English reviews
Start your review of Bosch Luys Kloof Private Nature Reserve
 Click to rate
Cape Town
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The drive to Bosch Luys Kloof through Seweweekspoort prepares you for the magnificent setting that you are about to encounter. The cottages set against the hill are well appointed with luxury white, crisp linen and fluffy white towels as well as generous sized toiletries. Our cottage had a bath as well as a double outside shower which we used all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
Gerhard R, Owner at Bosch Luys Kloof Private Nature Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Reader Firstly , many thanks to Anne for going to so much trouble with such an extensive review . Much appreciated . We are glad that you enjoyed the week-end as Bosch Luys Kloof ! We never respond to reviews as a policy , but I feel I just want to comment very briefly . 1 Every chalet has...

St Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Having visited SA many times, this visit has to rank among our absolute best! From moment we arrived (after the 'challenging' drive down there!) we were welcomed like family friends. Our luxurious private lodge was in a stunning location with views across and down the valley to the distant mountains. Completely breathtaking at all times of the day - and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beitanne
Langebaan, South Africa
Reviewed 3 March 2017

When you descend down a narrow, gravel pass for about 700m, you know you are on your way to something you've never experienced before. And you wouldn't be disappointed... From the moment we were welcomed, we were made to feel extra special. The chalet was very spacious and luxuriously decorated and with a beautiful view of unspoilt nature.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snaair
Wendover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

The interesting drive in is well worth it! A lovely peaceful spot, the chalet was very clean and had fabulous views. The staff were great and very knowledgeable on the couple of drives that we took. All in all a fantastic couple of days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennydunsmore
London, Canada
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We had a 2-bedroom chalet with a magnificent view of the surrounding hills and mountains. Wonderful, very friendly and welcoming owners and staff. Very spacious, clean and nicely appointed accommodation. Excellent, beautifully presented meals, served with personal attention by the chef. Strongly recommend this Nature Reserve for its geological and botanical features, and some good viewing of various species of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anitacaveney
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We were a family travelling from Kenya in Western Cape over Christmas 2016. We stayed at Bosch Luys Kloof for 3 nights. It is in a stunning location off the beaten track, down a slightly hairy hillside road! If driving from the South you also pass through a wonderful mountain pass. Whilst very hot during the middle of the day,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AllyK2000
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

This is our second visit and we again teally enjoyed our stay. The staff are good and Dreick, the chef has gone through alot of effort to cater for my 88year old grandmother who is on a very strict diet. The food was excellent and we could really just relax. Everyone enjoyed the pool in the heat. Bruce was always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Lize D
Kusnacht, Switzerland
Reviewed 9 December 2016

The drive to B.L.K. was worth the effort by all means. Our expectations were fully met. We especially enjoyed the privacy of the very comfortable cottage. We thought the shower was a real treat - the feeling of being outside. The veranda was spacious with a unique view. We did not mind being off-line for a couple of days -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mdntravel
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

A 5 star experience all round. Derek's food is sublime, Bruce as a guide was not only very knowledgeable but helped deepen the bush experience. The grandeur of the setting is matched with the style and artistry of the lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
Nuernberg, Germany
Reviewed 28 November 2016

wonderful peaceful and secure location in a beatiful landscape . Awesome!! Very good outstanding service , wonderful breakfast ,lunch and dinner with fivestar rating . The chalets are spacious and offer a fivestar experience. Well done Derrick ,Bruce and your team.The owners Gerhard and Annchen are a wonderful and lovely people.The staff is very friendly. It is a " must"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ladismith
38.9 km away
Mymering
Mymering
#1 of 12 in Ladismith
361 reviews
39.5 km away
Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
Koedoeskloof Country Lodge
#4 of 7 in Ladismith
61 reviews
37.8 km away
Oaksrest Vineyards Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 km away
The Retreat at Groenfontein
The Retreat at Groenfontein
#1 of 19 in Calitzdorp
250 reviews
18.3 km away
River View Cottages
River View Cottages
#3 of 19 in Calitzdorp
30 reviews
31.6 km away
Ladismith Manor
Ladismith Manor
#4 of 12 in Ladismith
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unique and "out of this world!" A 14,000 ha mountain wilderness area with free roaming game in the Great Karoo offering a four star lodge and chalets and guesthouse with fantastic chef-prepared meals served in the lodge and included in the rates. Bosch Luys Kloof boasts extraordinary, unspoilt Karoo beauty and scenery for an all year round break-always. Guided nature drives in open Landrovers, nature walks, 4x4 routes, MTB and more! Malaria free. Contact us for a personalised quote year round! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bosch Luys Kloof Private Nature Reserve

Address: Seweweekspoort | Off Route 62, Ladismith 6655, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Ladismith
Price Range: $90 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosch Luys Kloof Private Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bosch Luys Kloof Private Nature Reserve staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cape Town Central, South Africa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bosch Luys Kloof Private Nature Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be advised: you will have to part with your cellphone or tablet! What a bliss....”
  • just beatiful
snaair, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All chalets have lovely views”
jennydunsmore, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not needed: all lodges have fantastic views and more or less the same interiors, I think”
  • View from our balcony with the super-moon
810annemettej, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sleep with the window and curtains wide open!!”
NeelsNel, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the Lodges are very comfortable.”
59PamelaB, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5