We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges North Sydney

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges North Sydney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

766 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 756: English reviews
ACT
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked a 2 bedroom apartment which was adequate for our needs (initially we were planning on having 5 of us, but ended up with 3). The hotel is older and certainly not flash, but it suited our needs for the location and price. Staff were lovely and helpful. Only downside was it was January, and (according to reception) due to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katherinem890
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My room on the second floor was quite dated, particularly the bathroom. The wall light wasn't working and the toilet wasn't flushing. They offered to move rooms but it was the evening and I was already settled in. Surely someone checks these things before allocating a room. Positives were the comfortable bed, good shower pressure and free WiFi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bopnbeep22
Murwillumbah
Reviewed 1 week ago

booked in for a 3 day stay just before New Years Eve Sydney style having not done this before. Staff very welcoming on arrival greeting us with a free drink from the bar and party poppers to help celebrate. We were on our way! Our room offered a great view of the harbour and surrounds from the 11th floor. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenafarious
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Jenafarious, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are pleased that you enjoyed the great views, location, and cleanliness of the room. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to housekeeping and our food and beverage departments. We hope to welcome you back to Rydges North Sydney again soon. Kind regards,

Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a very expensive(not worth at all) 1 BR apartment and instantly regretted as we stepped into the room...it was very old not in a charming rustic way but in a way which screams out...upgrade yourself ASAP!! Hotel staff was very nice but the hotel in itself was oddly located, AC just refused to work..rooms were very dirty..Will not book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rangoli V
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Rangoli V, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I apologize that you felt our product did not reflect the rates you were being charged. You concerns in regards to the maintenance and the cleanliness of the room has been passed on to our Maintenance & Housekeeping departments to follow up as this...

Bowral, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Checked straight in and out. Very dated hotel,dark and generally unappealing, tiny bathrooms too much furniture in 1 bedroom apartment, scruffy and dirty , noisy being above freeway, looks like it hasn't been upgraded in years. In fairness staff member let us check straight out with no fuss at all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mittagongmason
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear mittagongmason Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one and that we were not able to provide you with other room alternatives. We hope you can give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Rydges North Sydney for a more positive experience. Please feel free to contact...

Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked early in 2016 to ensure accommodation for New Years Eve. We arrived on the 30th late in the afternoon (for a 2 night stay) to a slow but adequate check-in. Near the check-in area was a set-up of sparkling wine, beer and orange juice with a sign indicating it was for Priority members (which we are). We finished...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank binduAustralia
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear binduAustralia Thank you for your comments and feedback from your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that the service you experienced did not reflect the standards of professionalism that we strive to uphold. Please accept my apologies for failing to meet your expectations. I can assure you that your concerns regarding our Food and Beverage Department...

Brisbane
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Think... NYE... Sydney... Harbour View Room... Requested Balcony... booked two months in advance... expectations are rising.. count down has been on for months....... Arrive to be greatly disappointed... no balcony and a tiny cosy room, for the next two nights... and can only see the tip of water as there is a huge building obstructed the 'harbour view'. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmyM1408
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear AmyM1408 Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced. I am however pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the room and the convenience of the location....

Mclean, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The new manger of this property Joanna Carruthers has her hands full with upgrading this property to the standards that she is ordinaarily used to. Though the rooms are comfortable and some have an amazing view this property could certainly do with a major refurb especially the bathrooms. I stayed in 2 diffrent rooms just to test the offerings and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobbyBatman
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear BobbyBatman, Thank you for your review. I am glad to read your overall experience with us was a positive one. We are very lucky to be in a location that offers great views for our guests and I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards,

Hawks Nest, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am a regular guest. Next visit 4 days over Christmas. Lots of family living nearby , but I like to be independent hence Rydges is for me a great location. Staff all fantastic. Can't wait for new chairs in dining room. Bed and pillows fantastic. Parking super and public transport nearby to all locations great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alaco31
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Alaco31, Thank you for your lovely feedback and continued patronage at Rydges North Sydney. We look forward to seeing you back soon. Kind Regards,

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here on business due to location. I arrived late at night. The reception service (wasn’t like the Four Seasons across the bridge) was average. I think they want to create a nightclub feel going by the volume of the music playing – just lacked the clientele. The room was sufficient. When I closed the curtains I saw a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunj74
Shaun D, Guest Relations Manager at Rydges North Sydney, responded to this review

Dear Sunj74, Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I have passed your feedback to our housekeeping team to rectify immediately. I apologise for the issues you had with the room. I hope you stay with us again for a more positive experience. Kind Regards,

484 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Park View Suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (100)
Viewed
Waterview One Bedroom Suite (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
0.7 km away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.7 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments North Sydney
2.4 km away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
McLaren Hotel
McLaren Hotel
#4 of 9 in North Sydney
188 reviews
1.5 km away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
338 reviews
2.2 km away
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges North Sydney is perfectly situated for the discerning traveller, within close walking distance to the North Sydney business district and only a short journey over the iconic Harbour Bridge into Sydney’s CBD. Completed in March 2011 a $2 Million accommodation upgrade included all corridors, completely refurbished bedrooms including carpet, curtains, cabinets, loose furnishings and freshly painted room. Dine in your room or MUNDO Grill and Bar offering an eclectic and exciting menu open 7 days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges North Sydney

Address: 54 McLaren St, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Price Range: $183 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges North Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Rydges North Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Sydney Hotel North Sydney
Rydges North Hotel Sydney
Sydney Rydges North Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges North Sydney staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges North Sydney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a higher floor to take advantage of some views offering harbour glimpses”
 of 5 bubbles Jenafarious, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Perhaps book over the phone to ensure the room you book is what you get.”
 of 5 bubbles AmyM1408, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I prefer 11th floor and down. A few of the top floor 12 have exhaust fan noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Alaco31, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check facilities before unpacking, room was noisy due to weather & expressway, - double glazing in the next upgrade may reduce.”
 of 5 bubbles 841DavidU, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“It is difficult to say what rooms are best as we did not see other rooms. If all rooms were like ours the hotel needs a serious update.”
 of 5 bubbles richm0nd16, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay