We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

McLaren Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
McLaren Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for McLaren Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 180: English reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2016

I've been staying here for 10 years and it is my home away from home. Friendly, well located near loads of restaurants, and easily affordable. They also have a small room at the front that lends itself well to small format functions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
pacrim, Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review

Hugh, As one of our long-time regulars, it is a pleasure to hear your positive feedback. See you soon! Kind Regards Billy

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 27 June 2016

The McLaren did live up to the reviews on TripAdvisor. It is located on a quiet street, an oasis amongst the commercial buildings of North Sydney. We walked to the train station, less than 10 minutes and caught a train to the city, all up less than 20 minutes. The hotel has a nice continental breakfast for $8 per person,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme D
pacrim, Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Graeme, This is a truly wonderful response, thank you for the fantastic review. Kind Regards Billy

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Stayed at this hotel many times - friendly staff and perfect location This time I stayed in the suite- One of the best beds I can remember sleeping in in a hotel Lush comfortable and hard to wake up - well done

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chery1954
pacrim, Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review

Room 3 (The Tara Suite) is indeed a classic, and we couldn't be happier to hear your thoughts! Kind Regards Billy

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

We had a spare of the moment night in the city, what a find this Hotel was. I felt I had stepped back in time. So much better than staying right in the heart of the city. We walked to the Hayden Orpheum to watch a movie through the back streets of North Sydney. Great night away very comfortable would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trace H
pacrim, Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review

Trace, we are so pleased to hear you loved staying here and we hope to be of service again on your next visit to North Sydney :) Kind Regards Billy

Merimbula, Australia
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights before travelling OS. This hotel did not disappoint. Olde world charm, spacious and comfortable room, fabulous location and reasonable price. So close to transport and great restaurants. Staff were friendly and helpful. Secure parking was a bonus. We will consider the McLaren when next in Sydney.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
pacrim, Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words Anne, we do hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit. Kind Regards Billy

Pokeno, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

What a great little place! A short visit to Sydney for a friends wedding was the reason for our stay and we loved it. The shower, although small was AMAZING! We originally were to be in an upstairs room but hubby asked to be downstairs. I think I would've preferred to be upstairs as we were in room 2 which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MousesInn
pacrim, Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at The McLaren and hope to see you again in the near future, Kind Regards Billy

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

I grew up in the lower North shore and returned to visit some family and friends. It is a hotel with great style. It is a beautiful building; the street was full of jacaranda trees. The room we stayed in was a little dark and humid; especially during when it was raining. Our clothes didn't dry up after the washing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zarasnlam
pacrim, Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We hope you choose to stay with us next time in town (P.S Book a Deluxe room and request a terrace, these rooms have a sunnier aspect :) Kind Regards Billy

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 5 April 2016

We stayed 3 nights here in a triple room. The hotel itself is quite close to North Sydney metro station (10-15 mins walk), neighborhood is quiet for a good sleep. The building is visibly aged but rooms and corridors are clean. Room size was OK and enough for our 3 bulk luggage. Shampoo was provided but only soap for body...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
pacrim, Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Alex, Thanks for the positive comments Kind Regards Billy

Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

We picked this place purely for its location as its round the corner from family but really lucked out with this place. Very good price for a city hotel, lovely comfy beds, great priced wifi and mini bar, superb shower (powerful!) and really close to transport links. Will be staying again on our next Aussie adventure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelaVeal
pacrim, Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this fantastic review!

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 April 2016

I usually stay with the big chains and due to pricing I thought I'd give this old world hotel a go given some of the reviews I'd read. While I appreciated the old world charm that they're going for I simply found my stay of 2 nights disappointing. Apart from the gent who was on when I checked in late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bainey23
pacrim, Manager at McLaren Hotel, responded to this review

Well this is a change from the extremely positive feedback we have received of late. First of all, I would like to sincerely apologise for the issues raised. We have obviously fallen well short of the high level of service we are renowned for. I will be speaking to the staff member in question regarding the check-out experience. With regards...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Sydney hotels
0.7 km away
North Sydney Harbourview Hotel
0.2 km away
Rydges North Sydney
Rydges North Sydney
#6 of 9 in North Sydney
755 reviews
1.5 km away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#1 of 1 in McMahons Point
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Urban St Leonards
Hotel Urban St Leonards
#1 of 3 in St Leonards
343 reviews
0.7 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments North Sydney
2.0 km away
Glenferrie Lodge
Glenferrie Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kirribilli
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about McLaren Hotel

Address: 25 McLaren Street, North Sydney, New South Wales 2060, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > North Sydney
Price Range: $173 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McLaren Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your McLaren Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mclaren Hotel Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from McLaren Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from McLaren Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would choose an upstairs room for light and view”
 of 5 bubbles CanberraConnie, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“on the road side, sunniest rooms still not noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles petaatpearson, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Every room we have stayed in was nice. Best to ask at time of booking as to what is available.”
 of 5 bubbles 78berylr, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our heritage room was upstairs (no lift), so ask if you don't want stairs (and possibly stay in the new section)”
 of 5 bubbles jolesley2014, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs to the front of the house - excellent room with plenty of space.”
 of 5 bubbles sharonsZ5929TA, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay