We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Reef Gateway Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Reef Gateway Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 21: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

16 ladies stayed 2 nights. All ladies were very happy and had no complaints. Ate at bistro 2 nights great food quick with multiple orders. All rooms very clean, beds super comfortable, all ladies very happy. Road noise not a issue with air con on.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, Thanks for the positive review. We are undergoing some improvements at the moment so hopefully we will be even better next time you visit! Regards Mark Wilkins

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

This is not the room we seen on the site very old room and paint coming off from wall bathroom is not looking good not happy and i feel like i wanna refund 😭😭😭 won't recommend to any of my friend. .....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylor C
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Taylor thanks for the feedback. Not sure which room you were in as room quality isn't usually an issue however we are renovating and fixing rooms currently. Did you address your concerns with particular room with front office? Im sure they would have been happy to move you. Which room were you in? Any further response here appreciated so...

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Worst Sleep I've experienced ever after 11 yrs of shift work. Currently on nightshift 6 of us were woken at 7:40 by a leaf blower ( Thank you to the lady whom reminded him of nightshifters sleeping there) however at 11:40 after just falling back to sleep the leaf blower and a jackhammer started to go to work.... I understand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M7998NYrichardm
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and our sincerest apologies in regard to this matter. Yes the venue is currently undergoing some renovations and maintenance. The tradesman have been notified of your complaint and we apologise it wasn't addressed sooner. Im told the jack hammer work has been completed so no more noise in regards to that. In future we will...

Brisbane
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Room 12 has a very noisy bar fridge, moans and groans all night long. The hotel was full both nights I stayed so I didnt ask for a room change. (School holidays) Room itself was large and comfortable. But view from window looks out onto an outside bar area, so can't leave curtain open as no privacy. Shower screen mouldy....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dingo_joe
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback Joe. The issues you have raised regarding room 12 have been addressed and fixed. We apologise for any inconvenience in respect to this matter. Generally the wi-fi is very good but recently there have been issues with the provider which is beyond our control. We will continue to monitor but generally there should be no problems....

Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Look this place has a great eating area and three bars. The lounge and gaming areas are close but nut to close. Its worthwhile having a meal there. Friday afternoon and the Sunday session are full of local, and they are colorful. The smoking area is right at the front of the public bar and this to me is always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
cyber1mark, Public Relations Manager at Reef Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the business John. We appreciate the kind words and feedback. The venue is about to undergo some renovations so hopefully this fixes some of the issue you mention with Public bars smoking etc. We hope you visit again soon. Regards Mark Wilkins

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

good lunch as always.. we always get the steak and it was cooked well. Pokies after.. All went really well and i will be back again. Cruisey atmosphere with plenty of seating. Heaps of car parking and a massive bottleo next door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Took the family for a last meal before leaving Airlie Beach and disappointed this place didn't live up to a recommendation. Drinks, 6 oysters, 2 kids and 2 adults meals for $100 is standard. What is not standard are the small servings - lack of lamb in the lamb curry, small undercooked vegetables with a steak nowhere near medium. Kids...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night on business. Service in reception was great, friendly and very helpful. I was in a standard room and "standard" it was. It was clean enough but old fixtures mad it look worse than it was...shower needs its grout re done as all mold underneath and it doesn't look pleasant and the glass needs a good scrub along...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KWandKO22
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 13 June 2016

I stayed here for two nights on business. The rooms are huge and very neat and comfortable. Having the bistro only metres from the room allowed easy access to dinner after a big day out (in my case, on business). The staff are great, and the food is not bad. The only criticism I have is that the steaks are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
Australia, QLD
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We were very happy with the hospitality we received from the staff. They were very accommodating and cheery. The accommodation was clean and comfortable, the bathroom needed a facelift, but worked. The restaurant was good, food was fine and had a lovely play area for children. For a short stay and a family this is ideal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou L

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonvale
3.3 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 9 in Airlie Beach
366 reviews
4.7 km away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 9 in Airlie Beach
320 reviews
2.6 km away
Seabreeze Tourist Park Airlie Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat
Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat
#4 of 14 in Airlie Beach
80 reviews
4.4 km away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 9 in Airlie Beach
991 reviews
4.0 km away
Airlie Beach Motor Lodge
Airlie Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Airlie Beach
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Reef Gateway Hotel

Address: 38 Shute Harbour Road, Cannonvale, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Cannonvale
Price Range: $112 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Reef Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Reef Gateway Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Reef Gateway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi useless when using my ipad - avoid room 12 noisy fridge.”
 of 5 bubbles dingo_joe, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Maybe bring some cereal and fruit with you for breakfast, or go up the road to Airlie Beach for breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles simonmH6472NG, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Cab was under $20 in the evening or bus stop outside establishment”
 of 5 bubbles LouL409, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Room 4 was a great location....short walk to bistro/bar.”
 of 5 bubbles CORCO55, 30 Aug 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay