We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Driftwood

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Driftwood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 167: English reviews
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 11 September 2016

we choose the studio without breakfast because we wanted a washing machine, having been on the road for 3 weeks. the rooms were good sized except for the bathroom that was tiny. we had a refrigerator, stove, kettle and pots,etc. made our own breakfast. location was easy into the town and good for the ring of kerry

 Report
Helpful?
Thank babs014
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We stayed in what they called a studio which had a kitchenette complete with stove, washer, cooktop, plate, cups etc. It was very nice, clean with great water pressure. The bed was in the same room as the kitchenette and the back room was nice to put bags and the bathroom. The bathroom was very small. Over all the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

The room was nice, spacious and clean, the hosts were lovely and the B&B was maybe 15 minutes walk from the centre of Kenmare. However breakfast was very disappointing. I'm lactose intolerant and ordered scrambled eggs without any milk or butter. I was asked if I'd like them to be made with water instead. Baffled, I said no thanks. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aoife S
ackerKentUk, Owner at Driftwood, responded to this review

Thank you for finding the time to review your stay with us, however we do not have any record of this stay or your breakfast request or in-fact any particular food intolerance pre-arranged before arrival to enable intolerance food to be in stock. However we do appreciate comments about our bedrooms and cleanliness. As the cook I have not given...

Bangor, Maine
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

A very nice stay, quiet, relaxing and great breakfast! The hosts are wonderful as well! We had a perfect stay at driftwood! The rooms are clean and well maintained and the location itself is just a short walk from downtown kenmare where there are a bunch of quaint shops and pubs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juliebouch2
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We stayed at the Driftwood and it was the only B and B we stayed at during our time in Ireland.. It was far better than the two hotels in Galway and Dublin in every way! When my sister needed to see a doctor for a serious injury, Mignonne immediately gave me the name of her own physician and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Stayed for a few days while touring around the Ring of Kerry. Peter and Mignonne were excellent hosts. The room was very clean and just the right size for two people. They gave us options for breakfast each morning and they didn't disappoint. The B&B was just a 10-15 minute walk to the downtown. I would certainly recommend to anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smitr2002
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Rooms are spacious, comfortable with the basic amenities. Room in back and had nice little balcony. The hostess was exceptional!! Friendly, helpful and even shared her brown bread recipe. Breakfast was all quality. Nice place to stay if visiting Kenmare.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark1410
Ontario CANADA
Reviewed 28 May 2016

I would agree with other reviews in that the rooms were clean and well furnished with large comfortable beds and wonderfully clean linen. Peter provides a good breakfast and both he and his wife gave us excellent recommendations for exploring the Ring of Kerry. we went as far as Valentia Island and then doubled back to this B&B and that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenOntarioCANADA
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Peter and Mignonne were so lovely to me when I stayed there. I lost my purse when I was out and they personally went around the town to find it for me. It was handed in somewhere and everything was still in it! How kind and honest of everyone concerned, thank you so much. I thought Driftwood had such a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dezer2016
Castle Rock, Colorado
Reviewed 5 May 2016

This was the only B&B that we stayed 2 nights at and we were so glad we did. We loved the city of Kenmare but more importantly loved Peter the host. He gave great recommendations and we say a lot due to his recommendations. He also provided maps and brochures for us that we found very helpful. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m0untainjess

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
1.2 km away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
863 reviews
1.0 km away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
849 reviews
1.0 km away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
578 reviews
0.0 km away
Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
0.8 km away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#3 of 63 in Kenmare
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The contemporary 4 star rated property is ideally situated on the edge of Kenmare and a short walk into the town. All 3 bedrooms are presented to a very high standard and all en-suite. A fine eye for detail by the owners and complimentary tea/coffee, shower and shampoo and free WI-FI ensure a very comfortable stay for guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Driftwood

Address: Killowen, Kenmare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Price Range: $98 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Driftwood 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Driftwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Driftwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We took the whole top floor and all rooms were great. There is a balcony to sit on in back but we were on the go and never used it.”
 of 5 bubbles elleng310, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We looked at all rooms as it was really quiet, they were all very good and there was also an apartment available to rent for short stays.”
 of 5 bubbles au-fait-with-bali, 3 Dec 2015 | Read review
“They are all good”
 of 5 bubbles Mapleleaftshirt, 10 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Any of the rooms upstairs are very good. Also the appartment is very comfortable and private.”
 of 5 bubbles InezMahony, 18 Aug 2014 | Read review
“I am not sure if the 2 rooms in the back are larger and more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles sherrieseg, 22 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay