We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Holyrood Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Holyrood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,022 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Holyrood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,017: English reviews
Bel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just arrived back home from the holyrood, my mum and my daughter and I had a brilliant time again, this was are 3rd time in 4 months off staying here, all the staff are wonderful especially Jade that works in the restaurant as she remembered us and also Sean B that works in the bar and the reception staff also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen M, thank you for your kind comments. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and your wonderful family to the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service and hospitality your received, and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Sincerely Audrey Mc Eniff More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just finished a relaxing weekend break away at this quite entertaining and excellent hotel. The venue is situated beside the beautiful Atlantic ocean, with a wondering scenic cliff walk at your doorstep! The rooms are spacious, staff friendly and courteous along with an excellent carvery dinner each day! Really recommend it to all types of families!

Helpful?
Thank toaladrian
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear toaladrian, thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at The Holyrood Hotel . I am delighted that you enjoyed all the hotel has to offer and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely Audrey Mc Eniff More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Having stayed here at least 20 times over the years I have to say that the weekend of 21st October was our last. On 6 separate occasions we complained to reception that the TV did not work and each time were given a pitiful excuse. The last being that all tvs in the hotel were playing up. Having spoke to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Evans2010
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Evans2010, as a long time customer of the hotel I am very disappointed to read your review. I can assure you that we are certainly not in the business of lying to our valued guests. There was indeed a problem with the tv signal on the occasion of your visit. From what we understand an electronic device being used... More 

County Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We had to ask for a different room as the one we were allocated on arrival was very noisy due to the fact the kitchen fans were just below our window. The second room was very dull with poor lighting. The wifi and television only worked intermittently. Our room wasn't serviced on the 2nd day, reception were notified but no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Glynis B
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Glynis B, further to your recent stay with us. I am most disappointed that on the occasion of your stay with us, the service and hospitality you received did not meet your expectations. The Holyrood is a family run hotel and it is certainly not our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy with the service and... More 

Belfast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I am just back from the Holyrood hotel and had a brilliant midweek break with my Husband and 5yr old Grand-daughter. We went on the midweek 2 nights bb&d offer and got the third night free including breakfast. This offer was excellent value and saved us money with food being included. All the staff from reception to room staff to... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulamurf
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear paulamurf, thank you for your kind comments. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and your wonderful family to the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service and hospitality your received and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. Sincerely Audrey Mc Eniff More 

1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Visited the holyrood wkend of the 21st Oct. We where welcomed at reception by the friendly receptionist. Booked in our room and then ate in the bar, friendly staff and good entertainment that evening. Visited the spa on the Saturday but unfortunately couldn't have our seaweed baths as someone had overstayed their booking and we had plans, but we still... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie C
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie C, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you did not get the opportunity to avail of your seaweed bath, we will certainly arrange a complimentary bath on occasion of your next visit. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you will visit... More 

1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Fabulous value ! Staff were lovely were always helpful . Room was spotlessly clean . The food was delicious . Had a lovely walk along the seafront . Seaweed bath was great ! The hydrogen bath was broken so we got 2 seaweed baths . Spa area very clean . A few shops to browse! Will be back in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna G
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donna G, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service and hospitality you received. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Sincerely Audrey Mc Eniff More 

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

What a Great wee hotel , very comfortable atmosphere ,staff very helpful and could not do enough fer you ,rooms bright and spacious and food was really really good ,would go back any time and the price was good and included a treatment at their Spa.

Helpful?
Thank rosiemullan22
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosiemullan22, thank you for your kind comments following on from you recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience . We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Sincerely Audrey Mc Eniff More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Don't normally write bad reviews but this place takes the biscuit! Worst dinner out in my life, staff were terrible in the restaurant. One waiter even tried stealing my change of a fifty and became stroppy when I asked him for it back 40 mins later! One possitive was the seaweed and hydrotherapy baths.

Helpful?
2 Thank Albatross222

Travellers are raving about these Bundoran hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

We booked the weekend deal with the hotel and the hotel confirmed by email that we had requested the luxury suite and I confirmed before going that we were getting it and got an email back to say yes there was a note left fir us to have it as it was the only reason we were going down was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ciaran T
Management321, General Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ciaran T, following on from your comments in your recent review. I have investigated this matter. On September 20th our receptionist confirmed that we had reserved for you a newly refurbished room with a seaview at a rate of €98 per person for 2 Nights Bed & Full Irish Breakfast and Dinner on 1 Evening. We do not have... More 

321 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Other (131)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundoran
0.3 km away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
946 reviews
0.1 km away
Allingham Arms Hotel
Allingham Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bundoran
330 reviews
0.1 km away
Fitzgerald's Hotel
Fitzgerald's Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bundoran
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bundoran
316 reviews
22.0 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
667 reviews
9.1 km away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Price Range: $131 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Holyrood Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Holyrood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring some biscuits as none are supplied with the tea / coffee in the room ,”
 of 5 bubbles pattyUlster, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the sea are good”
 of 5 bubbles Bracken2014, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room was facing the Atlantic I don't have any complaints”
 of 5 bubbles rosiemullan22, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“get a front facing room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles ethnamurray1, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room far from the bar if you dont want to hear loud live music in your room”
 of 5 bubbles 355clarer, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay