We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Waterside House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Waterside House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

581 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 568: English reviews
Start your review of The Waterside House Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great place Fully recommended Great staff Great food. Business took place and all were happy. Keep up this standard and remain great. We had food looking out on the sea magnificent. This is the place to stay and impact yourself. I will be recommending this to all local my colleagues.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly hotel .Personel delectable that cares about its guests. Very good food, quiet rooms . Big plus location of the hotel is the optimal combination in each direction, not big money moving train for business or pleasure. Best regards: E.Nowakowska

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elżbieta N
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Elzbieta, Many thanks for your kind review of Waterside House Hotel. Delighted that you enjoyed our food and views from the hotel and we always strive to be the friendliest hotel in the area! Hopefully we will get a chance to welcome you back again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I spent one night in Waterside House Hotel with friends.We had a couple package booked with dinner and breakfast in bed.When we arrived at the hotel I had a good inpression as hotel looked nice.We checked in and went to see our rooms. The rooms were small but nice until we had a closer look.The bath and toilet seat were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulina F
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Paulina F, Thank--you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay with us here at Waterside House Hotel. Your comments regarding our bedrooms are noted and I am delighted to say that there are plans for a refurbishment. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First thing we notice in the room was the view from the window which was amazing right beside the beach. Then we relised that the room was a bit dated but wasnt really bothered by this. The bathroom was nice .We had dinner in the down stair Tower Bar and Bistro. Which was Ok, wasnt keen on the Steak, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily J
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Emily J, Thank-you for taking the time to submit your review. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed our magnificent views overlooking the sea and found our chocolate brownie for dessert lovely. I do apologise for the noise during your stay, I personally was not made aware, but we would of course taken some action if we were...

Magherafelt
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked in for 2 nights for my birthday and had a great time. Our room was gorgeous, the view was beautiful and the staff were so helpful and pleasant at all times no matter when we spoke with them or what we asked for, I can't fault anyone or anything. The kind lady at the reception even advised us that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magherafelt_Claire
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Magherafelt_Claire, Many thanks for your kind comments. So delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Waterside House Hotel for your birthday - many happy returns! We do hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely loved this hotel! Could not say enough great things about this place. The view is spectacular and makes being a little out of the way 100% worth it! The staff are very accommodating and we're always willing to give me advice and even call me taxis. The food at the hotel is wonderful and the service at Tower Bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylor P
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Taylor P, Many thanks for taking the time to submit your comments on Trip Advisor. Speaking on behalf of all team here at Waterside House Hotel, we were delighted to read your review and that we contributed to making your first trip outside the USA such a memorable one. Whilst we admit we could do with a revamp (and...

Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 14 February 2017

well got there girl couldn't find booking finally got room at ten 0 clock in the evening .Girls on reception were lovely manager on the other hand needed lessons in manners very rude food was lovely room were wedding held was fab the bedrooms when finally got in it was dirty outdated in bad need of renovations.only thing got going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisabrowne352
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello lisabrowne352 Thank-you for taking the time to submit your comments. I am pleased to read that enjoyed the wedding here and the views out to sea. I do understand that there was some confusion on your reservations and you have been speaking with another member of our management team. Hopefully we will get a chance to welcome you back...

Reviewed 13 February 2017

To start off when we arrived we were told that we had no booking even though we had email confirmation on are phs told to wait in bar until it was sorted. 2 hrs later hotel receptionist finally came to find us they had sorted a lovely view room for us & that are meal had been upgraded to samphire...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth G
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Elizabeth G, Thank-you for taking the time to leave your comments. I do apologise for any confusion with regard to your reservation with us here at the hotel. Our Samphire Restaurant, with views across to Lambay Island, opens for Dinner on Friday & Saturday and Sunday lunch as detailed on our website. We are planning a refurbishment of the...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We arrived to the hotel Friday evening. Our plan was to have a nice, relaxing evening with dinner here, a walk at the beach and return home refreshed. We were greeted by friendly staff on our arrival. We got a good old fashioned metal key to our room. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy, with worn but lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel P
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Daniel P, Many thanks for your concise review of the hotel from your recent stay. There is no excuse for not having the correct stopper in the bath-tub and I do apologise about the mix-up regarding the bottle of Prosecco. It is evident that we do need to 'up our game' with certain aspects of the hotel and we...

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Disappointing, very poor service....shouldn't have bothered. Girl was very polite but just too bust in the bar. View is amazing. Food was OK. Wouldn't be bothered going back. Left for an hr with one tiny cup of tea! Not what afternoon tea should be like.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zarazu1
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Zarazu1, Thank-you for taking the time to submit your review after having Afternoon Tea with us here at Waterside House Hotel. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed, but please feel rest assured that we are reviewing our complete offering and I do hope we will see you return and experience our amazing view. If you do...

257 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donabate
3.8 km away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,445 reviews
5.6 km away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
4.8 km away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
3,577 reviews
15.2 km away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
749 reviews
10.5 km away
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Waterside House Hotel Dublin boasts 35 well appointed bedrooms. Nineteen of the bedrooms, over look the sea and have every facility to enhance your comfort. Just a stones throw from this beautiful sandy beach and with panoramic views of Howth Head, Lambay Island and Malahide, we will ensure your stay will be a stress free and tranquil experience. If you prefer the warm green colours of Ireland, then choose one of our rooms overlooking the greens of the local golf course. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Waterside House Hotel

Address: Donabate On The Beach | Dublin Airport, Donabate, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Donabate
Price Range: $101 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Waterside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Waterside House Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Waterside House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea facing room a must.”
 of 5 bubbles padraigboylan666, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles THE-DOWN-CLAN, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Balcony rooms! Pay the extra tarif for the views!”
 of 5 bubbles Dellie72, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get an ocean facing room and preferably one with a balcony.”
  • Jacuzzi tub in the mirror.
 of 5 bubbles OdellPeeps, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Well worth paying the extra for a sea view room.”
 of 5 bubbles Lorief, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5