We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Waterside House Hotel

Booking.comUS$115*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Waterside House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

600 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 586: English reviews
Start your review of The Waterside House Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's 00:20 in the morning, there is a loud band playing directly below the bedroom, the staff have been rude and aggressive about the noise ... what an awful experience. Stay the hell away from this place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noel M
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello again Noel M, We appreciate all genuine feedback here at the hotel. Every weekend we have live music in our Tower Bar which is enjoyed by locals and residents alike - we also run a courtesy bus from Donabate town. I am sorry that the music did disturb you and I know you spoke with the manager on duty...

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is probably the worst hotel I have stayed in. We were "upgraded" to a sea view. Rooms are small with very poor facilities. Our shower was broken and wash basin blocked. Plaster falling from damp patch in bathroom ceiling. Filthy carpets. Food was reasonable. Only saving grace was nice friendly staff, hence the 1 star.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor O
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Trevor O, Many thanks for submitting your comments. From your previous reviews on Trip Advisor, it is disappointing to learn that we are the 'worst hotel' out of the lot. Whilst we acknowledge that there are improvements to be made, we by no means think we are the worst. I am however glad you find our staff nice and...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

My Wife and I visited The Waterside Hotel bar for lunch on April 3rd. We have had lunch there on a few occasions and have found the food pretty good and reasonably priced. However on this ocasion we both ordered chowder and I have to say it was definitely the worst we have tasted. There is no way that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 269Barrie45
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello 269Barrie45,] Thank-you for taking the time to submit your comments and I do apologise that the chowder was not to your standard on this occasion. I am glad to read that on the occasions before, you found the food to be good and reasonably priced, so please feel rest assured that this was an isolated incident and I do...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've previously reviewed this hotel as we had our wedding here & had numerous problems however the day itself went off without a hitch but that is pretty much all I can say about it. Every single time I've visited this hotel there's been a problem. Even when we visited for our anniversary for the free meal & overnight stay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selinab_85
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Selinab_85, Many thanks for submitting your review. I trust you already had received and read our response via E Mail which was sent in reply to your original comments which we received here at the hotel. If we can assist further, please do not hesitate to contact us again directly.

Heber City, Utah
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Plus! On the beach! We had fun looking at the sunset! We picked it for the beach and close to the airport after a long flight! Plus! Great staff! Minus-to get to the lift you have to walk through the pub/dining room. It felt weird! Minus--Rooms needs updating. Shower had mold, toilet was hard to flush!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adraval
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Adraval, Thank-you for taking the time to submit your comments via TripAdvisor, we appreciate all feedback. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed the views with the sunset over the beach and our 'great' staff. We are currently planning an upgrade of the rooms and yes, to access the lift you do have to walk through our...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Waterside is in a cracking position parked on the rocks above the beech ,near the airport next to several good golf coarse BUT all is not good. Let me tell you the good things first position, the staff, the food an the sun sets but on the other hand to say its dated is a joke its far past...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walt h
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello walt h, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our location with the sea-views. There are plans to refurbish parts of the hotel, so if you were to return, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at sales@watersidehousehotel.ie I am sorry that the hotel was not up to your...

sligo Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First off I have to say I have stayed in various standards of accomodation over the years and all I expect is a clean room which is fit for purpose. This hotel failed me on both accounts. We booked a family room through Supervalue Breaks for €75 B&B.I travelled here with my Husband and 2 children for 1 night as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maeve2005
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Maeve2005, Many thanks for your review from your recent stay with us - we do value and appreciate all feedback. If you do decide to stay with us again, please contact me directly at sales@watersidehousehotel.ie and we will make sure that your stay is as comfortable as possible. There are obviously some ways we can improve the hotel and...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Basically i came here for two nights with my partner for my birthday as i thought it would a nice get away! Oh! How I was wrong! First, our room wasn't ready on arrival but ya know these things happened. Second when i booked the room over the phone I ask for a sea view room...i was put on room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Katie W
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Katie W, Thank-you for taking the time to submit your review. Please could you E Mail us directly at sales@watersidehousehotel.ie so we can address this matter directly.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My Husband and I had a lovely time. Staff are very friendly, food is lovely. The view from the room is great and the bed is nice and comfy. Also breakfast is great. It's right on the beach so great for a walk. We also had afternoon tea there which was lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mabel B
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mabel B, Thank-you for taking the time to submit your positive comments here on Trip Advisor. I am so glad to learn that you found our staff friendly and food lovely. Yes, the views are lovely from our hotel and I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back so you can experience them again

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Looks like Francis Brennan told them that an afternoon tea service would be a good money spinner. So the room with the sea view was decorated and the 3 tier cake stand / tea rack purchased. However somebody forgot to explain the concept to the staff. An offer of coffee for afternoon tea? A request for Earl Grey was met...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donal B
WatersideHouse, Manager at The Waterside House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Donal B, Many thanks for your comments and they did make us smile! We will soon be launching our Summer Afternoon Tea here at Waterside House Hotel on May 1st - I do hope you will join us. It is quite surprising how many people request coffee with their Afternoon Tea and when possible, we always oblige here at...

280 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (255)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donabate
3.8 km away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,468 reviews
5.6 km away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
4.9 km away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
75 reviews
14.1 km away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
3,664 reviews
15.2 km away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Waterside House Hotel Dublin boasts 35 well appointed bedrooms. Nineteen of the bedrooms, over look the sea and have every facility to enhance your comfort. Just a stones throw from this beautiful sandy beach and with panoramic views of Howth Head, Lambay Island and Malahide, we will ensure your stay will be a stress free and tranquil experience. If you prefer the warm green colours of Ireland, then choose one of our rooms overlooking the greens of the local golf course. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Waterside House Hotel

Address: Donabate On The Beach | Dublin Airport, Donabate, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Donabate
Price Range: $112 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Waterside House Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Waterside House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother”
trevoro189, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea view would have been good!”
Adraval, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“i would say phone a friend or buy a raffle ticket,the front has the views but carnt comment on the quality”
510walth, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea facing room a must.”
padraigboylan666, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
THE-DOWN-CLAN, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$115* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$115
PricelineUS$115
Expedia.comUS$115
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates