We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Island View Hotel

View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Island View Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Island View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 71: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Two of us stayed here while on a flying trip to Malahide. Despite notifying them of our arrival time, there was no-one on reception, and we had to go into the bar from where a staff member was summoned. The same happened when we were checking out. This is more of a pub-restaurant with rooms than a hotel. The room...

1Thank Maytrea
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Had a beautiful meal here on Easter Sunday waited a while in the bar up stairs to be seated but when we got to the restaurant we waited another half hour to be served no apology from the waiter Spanish I think . Will go again but not on a day like this

Thank Montilla4
Reviewed 24 March 2016

As I only needed a place to sleep it didn't really matter how or where the location was. Very basic , not too clean . If could use some new bathrooms . The main light controlled all the lights in the form , which I found a bit frustrating . There was a kettle and some tea , coffee and...

Thank KateCatrinel
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

My husband and I decided to try this establishment for Sunday lunch - never again! We both had the roast beef and while the food was average at best what turned both of us off eating was the lack of cleanliness - the cutlery trays were filthy, the tables weren't cleared or washed down and there seemed to be very...

Thank pennykavanagh
shar36, Manager at Island View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review as all feedback good or bad aids us in trying to improve our standards. I was surprised to read that the cutlery tray was dirty as all trays were thoroughly cleaned and cutlery polished before opening for business that morning as is done everyday. As you stated there was a large queue on the...

Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Just got back from a great two night stay at the Island View. We arrived (28 of us) Saturday afternoon and left Monday lunchtime. Had a brilliant stay. Can't thank all the staff enough for being so helpful and friendly during our stay. The rooms were lovely and clean. Breakfast was very great. Thanks again Tony and all your staff....

Thank Rob H
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here two nights staff very friendly and helpful rooms very clean and tidy and very warm breakfast was best we've had in a long time had dinner on both nights in hotel it was lovely and good quick service and welled priceed will be back Thanks to all the staff enjoyed our weekend

Thank Nobbymt1
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

This hotel is in need of some renovation. Beds and mattresses were old and uncomfortable. The rooms were surface clean,but on closer inspection,the cobwebs were thick. The staff were either rude or just didn't care,especially the very tall,thin "gentleman" behind the bar,he had absolutely no customer service skills at all. The only good thing was breakfast. Top marks to Joan...

1Thank sheend61
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

What a horrible dodgy place! From the minute you try & open the front door...this place is just awful. Reception area in shambles...zero friendliness or information from person checking us in. Extremely dirty & ugly. Island view? Ha! Our view was a construction site (see picture of our view) Worst place I've stayed in a long time.

1Thank Ellewall
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Reviewed 12 June 2015

We booked this hotel last day of our stay in Ireland to be closer to the airport and looking for something cost-effective on Friday when the prices seems to be higher in Dublin and around. Staff is semi-helpful, hotel seems old, not very big rooms, from window we saw technical "patio" only, not a sea. Hotel has a parking. Breakfast...

3Thank Gaginho007
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

We went to Oscar Taylor's for my mother in law's birthday dinner. We have dined there before and it was ok. Just ok. But this time around the whole dining experience was bad. Seriously bad. We had a table of 12, with 4 kids, so managed to see quite a lot of the starters and mains. The food is poor....

3Thank Dorota O
Ronan K, Manager at Island View Hotel, responded to this review

May I thank you for your review as it is only with customer feedback that we can improve our standards. I regret to read that you did not enjoy your meal as we pride ourselves on the standard of our food and service as you can see from the majority of reviews. When we have fallen down however the lack...

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (17)
Room/Suite (2)
Dining (3)
Bathroom (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malahide
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,482 reviews
2.0 km away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
345 reviews
2.5 km away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
The Waterside House Hotel
5.6 km away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
6.6 km away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Island View Hotel

Address: Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Malahide
Price Range: $110 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Island View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island View Malahide
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Island View Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Island View Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only small amount of room so I don't think it would make much difference which on you choose”
susancO1078CW, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“As we were not staying in the hotel I do not know about accommodation facilities.”
455eileeng, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay in hotel but eat elsewhere.”
, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 2 was nicely located- didn't see others so hard to assess.”
bear100no, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 was grand”
CRC55, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$92* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates