We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
ct.
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We just stayed here at the beginning and the end of a cycling trip. The peat fire was waiting for us both times along with a pot of tea and nice bread. Our beds were very comfortable. We felt welcomed. You could tell that the owners had put a great deal of thought into their guesthouse. Breakfast was delicious. Short,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fearn
OToole97, Owner at Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Fearn, we are very glad you and your group enjoyed your stay here with us. You were our final cycling group for 2016 and probably one of the luckiest weather wise !!We appreciate your kind comments and hope to welcome you back someday ! Cathriona & Pat

Concord, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Close to town but on the road to the National Park. Excellent breakfast - Cathriona's full Irish is terrific. Sweet smelling peat fire if the day calls for it. Pat raises Connemara ponies. As a team, they couldn't be more accommodating and supportive. We'll be regulars!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank toscalady
OToole97, Owner at Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Toscalady for your lovely review, we appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back, Cathriona & Pat

Singapore
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

I love bnbs with a fire place. Warms and dries you up in a few minutes when it is all rain and dark clouds out there. Perfect for a place like ireland when rain is a traveller's biggest threat! But Buttermilk Lodge does more than that. Catriona was v forthcoming with suggestions on places to eat and see. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cityhontas
OToole97, Owner at Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Cityhontas for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us ,even though the weather wasn't the best !! We're glad you enjoyed the turf fire, suggestions etc and hope to welcome you back in the future ! Safe travels, Cathriona & Pat

Roskilde, Denmark
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Such a Nice and lovely place! We felt very welcome all of the time. Situated perfectly near a cozy little village. Definitly A place to recommend! The People were so Nice and helpfull. Rooms were clean and lovely. The Best Thing: Homemade breakfast and the huuuuge collection of cows:):)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hanse459
OToole97, Owner at Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Hanse459 for your lovely review. We are very happy that you felt welcome and enjoyed your stay with us ! We hope top see you return sometime ! Cathriona & Patrick

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately we only stayed at the Buttermilk Lodge for one night. Would have loved to stay longer. It was so cozy, warm and inviting. They have thought of everything, with attention to detail that you need for a comfortable stay. Patrick's crepes (pancakes) with fresh fruit were delicious. We really enjoyed our stay. Hope to make it back again someday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
OToole97, Owner at Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Linda T for taking the time to write your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The pancakes are always popular ! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and hope to welcome you back in the future, Cathriona & Patrick

Leominster, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We've been coming to Buttermilk for the past 12 years. Our youngest daughter came with us in 2011 after serving 4 years in the Navy in Tokyo. Easy walking distance to the restaurants for dinner, delicious choices for breakfast, we always visit their horses and we wouldn't have found the entrance to Clifden Castle or Omey Island or the hiking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Meredith F
OToole97, Owner at Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Meredith for your lovely review ! It's lovely to see guests returning year after year, even our ponies know you !! We look forward to welcoming you back again and hope the weather is good for your stay !

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

First visit to cliften for the arts festival. We were greeted by catriona who gave us the friendly welcome home that you would get when you return home to your mother after a spell away from home. . We were given homemade fruitcake and tea and coffee on arrival although we arrived outside checking in time... was lovely to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnmart
OToole97, Owner at Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Johnmart for your kind review, We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Clifden, we look forward to seeing you again in the future, Cathriona & Pat

Reviewed 13 September 2016

Wonderful place, great location - a five minute walk to town. Cathriona makes everyone feel welcome - and the food is delicious. I've already made my reservations for next year (my third time there). Lovely rooms, all en-suite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
OToole97, Owner at Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Katherine D for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your second visit with us and look forward to seeing you again next year ! Cathriona & Pat

Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The managers were excellent. We got the back upstairs apartment which was huge for the 2 of us. Had everything in the kitchen. Big spacious bathroom, a wash machine, thank god! Tv's in each room. And comfortable beds. Very quiet. Breakfast was not included in our deal, as we had the back apartment, bummer! But we had a refrigerator so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
OToole97, Owner at Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Pat G for your kind review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay in our self catering apartment and found everything to your liking. Hopefully we may see you again in the future, Regards Cathriona & Pat

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 12 September 2016

My boyfriend and I we are just back from a lovely weekend in Connemara and thanks to my friend's advise, I have booked a room for 2 nights at the Buttermilk Lodge. Catriona and Pat are lovely, very helpful and warming but never too intrusive. I have advised them we would be there for my boyfriend's birthday and they left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pinquy83
OToole97, Owner at Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Pinquy83 for your detailed review , you have covered everything ! We are delighted that we were recommended to you , that you enjoyed your stay with us and will recommend us to others ! that helps a lot ! Hopefully we'll see you again in the future, Regards Cathriona & Pat.

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.7 km away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
2.6 km away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 km away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Clifden Station House
0.4 km away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 50 in Clifden
392 reviews
2.3 km away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#7 of 50 in Clifden
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm,friendly home from home located just 400 meters, 5 minutes walk from the town center. Purpose built ,Spacious, quality accommodation at affordable prices, WiFi throughout the house. There is a computer with broadband internet access and a printer for guests use. Our extensive breakfast menu offers numerous choices to suit every taste ! Visit our Connemara Ponies and Black-face sheep on our farm nearby.Pat is a qualified walking guide and can help you in planning your walks in the area.Packed Lunches, early breakfasts,laundry service, drying facilities are all available.Our little extra touches ensure return visits ! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse

Address: Westport Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Price Range: $105 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The back apartment is very spacious and quiet! Lots of parking.”
 of 5 bubbles PatG30, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“a room overlooking the wildflower field was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles temeyers, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I believe all rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles leonidasp480, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 855PatP, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“I don't suppose there is a bad room, but they have a downstairs room if required.”
 of 5 bubbles mareng, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay