We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ard Ri House Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 3 Hotels in Tuam
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ard Ri House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ard Ri House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 216: English reviews
Monaghan, Ireland
Reviewed 31 July 2015

We stayed here a few years ago and by coincidence ended up with the same room. Just like last time it was very nice; the room was very clean & comfortable. We had a great nights sleep. It was very quiet at breakfast; there was a choice of cereal, fruit, etc. and the very helpful young girl took our order...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mogo22b
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review of the hotel and the service you received. I am glad to hear that again you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you the next time.

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Stayed here last Saturday night after attending wedding in hotel. Checked into nice room on ground floor. Lovely bathroom, heated towel rails and plenty of fresh towels and lots of hot water. Bed very comfy (pillows a bit hard). Room was nice and warm even tho it was July it was cold outside. The wedding meal was outstanding as was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank patriciatogher
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

Patricia, many thanks for you lovely comments with regards the service and quality of food you received during your stay with us over the weekend, I am glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the celebrations.

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

I was a member of a gaelic team that stayed overnight at the Ard Ri. I can not speak highly enough of how well we were received. We could not find any fault with the hotel - accommodation was excellent, food very good and all the staff we dealt with went out of their way to ensure all our needs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

Danny, it has been a pleasure having you and the team stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time. Many thanks for your great comments.

UK
Reviewed 25 July 2015

I have visited this hotel regularly. On previous visits it has been fine but this time it was full which may have been the reason for this problem. I stayed a week and only had hot water for a shower / bath on one morning. The rest of the week the water was cold. This was very bad for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jade_red
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

Jade, my sincere apologies for the inconvenience this caused you, this problem should not have taken days to repair and this was very unfortunate. We have of course since fixed the problem and would very much look forward to welcome you back.

Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

Brilliant service. Lovely hotel. Great stay. Very pleasant and charming waitresses In the bar also. Food was quite nice although there lacked a massive selection I was still very happy and I must say the prices were very reasonable for Irish standards. I would like to see a few craft beers if I came back but I won't complain!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tcofla
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a relaxing holiday. I have taken your comments on board and am looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Tuam, Ireland
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

I was there recently with friends and ordered from their bar/restaurant menu their food is lovely but the desserts seem to get smaller each time I've gone there and at €5 per dessert I'd expect proper portions. Aside from that its a lovely place to eat and the staff are all very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louiseirlanda
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

Louise, many thanks for your great comments with regards to the food, service and atmosphere in our Bar. We'll have a look at the portioning of our desserts. Looking forward to welcoming you again.

manchester
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Hi Once again we stayed at the Ard Ri House in Tuam and as normal the staff and service was excellent, We ate lunch in the bar and used the restaurant on the Saturday and although very busy the service was great. The room was nice as usual , my only little criticism is the litter outside the hotel near...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnk1956
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

John, many thanks for your comment which we have taken on board and since rectified, I am glad to hear that otherwise you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Aurora, Colorado
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We decided at the last minute to book 2 rooms the day of the family reunion. So very glad we did! The reservations staff was very helpful. Very busy hotel, 5 events going on that day. We got rooms down the hall from the meeting room our family reunion was held in- 75 people or more, the party room was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nancy H
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

Nancy, many thanks for your great review of the hotel and our service, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and had a wonderful and memorable family re-union. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

Delighted with this last minute hotel stop. Reception friendly. Rooms great clean and all you need for over night. Tea in the bar service wAs very attentive. In morning breakfast good. I would recommend for over night stay. Staff fantastic especially young fella in bar.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank shaz3466
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great comment with regards to the cleanliness of the hotel and the service you have received whilst staying with us. I am looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Just back home from spending 2 nights at the Ard Ri. We have stayed here many times before and never been disappointed with the rooms, food, service or facilities. This time we also hired a function room for a family reunion and many of us stayed in the hotel. The hotel was very busy on Saturday night with other functions...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 126tonyh
galway1galway, Manager at Ard Ri House Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for the great review of the hotel and service you had received during your stay and family reunion. We are always glad to hear that everything went well and you all enjoyed the time spent with us. Many thanks.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tuam
1.4 km away
Corralea Court Hotel
23.8 km away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
662 reviews
21.3 km away
Claregalway Hotel
Claregalway Hotel
#1 of 2 in Claregalway
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
29.6 km away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,198 reviews
31.6 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 46 in Galway
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ard Rí House Hotel on the Milltown Road in Tuam, Co. Galway invites you to enjoy a welcome with hospitality and service, last savoured in the time of ancient Irish kings. The Ard Rí House Hotel in the East Galway hinterland of low green fields and old stone walls offers the Cead Mile Faílte of a bygone time. Strategically located on the northern outskirts of Tuam we are the perfect launch pad to explore the West of Ireland with Galway City and the Gateway to Connemara National Park only a 30 minute drive away. Tuam is easily accessed with Ireland West Airport Knock on the doorstep and Shannon Airport as well as Dublin Airport within easy driving distance. Wether you are considering a short family break or that important business meeting, Tuam's Ard Rí House Hotel will meet all your expectations, having received the Service Excellence Award from Tripadvisor from 2012, up to and including 2016. Our 51 bedrooms of comfort and style are impeccably presented with the modern guest in mind. The hotel also offers five different Conference Room options with a range of state-of-the-art facilities. The dining experience at the Ard Rí House Hotel is presented by the Kiltevna Room Restaurant and our Dick Dowling's Bar. Experience for yourself the hospitality and service usually the preserves of royalty. FAILTE ISTEACH ! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ard Ri House Hotel

Address: Miltown Road (N17), Tuam H54 V267, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Tuam
Price Range: $110 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ard Ri House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ard Ri House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard Ri Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ard Ri House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want a view avoid the rooms 212 ; 214 ; 216 all of which back onto a brick wall..”
 of 5 bubbles radioman60, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had room 214 on the first floor and there was no view out of the window as there was a wall in front.”
 of 5 bubbles JENG374, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I have stayed in different rooms over the years and they were all quiet and very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles maurao517, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor room had accessible shower unit”
 of 5 bubbles Meadowside64, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“we were on ground floor, suited our needs.”
 of 5 bubbles Berniek591, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5