We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Connemara Gateway Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Connemara Gateway Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Connemara Gateway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We just spent three nights at the Connemara Gateway. It was exactly as I thought it would be. Had a great break, the owners were polite and helpful , room was clean, warm and very comfortable. This Hotel is ideal if you want a good nights sleep and a reasonable breakfast. I would not complain, the cost was more than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanocallaghan
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I feel compelled to write a review as the "hotel" was awful .. when booking for 2 nights i specifically asked if food was served in the evenings i was told yes when we got there it was not the case as the chef was ABROAD ! despite a food sign now being served at the entrance ... that was...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank sue385
Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewed 7 September 2011

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a friendly receptionist. The bar staff/night porter were also very friendly and helpful! The rooms were clean however they are outdated and the windows were in need of a good clean! When I got up in the morning I went for a shower and discovered that the water was stone cold:(!...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sinéad O
ConnemaraGateway_10, Manager at Connemara Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Connemara Gateway Hotel. All comments are appreciated and help us to improve facilities at the hotel. Kind regards Management

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here on a Saturday night when rooms in the greater Galway area were at a premium due to raceweek. Given that this hotel had no problem with availability, we should have been wary, but after 4 hours in the car, we opted to stay. In summary, bedroom while clean was drab and dull and badly needed a makeover....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dromadamusic
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I felt compelled to write a review of this establishment, on account of a mixed experience. Having been booked to stay on a business trip, I was not in a position to explore the local area, but am certain that the hotel is in a fantastic location. I was made to feel welcome, always greeted with a smile and very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David K
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We stayed at this 'hotel' with 2 young children for 2 nights. Arrived and were initially ignored by the receptionist. Not a promising start. We had specifically requested a family room, having booked 2 months prior to staying and were assured that an inter-connecting family room had been reserved for us - not so. We were given a room with...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Nolis16
ConnemaraGateway_10, Manager at Connemara Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Author I note the recent review relating to your family stay in May 2010 some 11 months ago but only posted on the Trip Advisor website on 8th April 2011. I have checked our records for May 2010 and can not identify you as being a guest. Do you have a receipt number or booking confirmation number so that...

Dublin
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We arrived at this hotel on a friday night we checked out on Monday after breakfast. When we ararived at around 8pm there was a sign at the main entrance to enter via bar, We did this & we were checked in by a nice young gentleman. We asked about food but we were told restaurant was closed for winter,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chipdublin
dublin
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed here for the October Bank Holiday and had a great weekend. Although the hotel could do with a bit of refurbishment it was warm and had a lovely coal fire lighting in the foyer each day. The evening meals were first class and there was a great choice on the menu. Breakfast was lovely and the staff most...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DublinTwinkletoes
ConnemaraGateway_10, General Manager at Connemara Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and more so the music and dancing. We agree with your comments that the hotel has a nice homely atmosphere. We are very proud of our staff all of which come from the local area. Most of which have fluent Irish. Glad you liked the...

Roscommon, Ireland
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Stayed in The Connemara gateway on the 11th September as were attending the Mike Denver Dance that night, the hotel is extemely old fashioned and Dirty looking, the Receptionist didnt even bother informing us breakfast times upon check-in. The rooms are very basic and old fashioned in order to get a socket to charge the mobile phone you need to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lorri25
ConnemaraGateway_10, General Manager at Connemara Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. It seems rather strange that out of 350 people who attended the Mike Denver function that we receive a complaint of such magnitude from just 1 person. The hotel sells bedrooms on a Per Person rate and not a Room Rate and we note that you enquired as to how many beds were in a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Up at 4am, flew into Dublin, drove to west coast, after long day needed somewhere to stay. oh my god, wish we had continued driving!! ... Old, smelly, looks like a carehome, rooms SO SO tired and run down, condensation between double glazing, bathroom suite was shabby, rubbish receptionon on TV (if you could see the TV as it was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank guiness4
ConnemaraGateway_10, General Manager at Connemara Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

We are a traditional 3 Star Hotel noted for its homely atmosphere and character. We don't pretend to be a Dorchester or Hilton Hotel. We do not accept your criticism which has been grossly fabricated. We pride ourselves on our hospitality and Irish welcome and it is sad when someone like you takes a dislike to a person because of...

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
4.7 km away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 7 in Oughterard
248 reviews
4.9 km away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Oughterard
152 reviews
21.6 km away
Connemara Coast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
151 reviews
12.1 km away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,425 reviews
0.3 km away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#7 of 24 in Oughterard
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Attractive Modern Hotel with public areas offering fine examples of traditional Irish arts & crafts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Connemara Gateway Hotel

Address: Road N59, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Price Range: $149 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Connemara Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Also Known As:
Connemara Gateway Oughterard
Hotel Connemara Gateway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Connemara Gateway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother, find a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Macanta, 18 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Find another Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles AmpedAF, 19 Sep 2012 | Read review
“Our party occupied 3 rooms . All were very poor. Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles LBJDublin, 14 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Book a room with garden view”
 of 5 bubbles Christymary, 4 Jul 2012 | Read review
“Nothing to say about rooms”
 of 5 bubbles warby45, 27 May 2012 | Read review
5 of 5