We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sheraton Athlone

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sheraton Athlone
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,732 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Athlone
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,688: English reviews
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton, Athlone! It is a comfortable, clean, well staffed hotel which provides fabulous access to the lovely town of Athlone. Our room was spacious by European standards, the breakfast was great and the hotel is very well staffed so you never feel like you've got no one to call on. There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ChristineG1209
Oldcastle, Ireland
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

We Cannot complain at all. It's Central and beside shops. We were Very happy and will return again. Worth the moneyHere several times and on each occasion no problems. Very reasonable very clean staff very nice, room good , spa and food great

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank gerrymcd1979
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here and used the hotel as a base for various day trips. Our room was lovely and the location good. As a SPG platinum member we were not upgraded to a suite but did have a lovely view. The hotel staff were friendly and the staff in the restaurant were good. The town of Athlone is...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Joe K
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 21 August 2015

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms very clean and spacious. Excellent breakfast and dinner. We also got a free voucher for a chosen activity in the town so we had a lovlely boat trip on the river shannon. Nice pool and ver clean.

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Gerhard M
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Gerhard, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review and we were absolutely thrilled to read that you had rated us with five stars. It was a pleasure to share your kind words with the team at our weekly review of guest feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our local activity voucher which...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Thought it was a bit disappointing. Booked online and was meant to have a river view room but the view was over other rooms or offices, not sure which. For two single beds for a couple. Went the drinks in the bar and the seats were filthy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Davidcaroline1
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review

Dear David and Caroline, Thank you for taking the time to correspond further with me recently to take me through your experience and once again I am very sorry that there were aspects of your stay with which you were disappointed. Your opinion is very important to us and I am most grateful to have had the opportunity to review...

Moate, Ireland
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

A group of us went to the Sheraton for a BBQ last weekend. The food and service was just fantastic and we were very well looked after. It was a lovely evening and the use of the roof top garden meant everyone could sit outside and enjoy the food and the sun. Thanks to all the team at Sheraton Athlone...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Omacmark
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review

Dear Mark, It was our pleasure to look after your group and we were delighted that you had a fine evening to enjoy our roof top garden and Siege Suite. Thank you for your feedback which I was very proud to share with the team and with our Kitchen and Banqueting teams in particular. We look forward to welcoming you...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

The Spa in Sheraton is to die for , friendly staff with plenty of advice to what suits you best.. The aromatherapy room is must visit before treatment. Even if you can't make it to the spa the swimming pool is well advised as it as massage jets , Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. May as well make the most...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Crazy1978
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review

Dear “Crazy1978”, Thanks you for taking the time to provde us with such a complimentary review. We were absolutely thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time in our Sirana Spa and Sheraton Fitness. Dara, our spa manager, along with a team of wonderful therapists who take great pride in delivering a holistic and effective experience to each and every...

Ireland
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Stayed in the Sheraton Hotel last week, for one night. Could not fault anything about this hotel, staff, service excellent. Hotel is in a great location, centre of town, with free underground car parking.. Breakfast was lovely, great choice of both hot & cold food. Room was lovely, but only downfall(more so for the older generation) it was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank 1027Hey
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review

Dear “1027Hey”, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a comprehensive review following your stay. It is most encouraging to read that there were so many aspects of our service which you enjoyed and in particular that you found our staff to be excellent. We are very fortunate to have a team of associates who take...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Recently stayed here with my family. Overall, the hotel is very nice. Good food, great bar and pleasant front of house staff. Check in was extremely busy and staff seemed stressed, but still took the time to deliver a very personal service. Rooms are clean and spacious and there is a good gym and pool area. The Harvest? Café located...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rainyface
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review

Dear “Rainyface”, Thank you for taking the time provide us with a review following your stay. It is great to read that you found our team to be pleasant and provide a personal service. We receive a lot of feedback from our guest’s regarding the genuinely friendly and professional service provided by our team and I am delighted that you...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in August and upon arrival check in was smooth and swift and friendly. In fact I can say that reception is excellent. The hotel shares a car park with the shopping centre and it doesn't matter how many times that you exit and re enter the hotel covers the cost of parking. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Tonycontrol

553 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (295)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (231)
Viewed
Amenities (50)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (52)
Viewed
Deluxe King Suite (61)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
6.1 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,894 reviews
0.2 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.7 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
842 reviews
5.5 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: $95 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sheraton Athlone staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Dublin
6 months ago
Limerick, Ireland
Buffalo, New York
3 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton Athlone staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floor ie in the Tower part of Hotel have excellent views of the River.”
 of 5 bubbles 796deborahr, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The tower section is quieter and the suite rooms are really spacious”
 of 5 bubbles elleyg2017, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Corner suites are fabulous rooms”
 of 5 bubbles , 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the Tower block are just fantastic once you navigate your way”
 of 5 bubbles bredamrgn, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“just ask for best view”
 of 5 bubbles mjh591, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5