We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hodson Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hodson Bay Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,873 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hodson Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,854: English reviews
Kilkea, Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We stayed 2 nights, arrived late on Friday and left on the Sunday. From the start it was a superb few days. Staff were nice and friendly. Food was very good, Dinner on one night and breakfast on both mornings. I was leaving early on the Sunday and the young girl in the restaurant even packed up our breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Paddy B
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paddy B, Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review. I could not be more proud of the team here who go above and beyond to ensure that guests have a memorable experience with us- good food and excellent service go a long way in achieving this. I’m delighted that your stay was enhanced by the actions of...

Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed here on route from Connemara to Dublin Port . We enjoyed are stay so much . 653 has a great view of the golf course and we found it very clean and well appointed . My wife requested more towels and we received promptly . We ate in the bar, which was delicious and served by highly attentive...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Rupert C
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rupert C, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this lovely review. As you mentioned, our location is ideal- only 1 hour from Dublin and less than that from Galway-with spectacular views over Lough Ree and the adjacent Athlone Golf Club. I am blessed with a team who work tirelessly to ensure that our guests receive...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

My family and I stayed there for 4 night last week. Firstly Lynette Moran Front desk Manager talked us through different packages on offer and tailored a brilliant B&B plus dinner deal.... Then when we got there and talked through our struggles having one room and trying to get the baby to sleep meant we had to sit in the...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with this review. The team are a credit to the hotel and I’m delighted to read that Lynette assisted you throughout your stay. I’m thrilled that you availed of both dining experiences – Our Head Chef and his team are extremely creative and put so much effort into both...

County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 14 September 2015

we stayed here for 5 days , cannot fault anything about this place , the rooms were excellent beautiful views clean & comfy . The food was fab beautiful dining & breakfast rooms service was spot on . What can I say about the staff ...they were so attentive & nothing was a bother to them , our daughter &...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank Joan C
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joan C, Thank you for choosing the Hodson Bay Hotel for your extended stay. A good location, beautiful views, mouth-watering food and exceptional service are the main ingredients for a perfect stay and something we strive to maintain. The team will be extremely proud to read your kind comments and I will be sure to pass this review onto...

co tipperary
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Just back from hodson bay hotel(14092015) call hotel 3 times before getting there each time spoke to people were able to answer my questions with speed and effectively room was very nice with a great view over the lake. I went to the FREE wine tasteing which was great fun Andrew knew what he was talking about over all it...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank lovegroveCoTipperary
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lovegroveCoTipperary, Many thanks for your lovely review. I’m extremely blessed with the team- each one of them takes immense pride in their role. Our guest experience begins when the customer first consider the hotel for a break and from that point it is our duty to ensure that prospective guests and returning guests have all the information they require....

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Firstly let me say to NT Kelly Dublin. If you want 5 Star and pay 5 Star Go to 5 star hotels. I am from Dublinand frequent many of our capitals fine hotels ant The Hodson Bay is up,there with them all. Asking for televisions to be turned off in public hotel bars!,Ridiculous. Go hire private room and put your...

 Report
Helpful?
15Thank Percy F
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geraldine B, Many thanks for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to having you return in the near future. Kind Regards, Tim Hayes General Manager

Cork, Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 14 September 2015

I have reviewed the Hodson Bay before (almost two years ago) and not much has changed since I reviewed it. However I said I would review our weekend there which we just came home from this evening. My birthday was in August and I have had a very tough year this year. My lovely Mum passed away in February and...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank MLORiordan
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MLORiordan, Many thanks for yet another wonderful and detailed review. I am saddened to read of the loss of your mother and the difficult year you have had. Our guests choose Hodson Bay Hotel for various reasons, depending on what life throws in their direction. With this in mind, a little spoiling and relaxation wrapped in warmth and friendliness...

Portlaoise, Ireland
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Thank you to Ruth in events for coordinating and all your wonderful staff who looked after us so well for a ladies afternoon Tea party in the gorgeous library. It was an absolute delight from start to finish, we couldnt have been looked after better. Fab location on the waterfront, a superb room with a spectacular afternoon tea presentation ,...

 Report
Helpful?
14Thank Helen R
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen R, Many thanks for this wonderful review. Ruth is an integral member of our conference & banqueting team for many years and works hard to ensure that each event runs smoothly. Our team of chefs are extremely creative and are always trying to offer fancy and tasty treats for our guests. I will ensure that your kind comments...

Portmarnock, Ireland
Reviewed 13 September 2015

My wife's birthday falls on August 20. Following a hectic Summer, where we moved house(downsizing) we decided to take a few days away. As we are both in our 70's we avoid taking high season breaks. We eventually found accommodation in the Hudson Bay, who also very generously were offering an over 50's package which included dinner on both nights....

 Report
Helpful?
14Thank Bob L
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bob L, I’m thrilled you chose Hodson Bay Hotel for this very special occasion. We offer an array of packages to suit everyone’s needs. Our penthouse suite certainly has the ‘wow’ factor- the view alone makes it the best room in the house! Having your own private balcony gives ample opportunity to take in those amazing views from sunrise...

Ennis
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

I have not stayed in this hotel for almost 9 years so I can't speak about the rooms. However, I can vouch for the food. It is consistently excellent. I have never had a bad meal. Great view also which makes even a simple midweek lunch more enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank VOREnnis
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VOREnnis, Thank you for your lovely review. The team put an immense amount of effort into the preparation and presentation of the food they serve and will be delighted to read this review. I hope you return to us… perhaps even for an overnight stay!! Many thanks, Tim Hayes General Manager

507 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (376)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (187)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (74)
Viewed
Classic Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
6.1 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,709 reviews
5.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.5 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
942 reviews
5.8 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
5.9 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: $111 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Family Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hodson Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hodson Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If it's for a couple then try the rooms in the retreat section. More comfort and quite”
 of 5 bubbles 66phillipg, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure your room is nowhere near the boiler house/air conditioning unit”
 of 5 bubbles jamesie67, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If adults travelling ask for adult only rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles EKdublin, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view?”
 of 5 bubbles georgie159, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Look or lake view”
 of 5 bubbles patm947, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay