We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hodson Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hodson Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,873 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hodson Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,854: English reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2015

My daughter and I had a most amazing, relaxing spa treatment with Avril and her team. They were all so pleasant and we had such a relaxing experience that we will be recommending a visit to our family and friends. We will certainly be back for more wind-down time in the Hudson Bay!

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank jkdo
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jkdo, Many thanks for your wonderful review of our spa- I’m delighted to read that you both enjoyed your spa experience. The team will be thrilled with your kind comments. I will pass your review onto our Spa Manager Emer and her team. Avril is a fantastic asset to the team and always ensures that guests receive top quality...

Reviewed 9 September 2015

We had a fantastic time at the Hodson Bay Hotel, from the minute we arrived I just relaxed. The kids were taken to the kids camp and myself and my husband could relax and enjoy an amazing meal. Our room was perfect, big enough for the kids to put all their toys etc and close enough to reception. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Hilda M
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hilda M, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. One of the main aims of the Penguin Kids Camp is that both parents and children reap the benefits; happy kids = happy parents. While kids are supervised in a safe environment, parents can enjoy dinner or attend one of our complimentary in-house activities… I definitely recommend wine tasting...

Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Stayed here last year and got a great package with the spa. Spa relaxation room had lots of refreshments and I phones and headphones. Was so impressed by the dinner and the service. Would go back for the rack of lamb alone!!

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Janhen14
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janhen14, Many thanks for taking the time to provide this lovely review. ‘The Spa at Hodson Bay’ is a fantastic area of the hotel to relax and unwind and I’m delighted you chose to experience all that it has to offer. Emer our Spa Manager will be thrilled to read your kind words. Our Head Chef is extremely creative...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Stayed at the Hodson Bay Hotel (3 nights Sept ) We chose the retreat deluxe room on a b&b basis with 2 evening meals in L`Escale restaurant as a package. The room was lovely two full length windows overlooking the lake imagine the experience of waking up to such a fantastic veiw. Nice big bathroom with jaccuzzi which was very...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank kesh618
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kesh618 Many thanks for your lovely review. I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and even more so to read that the team here added to your experience. They never fail to make me proud and continuously strive to ensure that our guests receive the highest quality of service. I agree the views are spectacular from the...

County Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 8 September 2015

We all had a lovely time at this hotel . A very friendly welcome from the reception staff and very helpful . Rooms were lovely I personally shared one with a lovely view .and I must remark were spotless . Breakfast was fab and our meals in the restaurant were lovely and again staff excellent . Pool and spa great...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Veraos
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Veraos, Many thanks for your wonderful review- I am thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I am extremely blessed with the team here and your review is a lovely tribute to the staff you encountered during your stay. As you mentioned there is so much to do both in the hotel and in the locality- a...

Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here as a guest for a wedding (3 nights Sept) & cannot fault the service or friendliness of the staff & management. There was nothing that couldn't be done for us & the staff seemed so genuine & happy to make conversation & have the craic with us . The meal @the wedding was 100% & the whole atmosphere...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Loughgalwood
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Loughgalwood, Thank you so much for this fantastic review. You captured the essence of Hodson Bay Hotel, we like our guests to feel at home and relaxed here- little touches go a long way in achieving this so that guests feel at ease in the hotel. I am extremely lucky with the team here who I know take immense...

Dublin
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Having spent the weekend in this hotel, I have been looking for a way to describe quite a surreal experience... My conclusion is that this hotel should be top rated for country weddings and corporate conferences... all others should avoid it... My reasoning is as follows: We were part of a small group celebrating an anniversary. The staff who met...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank NTJKelly
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NTJKelly, Many thanks for your detailed review of the hotel. As you mentioned, the hotel is extremely popular with corporate guests and weddings but also leisure guests so I am extremely disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. Feedback we receive from guests is vital for us in enhancing our customer offering and so we would like...

uk
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We went on Mon 31 August 3 Adults 2 Children ,we waited for 10 minutes to be served there was 2 people serving as it was lunch time it was quiet busy with business people ,i had Chicken dinner it was just thrown on plate i declined some of the veg as it seems to be only Chips,mash potato.and some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank athlone_8
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear athlone_8, Many thanks for providing us with this feedback. I am extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your recent lunch here. All feedback is extremely important in enhancing our customer offering and so we would like to speak to you directly regarding your experience here. Please email us directly on manager@hodsonbayhotel.com Kind Regards, Tim Hayes General Manager

Bonita Springs, Florida
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Our first trip to Ireland took us to the Hodson Bay Hotel, by recommendation from a friend and we could not have been happier. There were a few wrinkles to be ironed out, but once the very attentive staff took care of our concerns, it was a perfect stay. The hotel offers a variety of packages, with breakfast, dinners and...

 Report
Helpful?
14Thank Eccomi1
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eccomi1, We were privileged to have been chosen for your stay on your first trip to Ireland. As you mentioned we offer an array of packages to suit all requirements or we can customise packages to suit a particular guest. Service is our primary focus and as a team we work extremely hard to ensure our guests receive top...

County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Myself and my Girlfriend stayed here in early August. Having only visited before during the Dive Ireland exhibition, I thought it would be worth returning and spending a couple of nights. On arrival at the hotel we found the staff at reception welcoming and very helpful. There was three or four staff behind reception ensuring that we did not have...

 Report
Helpful?
15Thank Pauric W
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pauric W, We were delighted to welcome you back to the hotel with Kerri, it’s fantastic that you chose to return for leisure rather than business! Your review is alight with wonderful comments of the staff you encountered during your stay. A warm welcome and a helping hand is common practice throughout the hotel. Due to our lakeside location,...

507 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (376)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (187)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (74)
Viewed
Classic Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
6.1 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,708 reviews
5.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.5 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
942 reviews
5.8 km away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
5.9 km away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Price Range: $111 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Family Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hodson Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hodson Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If it's for a couple then try the rooms in the retreat section. More comfort and quite”
 of 5 bubbles 66phillipg, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure your room is nowhere near the boiler house/air conditioning unit”
 of 5 bubbles jamesie67, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If adults travelling ask for adult only rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles EKdublin, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view?”
 of 5 bubbles georgie159, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Look or lake view”
 of 5 bubbles patm947, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay